Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new, but plenty explained.
Any atheist who has read the bible, or ever been involved in some sort of debate, will have seen the scaffolding of the topics in this book before. Indeed, the reason this book misses out on a '5' star rating for me is that much of the content has been examined, in detail, before. The author keeps to passages that are rather obvious, and easy, to find much vileness...
Published 19 months ago by Verdicts

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good idea - poorly written
I am full of admiration and support for this man who has escaped the clutches of what sounds like a quite fundamentalist religious group, and become an atheist. He clearly knows his bible inside out and uses his knowledge to provide evidence for his critcisms but there is no real structure or substance to back them up. I find the style of writing irritatingly juvenile:...
Published 23 months ago by Aureolus


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nonsense from the bible, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NONSENSE FROM THE BIBLE (Kindle Edition)
This was so to the point and written in such a humorous way. Can read it over and over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enlightening, 28 Dec 2012
By 
Dawn (BRIDGWATER, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NONSENSE FROM THE BIBLE (Kindle Edition)
He should have left some of the extremely personal bits out ... brought the whole tone down ... but the rest was an easy read and I am so glad I read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 6 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NONSENSE FROM THE BIBLE (Kindle Edition)
VERY GOOD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NO SUBSTANCE AND BORING, 1 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NONSENSE FROM THE BIBLE (Kindle Edition)
There was not much substance to this book. A few bits here and there were interesting. I have read
better books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Persuasive, 4 April 2013
By 
Clive Turner (Paphos, Cyprus.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NONSENSE FROM THE BIBLE (Kindle Edition)
This book was written by a man driven by passion for his non-belief and his disillusionment with his former calling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eyeopener., 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NONSENSE FROM THE BIBLE (Kindle Edition)
Having had many a crisis of faith, this book has put my mind at ease. If Brian is wrong, I'm sure the man upstairs will understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Atheism for Beginners, 25 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NONSENSE FROM THE BIBLE (Kindle Edition)
I get it that Baker has probably had a rough ride in recent years, and I get it that he probably feels God has let him down. Many others have been there. However, recycling arguments that have already been considered, wrestled with, and answered many times before is not the way to go.

He starts by quoting Matthew 16: 28
Verily I say unto you, there be some standing here, which shall not taste of death, till they see the son of man coming in his kingdom.

What's the problem? Some of them did. And before they died, too. Shortly afterward, at the transformation, they saw him as the King-in-His-Kingdom.

Of course, Baker wants to see this statement as Jesus referring to the final wrapping-up of the current state of affairs on planet earth. But he wasn't. He was referring to his transformation. The writer of the gospel was well aware of this. That's why he wrote it. We should be aware of it too. (So should Baker, come to that.)

It is not so difficult to answer most of Baker's biblical issues. You do not need to trawl the internet, you do not need days of prayer and fasting. You just open any half-decent Bible commentary. Others have already been there.

Baker seems to believe that the writers of the Bible were not the sharpest tools in the box. But any acquaintance with the Bible clearly shows that we are not dealing with authors who were challenged in the IQ department. Where there seems to be a problem, it's probably because the reader does not understand what the writer was trying to say. And given the difference in culture, language, and time between writer and reader, that should not come as a great surprise.
So go research when something is unclear!

In addition to his Biblical problems, Baker is onto a real loser when he assumes that evolution is a given. Darwinism is a theory currently in crisis. It has no mechanism for explaining 'goo-through-the-zoo-to-you' type evolution. None. Zilch. Zero. No mechanism. At all kinds of theoretical levels, the neo-Darwinists' 'mutations filtered by the survival-of-the-fittest' theory does not fly. Others have dealt with this in depth.
Go research!

Lastly, to anyone questioning the general reliability of the Bible, read Chuck Missler's 'Cosmic Codes'. It's mind-blowing stuff. (Well, it blew mine.)

In conclusion: Don't be too ready to be taken in by Baker. Go research!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

NONSENSE FROM THE BIBLE
£0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews