Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new, but plenty explained.
Any atheist who has read the bible, or ever been involved in some sort of debate, will have seen the scaffolding of the topics in this book before. Indeed, the reason this book misses out on a '5' star rating for me is that much of the content has been examined, in detail, before. The author keeps to passages that are rather obvious, and easy, to find much vileness...
Published 15 months ago by Verdicts

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good idea - poorly written
I am full of admiration and support for this man who has escaped the clutches of what sounds like a quite fundamentalist religious group, and become an atheist. He clearly knows his bible inside out and uses his knowledge to provide evidence for his critcisms but there is no real structure or substance to back them up. I find the style of writing irritatingly juvenile:...
Published 18 months ago by Aureolus


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The nonsense of the bible., 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NONSENSE FROM THE BIBLE (Kindle Edition)
Very enlightening from an ex man of the cloth. Good to have my own view of religion and the whole bible fallacy given a sort of seal of approval. It's true the complete nonsense of the bible is there if you just take of the blinkers and shake of years of indoctrination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hard to get into., 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NONSENSE FROM THE BIBLE (Kindle Edition)
More a reference book than a ripping read, if you don't already know the bible is full of hate and venom this will confirm it for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NONSENSE FROM THE BIBLE (Kindle Edition)
I have to give this only two stars - and that at a push - because, despite its myriad truths it is being criticised as a book, not an argument.

I found the constant repetition of the blindingly obvious mind-numbingly unreadable by the third chapter, and soon afterwards just skipped through the pages to see if anything would become any better - without success.

The pre-medieval nonsense that the bible, the koran and my guess the torah spout are just not succeptible to argument in any rational sense: those of "faith" (by definition Belief that does not rest on logical proof or material evidence ) are quite unreceptive to logical or historical arguments.

Possibly as a reference book when preparing to debate the subject this would be useful: as a good read - no.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting perspective, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NONSENSE FROM THE BIBLE (Kindle Edition)
This book disappointed me. It started out with good intentions but was not well written and you only finished it because you bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting yet slightly biased read, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NONSENSE FROM THE BIBLE (Kindle Edition)
A worthwhile read and deciphering of the bible. It's very one sided and its obvious it's been written by a biased and slightly bitter former believer. It definitely lives up to its title. At its current price it is worth a purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nonsense from the bible, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NONSENSE FROM THE BIBLE (Kindle Edition)
This was so to the point and written in such a humorous way. Can read it over and over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enlightening, 28 Dec 2012
By 
Dawn (BRIDGWATER, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NONSENSE FROM THE BIBLE (Kindle Edition)
He should have left some of the extremely personal bits out ... brought the whole tone down ... but the rest was an easy read and I am so glad I read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eyeopener., 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NONSENSE FROM THE BIBLE (Kindle Edition)
Having had many a crisis of faith, this book has put my mind at ease. If Brian is wrong, I'm sure the man upstairs will understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NO SUBSTANCE AND BORING, 1 Dec 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NONSENSE FROM THE BIBLE (Kindle Edition)
There was not much substance to this book. A few bits here and there were interesting. I have read
better books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Persuasive, 4 April 2013
By 
Clive Turner (Paphos, Cyprus.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NONSENSE FROM THE BIBLE (Kindle Edition)
This book was written by a man driven by passion for his non-belief and his disillusionment with his former calling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

NONSENSE FROM THE BIBLE
0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews