Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new, but plenty explained.
Any atheist who has read the bible, or ever been involved in some sort of debate, will have seen the scaffolding of the topics in this book before. Indeed, the reason this book misses out on a '5' star rating for me is that much of the content has been examined, in detail, before. The author keeps to passages that are rather obvious, and easy, to find much vileness...
Published 15 months ago by Verdicts

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good idea - poorly written
I am full of admiration and support for this man who has escaped the clutches of what sounds like a quite fundamentalist religious group, and become an atheist. He clearly knows his bible inside out and uses his knowledge to provide evidence for his critcisms but there is no real structure or substance to back them up. I find the style of writing irritatingly juvenile:...
Published 18 months ago by Aureolus


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing new, but plenty explained., 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NONSENSE FROM THE BIBLE (Kindle Edition)
Any atheist who has read the bible, or ever been involved in some sort of debate, will have seen the scaffolding of the topics in this book before. Indeed, the reason this book misses out on a '5' star rating for me is that much of the content has been examined, in detail, before. The author keeps to passages that are rather obvious, and easy, to find much vileness within.

That said, the explanations and arguments are interesting to ponder, and this book is an excellent starting point for all of the passages examined within it. It certainly is no Hitchens novel, but don't dismiss it: It packs a mean right hook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NONSENSE FROM THE BIBLE (Kindle Edition)
Another great addition to the Atheists collection of proof. This book shows us all the rubbish that ancient men put down as inspired scripture and which is followed by million of modern people who should know better. What price education?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good idea - poorly written, 3 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NONSENSE FROM THE BIBLE (Kindle Edition)
I am full of admiration and support for this man who has escaped the clutches of what sounds like a quite fundamentalist religious group, and become an atheist. He clearly knows his bible inside out and uses his knowledge to provide evidence for his critcisms but there is no real structure or substance to back them up. I find the style of writing irritatingly juvenile: the points are all valid but the arguments are superficial and endlessly repetitive. I get the impression that Mr Baker would come off very badly in a discussion with an articulate theologian, which worries me because I totally support his basic premise that the bible has had a much too easy ride from uncritical believers, as he once was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable beliefs, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NONSENSE FROM THE BIBLE (Kindle Edition)
The author was a born-again Christian who for some years ran a very successful religious ministry,until he came to question the bases of his belief and became an atheist. Here he demonstrates some of the many contradictory, implausible or impossible accounts to be found in the Bible. It's been done before but for anyone who wants a clear and readable selection of absurdities, this is recommended. it will of course very seldom influence the devout, if any pick it up, as faith is generally proof against argument and evidence (as some reviews by religious writers show). But then again you never know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NONSENSE FROM THE BIBLE (Kindle Edition)
This book gave me some things to think about particularly as the author has come from a totally "believe all" background. All total believers should read it to challenge their absolute faith positions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible as an unreliable text, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NONSENSE FROM THE BIBLE (Kindle Edition)
I awarded this book 5* on the basis of value for money and because it lets the Bible do the talking, with extended relevant texts. I didn't like the confessional style, the hyperbole or the exclamation marks, but the sections which dealt with the Bible as an unreliable text were excellent. In particular, the chapter on the end times and the second coming explores what the Bible actually says on these topics and finds it wanting. The chapters on the Crucifiction and Resurrection and the Prophecies are also good. It was less good when it strayed into areas such as the power of prayer and family values, or into the Old Testament myths, but these chapters are well worth reading too. I have yet to encounter convincing Christian answers to the key questions: "Was Jesus the son of God or the son of a Man?" "Why are there such inconsistencies around the Resurrection story?" and "Why did Christ break his repeated promise to return within the lifetime of those listening to him?" This book will not answer those questions for you, because it sets out to show that the Bible itself presents a confusing story. People of faith will not, I'm sure, be impressed; much less convinced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing., 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NONSENSE FROM THE BIBLE (Kindle Edition)
Gives an insight to parts of the bible that are not usually explored. How can you condemn the generations of today regarding genocide, rape, incest, cannibalism, murder, if it appears God to condone such behaviour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars on a mission, 14 Feb 2013
By 
C. G. Brazier (south wales uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: NONSENSE FROM THE BIBLE (Kindle Edition)
I am currently still reading this book but the immpression i am getting from this author is that (in my opinion) he feels "betrayed" in the fact he has wasted many years of his life following & dedicating himself blindly to this 2000 year old cult called "christianity" before finaly waking up & smelling the coffee.
Now his mission is to make everyone else aware of what a fraud christianity is...everything in it can be traced back to & taken from egyptology.
Keep up the good work but try not to be so bitter brian. What is done is done...do not be so hard on yourself! Your not the first & definatly won't be the last in this deception.
This book is worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read on bible mythology, 3 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nonsense from the Bible wont win any prizes for Literature but I'm guessing Brian Baker didn't write it to either.
The language is simple and easy to understand and Baker immediately rolls up his sleeves from page 1 and gets on with debunking Bible mythology.
The book written the way it is and in the language used would be ideal for teenagers and youth in general or adults who don't want something too heavy but gives them enough to ponder on.
The book tackles the weaknesses in the new Testament as well especially the constant and annoying attempts to shoehorn everything christ was doing into fulfilling supposed prophesies' about a 'messiah'.
Would I recommend it - yes especially for the very reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a let down, 1 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: NONSENSE FROM THE BIBLE (Kindle Edition)
Some of the content of this book is interesting, and it is interesting to see the relevant excerpts of scripture, but the writing style becomes quite grating very quickly. Too many exclamation marks and repetitions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

NONSENSE FROM THE BIBLE
0.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews