Customer Reviews


213 Reviews
5 star:
 (147)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dystopian supernatural story with an interesting twist on succubi..
This is the second book in the Girl in a Box series. It is an urban supernatural with a flair of dystopian fantasy. Crane doesn't disappoint with yet another fine example of his creative imagination.
The main character Sienna has finally figured out what her main meta power is, she is one of very few succubi. Crane hasn't used the word succubus in the same sense as...
Published on 2 Sep 2012 by Cheryl M-M

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough story for the price!
The story lines are good and gripping but all the books in this series are really short. I know £2.99 is not much for a book but compared to other books available at lower price, these are a bit of a rip off! I feel like I have to keep buying the next chapter which will add up to c £10 for a full book.
Published on 4 Dec 2012 by Simon Witham


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough story for the price!, 4 Dec 2012
By 
Simon Witham (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untouched: The Girl in the Box #2 (Kindle Edition)
The story lines are good and gripping but all the books in this series are really short. I know £2.99 is not much for a book but compared to other books available at lower price, these are a bit of a rip off! I feel like I have to keep buying the next chapter which will add up to c £10 for a full book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dystopian supernatural story with an interesting twist on succubi.., 2 Sep 2012
By 
Cheryl M-M (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Untouched: The Girl in the Box #2 (Kindle Edition)
This is the second book in the Girl in a Box series. It is an urban supernatural with a flair of dystopian fantasy. Crane doesn't disappoint with yet another fine example of his creative imagination.
The main character Sienna has finally figured out what her main meta power is, she is one of very few succubi. Crane hasn't used the word succubus in the same sense as the usual comtemporary paranormal/supernatural books. Sienna 'takes in' the people she overpowers and then by definition they become part of her.
This of course leaves the door open to a very interesting psychological dilemma and sub-plot. If the people she absorbs become part of her personality then that begs the question, who is making the decisions? Are her actions based on her own choices or influenced by the ones within. Fascinating concept, which is delivered in an amusing and realistic way.
The internal dialogue becomes part of her expectations, despite who the person within her is, we find Sienna actually looking for the connection when it goes silent.
The main plot follows a meta, who has gone beyond the point of redemption.
The main character feels sympathetic towards the plight of the troubled meta and of course this is the opposite of what is expected of her in the group she has accidentally aligned herself with. Again she is at war with her internal conflicts and supposed external obligations.
I am going to have to stop myself there, because as you can obviously tell, I liked the book so much I want to discuss it..a lot. So no more borderline spoilers.
I highly recommend giving the series a go, starting with Alone: The Girl in the Box, Book 1. I received a free copy of this book for my review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read them!, 4 Mar 2013
By 
N. Willis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untouched: The Girl in the Box #2 (Kindle Edition)
This series of books are very addictive, this is not my usual genre of books and not normally interested in supernatural fiction but the books were easy to read with a fast pace story line.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untouched: The Girl in the Box #2 (Kindle Edition)
For the most part the plot was quite gripping, but there were episodes when I feel could have built more insight into characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The girl is well and truly out of the box now., 2 Nov 2014
By 
Jakeisthecoolest "Jake" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untouched: The Girl in the Box #2 (Kindle Edition)
A great addition to this series, although I do still feel that the structuring of the novel itself needs a little refining as it moves at such a pace it seems to trip itself up at times. That said, it is still an exciting story that builds well on the first instalment as Sienna takes on yet more powerful metahumans, all the while struggling to contain her own inner daemon. This instalment does well to flesh out the characters and creates a tense and dramatic atmosphere. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untouched: The Girl in the Box #2 (Kindle Edition)
Good read but seems too short wish it was longer before you have to buy the next one and next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Different but enjoyable, 21 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untouched: The Girl in the Box #2 (Kindle Edition)
Not my normal type of book but I have enjoyed reading this and learning more about Sienna. There are times when I need more explanations and detail and the author does sometimes forget that Sienna shouldn't know things she does...

Each book is a little short However I am hooked and have to read more..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic follow up story, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untouched: The Girl in the Box #2 (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic follow up story. I was worried as quite a few books don't live up to their predecessors. Robert J Crane has managed to create an amazing main character, Sienna. We find out what her meta power is and it adds an interesting twist to her character, she is much more than what she first appears to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sequel, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untouched: The Girl in the Box #2 (Kindle Edition)
The girl in the box series are not my usual genre of reading but after downloading the first book free, I have been more than happy to pay for the sequels. Can't wait to read book three now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Georgia, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Untouched: The Girl in the Box #2 (Kindle Edition)
I love this book almost as much as the first, but it didn't hold me as much as the first book did.
I am downloading the third book as I speak.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Untouched: The Girl in the Box #2
£0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews