Customer Reviews


126 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (34)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


206 of 211 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little gadget
If like me your household is full of laptops and computers but you can't get near them for offspring downloading the latest 'tunes' or playing the just released must play game, then this is for you.

OK I'm not going to pretend that you have the computing power of a mainframe sitting in a very light but robust laptop style box, but you do have a very useful...
Published on 29 Oct 2012 by Perodua Boy

versus
19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not I repeat do not buy this Notebook
Well you get what you paid for.This was to be an xmas present for my daughter. When it arrived I put it on charge for the required 6 hours. I then booted it up and all seemed well until I tried to use the pad. The pad has a mind of its own and is very slow and unresponsive.I altered the pad speed and it seemed better the supplied instructions are very basic.
I...
Published on 25 Nov 2012 by gus


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

206 of 211 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little gadget, 29 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New 2012 model Mini Laptop Notebook 7" inch Android 4.0 (Latest Ice Cream Sandwich OS) DOUBLED RAM Hard Drive 4GB New Processor VIA8850 Clock Speed 1.5GHz HDMI Output Wifi 3G (supported) Webcam for Skype Video Calling Compatible with BBC iPlayer / Youtube / Facebook
If like me your household is full of laptops and computers but you can't get near them for offspring downloading the latest 'tunes' or playing the just released must play game, then this is for you.

OK I'm not going to pretend that you have the computing power of a mainframe sitting in a very light but robust laptop style box, but you do have a very useful item. Connecting to the wireless router was very easy indeed. The netbook searches for networks and all you need to know is which is yours and what is the password. Once entered you are good to go.

From start-up it takes about a minute to boot up and it's instantly connected. You can surf the web and access your emails. What I find particulary useful is the provision of 2 full size USB ports. This means that if you are not a whiz on the touchpad (and I'm not) you can easily connect a cheap wired optical mouse (not supplied) and it makes things a whole lot easier, especially as you are dealing with Android software which is not identical to Windows especially when moving up and down the screen. A scroll wheel mouse is useful.

When it comes to viewing video content don't expect much as most up to date formats aren't available but some do run. You can save video to an SD card (not provided) and as the unit comes with a full size SD card slot you can view on the netbook. It says compatible with BBC- iplayer etc but in my experience it accesses the website OK but I've never got anything to play except adverts on 4 on Demand but never successfully viewed a programme. This might be a short coming of my connection but I suspect the formats are too new and too large for this little netbook.

My requirements are simply to access my emails and browse Ebay, Amazon etc and this unit means that I can do that from the comfort of my arm chair and still have a full PC style keyboard allbeit with smaller keys and a battery life of 3 hours when fully charged.

If your requirements are similar then I wouldn't hesitate to buy this wee machine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good value, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New 2012 model Mini Laptop Notebook 7" inch Android 4.0 (Latest Ice Cream Sandwich OS) DOUBLED RAM Hard Drive 4GB New Processor VIA8850 Clock Speed 1.5GHz HDMI Output Wifi 3G (supported) Webcam for Skype Video Calling Compatible with BBC iPlayer / Youtube / Facebook
wish id bought one before,,it does what i need,,,has lots of pre loaded apps,,plays youtube ok,,touch pad not great,,but has two usb ports so i use a mouse,,,,id buy another tomorrow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It is what it say's it is, Good quality Mini laptop, 29 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New 2012 model Mini Laptop Notebook 7" inch Android 4.0 (Latest Ice Cream Sandwich OS) DOUBLED RAM Hard Drive 4GB New Processor VIA8850 Clock Speed 1.5GHz HDMI Output Wifi 3G (supported) Webcam for Skype Video Calling Compatible with BBC iPlayer / Youtube / Facebook
It is what it say's it is, Good quality mini Laptop, I bought 2, They are cheap to buy and well worth the money, I would recomend this mini laptop to anyone and they arrived ahead of the delivery date, Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laptop, 26 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New 2012 model Mini Laptop Notebook 7" inch Android 4.0 (Latest Ice Cream Sandwich OS) DOUBLED RAM Hard Drive 4GB New Processor VIA8850 Clock Speed 1.5GHz HDMI Output Wifi 3G (supported) Webcam for Skype Video Calling Compatible with BBC iPlayer / Youtube / Facebook
Mini Laptop

Does everything that we need and is portable and easy to carry around. Functions are excellent. I have bought two of these and they both work fine
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE 7" Android mini laptop., 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New 2012 model Mini Laptop Notebook 7" inch Android 4.0 (Latest Ice Cream Sandwich OS) DOUBLED RAM Hard Drive 4GB New Processor VIA8850 Clock Speed 1.5GHz HDMI Output Wifi 3G (supported) Webcam for Skype Video Calling Compatible with BBC iPlayer / Youtube / Facebook
I think this is a great little gadget its great for everyday simple pc work .The size makes for easy transporting,ideal for students .Also makes a good .The price is also fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cheap solution for SD card backup!, 6 Nov 2014
By 
R. J. Edwards (Bedfordshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New 2012 model Mini Laptop Notebook 7" inch Android 4.0 (Latest Ice Cream Sandwich OS) DOUBLED RAM Hard Drive 4GB New Processor VIA8850 Clock Speed 1.5GHz HDMI Output Wifi 3G (supported) Webcam for Skype Video Calling Compatible with BBC iPlayer / Youtube / Facebook
I bought this mini laptop as the best solution for backing up my camera's SD cards during a three week tour of the Canyon Lands in the USA. I think it is an excellent machine, for about £50 it's fine. A working knowledge of Linux directory structure (and how it works, i.e. mounting volumes) is essential. The clock on my model had a mind of its own, reset it to correct time, and an hour later it was three hours adrift, but this was irrelevant for my requirements. Battery life was adequate. Has an SD slot, USB ports, all in all, good value. I just need to re-emphasise having read a few reviews of this piece of kit that it is not a Windows based computer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars netbook, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New 2012 model Mini Laptop Notebook 7" inch Android 4.0 (Latest Ice Cream Sandwich OS) DOUBLED RAM Hard Drive 4GB New Processor VIA8850 Clock Speed 1.5GHz HDMI Output Wifi 3G (supported) Webcam for Skype Video Calling Compatible with BBC iPlayer / Youtube / Facebook
came a lot earlier than stated which was good as was an xmas present, really easy to use, what a i find particular good it warns of possible threats and lets u do a manual scan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New 2012 model Mini Laptop Notebook 7" inch Android 4.0 (Latest Ice Cream Sandwich OS) DOUBLED RAM Hard Drive 4GB New Processor VIA8850 Clock Speed 1.5GHz HDMI Output Wifi 3G (supported) Webcam for Skype Video Calling Compatible with BBC iPlayer / Youtube / Facebook
Does what it says on the box, Awesome little device,well pleased with it.Would recommend it to anybody.Excellent buy,We are well happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little let down..... please read on tho..., 23 Dec 2013
This review is from: New 2012 model Mini Laptop Notebook 7" inch Android 4.0 (Latest Ice Cream Sandwich OS) DOUBLED RAM Hard Drive 4GB New Processor VIA8850 Clock Speed 1.5GHz HDMI Output Wifi 3G (supported) Webcam for Skype Video Calling Compatible with BBC iPlayer / Youtube / Facebook
Great little thing.... I`m typing this down the library on this great netbook. WiFi is very stable.

I thought I`d get that out the way first..

Niggles are space bar is short for my big hands. Keyboard in general is a little small but can get used to it - space bar awkward as said previous.

be careful of apps downloaded as some require touch screen.

My biggest concern was mine was shipped with 1.2Ghz processor even tho underside said 1.5ghz.
I don`t think Drakotech are aware of this so I will contact them.

Big plus on all accounts... Not 4.0.3 IceCreamSandwich but 4.1.1 Jellybean.

Great device all the same. Will buy another one later.

For Kindle owners.. It does work but when in portrait mode (when device is rotated) , the left and right cursor keys don`t change... home/left key which is now up and down in relation to the netbook is page left. Best way to explain this is landscape keys are normal... Rotated and you still use the same keys.

Mouse support when flipped is the same so I recommend using mouse as touch pad seems to behave like cursor keys

Mine supports NTFS file format on SD but unsure about USB...
Also supports video format .mts which is readable on PS3.

This review was typed up on my WM8850 netbook using the library WiFi service with no problems.

It may take about 2 hours to get the apps you want but that is no problem.

Oh. Mine did NOT come with Amazon Market but it can be very easily obtained...

Highly Recommended for product and Dracotech for prompt delivery. Royal Mail Tracked and I had to sign for it.

Update....

NTFS file is supported on USB
Max micro sd support tested is 32GB (will update later when I purchase 64Gb ;) )
Hdmi support needs a custom lead.. Shop around as I can get from local shop for £8

[...]

Using as a link between Freeview HD box and PS3.. (NTFS to FAT32)

August DVB400 Freeview Set Top

Box records in .mts so this netbook is great for me.. I bought Diablo 3 for PS3 at same time and have spent more time on this little netbook and not on my favourite game.

Buy now or regret it later.

Oh... not affiliated with DracoTech or anyone else mentioned in this review.. This is me excited on this product. (48yo)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not I repeat do not buy this Notebook, 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: New 2012 model Mini Laptop Notebook 7" inch Android 4.0 (Latest Ice Cream Sandwich OS) DOUBLED RAM Hard Drive 4GB New Processor VIA8850 Clock Speed 1.5GHz HDMI Output Wifi 3G (supported) Webcam for Skype Video Calling Compatible with BBC iPlayer / Youtube / Facebook
Well you get what you paid for.This was to be an xmas present for my daughter. When it arrived I put it on charge for the required 6 hours. I then booted it up and all seemed well until I tried to use the pad. The pad has a mind of its own and is very slow and unresponsive.I altered the pad speed and it seemed better the supplied instructions are very basic.
I connected to our router and the notebook accessed on line sites with no problem.My daughter was due home from school so I put it away.The next day I thought I would put some apps on it for her.Again it booted up fine but once on line many of the keys decided they would not respond so I could not type in web addresses.Then some of the keys started typing their secondary commands EG instead of 9 the keyboard typed -. Some of the keys would not work at all now bearing in mind the notebook had only booted up twice and been used for 10 mins at the most this did not bode well.
I shut it down and rebooted it again the keys would not work then suddenly they started working.I tried to download an app without success then the keys went wrong again.Summery the os is very unstable,the pad is all but useless,the instructions are very basic to be honest I think this product is a very good idea with some nice features. But it does not have the stability needed to be a usable notebook it feels cheap and performs poorly.I am in the process of returning it but even that has turned into a pain.It looks like I will have to pay for a recorded means of return meaning I am even further out of pocket.
It is partly my fault I should have checked the sellers profile if I knew it was dispatched from Hong Kong I would never have bought it.I have suggested to Amazon that items being sold from outside the UK should be clearly stated not hidden in the sellers profile.I have given this one star because I cannot give zero.
My advice if you want a usable stable notebook then pay the extra and get a named brand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews