Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strictly Waltz (and Cha-Cha and Foxtrot etc.) down Memory Lane
I've been a fan of Strictly right since the beginning so I didn't really think twice about buying this DVD.

It's a simple idea - Len, Craig and Bruno each choose their favourite dance of each style and then decide which is the overall best - it's worth noting that if you're looking particularly for Charleston then it is not included, but all the other dances...
Published on 6 Dec 2012 by Alleycat

versus
102 of 104 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strictly Come Dancing - The Show Stoppers
To celebrate ten years of Strictly Come Dancing we have this new DVD, just in time to arrive in Christmas stockings around the country. In theory this sounds great fun - Len, Craig and Bruno picking their favourite dance from the following categories: Salsa, Samba, Paso Doble, Waltz, Rumba, Foxtrot, American Smooth, Cha Cha Cha, Tango, Jive, Quickstep, Viennese Waltz,...
Published on 27 Nov 2012 by S Riaz


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

102 of 104 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strictly Come Dancing - The Show Stoppers, 27 Nov 2012
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strictly Come Dancing - The Show Stoppers [DVD] (DVD)
To celebrate ten years of Strictly Come Dancing we have this new DVD, just in time to arrive in Christmas stockings around the country. In theory this sounds great fun - Len, Craig and Bruno picking their favourite dance from the following categories: Salsa, Samba, Paso Doble, Waltz, Rumba, Foxtrot, American Smooth, Cha Cha Cha, Tango, Jive, Quickstep, Viennese Waltz, Argentine Tango, Show Dance and Comedy Moments. So, why does it only get three stars from me? Firstly, there is no section on the Charleston, which seems to be a very big omission. Yes, there is a comedy moments section, but the Charleston is such a fun dance and both Chris Hollins and Harry Judd's efforts in the dance spring immediately to mind as possible winners. Also, the judges talk so much that although there are clips of various dances shown, only the routine they choose as the winner is shown in its entirety. I would have preferred the winning dance in each category to be shown and then the remarks from the judges at the time, plus scores, to be shown. Instead, the routine finishes and the DVD moves on to the next dance. There are extras on the DVD, including "Best of the Rest" (which does have a routine for each dance which did not get chosen as the best one) and also "A Day in the Life of a Judge", which follows Bruno on a day on Strictly. However, I did feel this was a little disappointing. Less chat and more dance would have been better, in my opinion. There is a lot to enjoy, but somehow it fails to recreate the fun and excitement of the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a worth-watching-once DVD, 4 Feb 2013
By 
R. L. Judd (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Strictly Come Dancing - The Show Stoppers [DVD] (DVD)
Hugely disappointing. Really. Too much nonsense chat and faux bickering (Imagine Len's silly yak without the usual `live' show 15 second max. cut away) and Bruno is `over the top' hard work as normal. Only Craig provides reasoned comment on the dances but is dragged down by the other two.

Basically the premise is the three consistent panel judges discussing the best/ top three dancing couples per dance (i.e. salsa, tango, rumba, waltz, etc.) across all the seasons. Predictably the same celeb names come up over & over again - Alisha Dixon, Harry Judd, Ricky Whittle - and most are from more recent show history (only Gill Halfpenny is a blast from the past). On disk one, after enduring the mindless chat (unless, like me, you use the fast-forward button liberally) you finally get to see the whole dance of the `top pair'.

However, disk two is much better. Here you get to enjoy the full dances of the two runner-up couples per dance, without any disruption. There's even a `best of the worst' at the end, where the three most dire ever celeb dancers are shamed. However, considering the plethora of duff-dancing celebs over the years, only the three most obvious celebs are included which is a shame.

Its worth noting too that the DVD doesn't include any pairings from the most recent series (2012).

Summary, it's a worth-watching-once DVD and not something you're ever going to flick on for a repeat viewing so probably best to rent rather than buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strictly Waltz (and Cha-Cha and Foxtrot etc.) down Memory Lane, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strictly Come Dancing - The Show Stoppers [DVD] (DVD)
I've been a fan of Strictly right since the beginning so I didn't really think twice about buying this DVD.

It's a simple idea - Len, Craig and Bruno each choose their favourite dance of each style and then decide which is the overall best - it's worth noting that if you're looking particularly for Charleston then it is not included, but all the other dances are.

For anyone who is a relatively new fan there is a nice selection on here going right back to series 2 so it's a good chance to see what some of the earlier dancers were like. For those that have watched all along it's also a reminder of just how good some of the earlier contestants really were.

A couple of extras to complete the package - a "Best of the Rest" (the routines which just missed out on top spot) and "A Day in the Life of a Judge" which follows Bruno on a typical Strictly day.

Overall for any Strictly fan a must-buy and this one certainly wasn't disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strictly Memories, 30 Nov 2012
By 
Miss (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strictly Come Dancing - The Show Stoppers [DVD] (DVD)
The format of this DVD is a little contrived. Bruno, Len and Craig each pick what they thought was the best dance in each category (i.e. best waltz, best cha cha cha etc). However, it's very clear that they are not necessarily picking their favourites - sometimes they are picking different ones merely in order that there is a shortlist, and then they pretend to 'remember' the routine another judge mentions and agree that yes, in fact that one was better. And sometimes a dance that would normally trump the others is, you feel, passed over in order that the dancer does not win in too many categories. Well, okay, that makes sense, but I would have preferred the judges to be a little more honest and less scripted, and Len could really tone down the 'fatherly, all-wise' act. A little mention of the scores they gave at the time and putting them in the perspective of each season as a whole and their thinking at the time could also have been fun (as Craig once pointed out when he let his mouth run away with him a little and told the truth as we all know it - that some years the dancing isn't up to much, so you mark within context - some dances get a higher mark than they would have done in another year.)

Thankfully, you don't end up grating your teeth that your choice out of the shortlist did not win as all the other shortlisted dances are given in full (an excellent chance to see some of the older dances in higher quality than in a years-old You Tube clip). That was my major fear before buying this - that we would see only brief clips of other dances, seeing the whole of only the one the judges regarded as the 'showstopper'. Luckily, someone had enough sense to put together a better product than that.

There are some odd choices as number one in each category. Sometimes I groaned, going 'but that one sent the audience to sleep!', and other times, I was pleasantly surprised at a more controversial choice (they did not always go for the one that was technically the best, recognizing that technique is only part of performance). But no matter what choices were made, 3 whole dances in each category is a great trip down memory lane. Not all my favourites were there, and I am sure this will be true for everybody, as everyone remembers different dances as being the best. I was shocked that one or two did not even make the shortlist in that category (as I said before, I think this was in order to shoehorn in more dancers). However, there were enough of the dances I remembered, or was glad to be reminded of, to keep me smiling. Well worth the money and time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Extra features save it!, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strictly Come Dancing - The Show Stoppers [DVD] (DVD)
Was extremely disappointed when I watched the dvd, only 1 Dance shown for each style of dance. Far too much talking from the judges and not nearly enough dancing. When I watched the extra features I found there are a further two dances for each style hidden in that section which made it slightly better. Main DVD content extremely disappointing though, it could have been brilliant if done differently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strictly Come Dancing - The Show Stoppers [DVD] (DVD)
To much debate, more dancing clips needed. Although It was interesting to see how much dance styles have changed over the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Judges DVD, 27 Jan 2013
By 
IBH "Ian Hawkes" (Gateshead, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strictly Come Dancing - The Show Stoppers [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is more about the judges than the contestants. Although each dance is covered, it is all about the judges. Disappointed with the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FAB-U-LOUS darling!!, 29 Dec 2012
By 
L. Neil "FH nut" (Lanarkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Strictly Come Dancing - The Show Stoppers [DVD] (DVD)
My daughter bought me this for Christmas along with tickets to see the live show...wonderful. We sat to watch it last night and we certainly weren't disappointed. Loved the format and the 'bickering' between Craig, Len & Bruno although we did have a different opinion for one or two of the dances.

Just when we thought we'd seen it all we moved to the Extras on the DVD and found over 50 minutes of wonderful dancing. They showed the other two dances in each catergory which had been on the shortlist.

As Craig would say; one word three syllables FAB-U-LOUS!!!!!!

Now all we need is a best of each series DVD and we'll be happy bunnies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable summary of the show by 3 excellent judges, each different in their own way., 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strictly Come Dancing - The Show Stoppers [DVD] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed this review of the Strictly series, and the judges have a wonderful sense of humour in their choices.
Quite a change to see them arguing in a friendly manner,- different than when on stage, and very human.
Edith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really entertaining, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Strictly Come Dancing - The Show Stoppers [DVD] (DVD)
Really entertaining - Great for any Strictly fans who are suffering from withdrawal symptoms now the show is no longer on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Strictly Come Dancing - The Show Stoppers [DVD]
£7.39
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews