Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


108 of 115 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Return to form
*It's very hard to review this season without spoilers as such mild spoilers akin to what's been in trailers will be included but if you'd rather go in with no knowledge best to avoid.

Following the blood soaked finale of season 4 Dexter has had a lot to live up to, five fell short of this, six even more so with a lacklustre main villain and inconsequential...
Published on 17 Dec. 2012 by SF- A story is as real as you ...

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weakest season so far (spoiler heavy review)
Do not read this if you don't want to know what happens in Season 7 of Dexter.

Right then. Let the moaning begin.

I am a long-time fan of Dexter but even I have to admit it. At this point in the journey, the quality of Dexter's storylines and characters is deteriorating badly. Unlike most reviewers I really liked Season 6 and even Season 5 before...
Published 16 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

108 of 115 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Return to form, 17 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Dexter - Season 7 [DVD] (DVD)
*It's very hard to review this season without spoilers as such mild spoilers akin to what's been in trailers will be included but if you'd rather go in with no knowledge best to avoid.

Following the blood soaked finale of season 4 Dexter has had a lot to live up to, five fell short of this, six even more so with a lacklustre main villain and inconsequential stories, Dexter was showing signs of wear, maybe a season too far? However season 7 becomes a blazing return to from for the show, not perfect but a huge improvement and the most engaging the show has been since Trinity.

Picking up where season 6 ends (which should have been end of 5) Dexter faces the consequences for the murder of Travis before his sister's eyes but soon finds himself with bigger problems, a key figure of the kashca brotherhood targets him for vengeance and he finds himself a new love interest in the guise of the damaged and possibly dangerous Hannah.

Season 7 smartly decides to recognise its past; Dexter as a show has a tendency to hit the reset button at the end of a season with the exception of Rita, each season acts as a separate story rather than acknowledging what came before. Season 7 finally picks up on the rich tapestry the show has weaved for itself, connecting the dots right back to the start and how they play into present day, it's a smart move, one the gives the show new and exciting direction.

Dexter's revelation to Deb finally gives the two something new to do together and gives Jennifer Carpenter a real chance to shine, as the emotional toil takes hold of her, confused and conflicted about what to do next, a big improvement over the caricature she has become the last couple of seasons, pouting off potty mouthed one liners. Indeed the relationship between the adopted siblings takes centre stage this season and easily the most interesting thread, as what to do following Dexter's crime becomes a bigger and bigger weight, it will be a turbulent season for the pair and by the finale big changes will come.

Ray Stevenson of HBO's Rome turns up at this year's big bad and is easily one of the best. Rather than being all out nuts or irredeemable of any good qualities, Issak is a much more human character equally dangerous but charismatic and interesting, indeed Dexter and Issak's exchanges superbly written and acted by the pair are very resonant, the parallels between the two stronger than either would care to admit. Chuck alum Yvonne Strahovski also joins as the intriguing Hannah, as well as being rather nice to look at she brings a layered performance to the damaged Hannah, her relationship with Dexter neither enabling or disabling and a fresh take on Dexter's hidden/exposed relationships of the past.

The minor bad points, Quinn's side-story is poor, very poor, like taking a cliché from every cop show and rolling them into one, strippers with hearts of gold, money bribes, trying to go straight, undermining investigations, you name it, it's there and a distraction from the main season story. The character of Louis introduced in last season is handled very poorly, his motivations for his fascination with Dexter thin to say the least but thankfully his story is rounded off quickly.

The last few episodes see Dexter in serious danger of loosing it, and some real changes for the character down to his very core, and the finale delivers a shocking conclusion, easily the best since season 4, as Dexter again sees the price of what his need has cost those around him.

This season has restored my faith in Dexter and with the final season next year I'll definitely been tuning in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 26 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dexter - Season 7 [DVD] (DVD)
A must have for Dexter fans, this is possibly the best series yet. The scenes between Dexter and Deb are powerful and moving, the plot twists and turns as unpredictable as ever. Major developments for several of the long standing characters and a shock ending. Can't wait to see the last series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weakest season so far (spoiler heavy review), 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Do not read this if you don't want to know what happens in Season 7 of Dexter.

Right then. Let the moaning begin.

I am a long-time fan of Dexter but even I have to admit it. At this point in the journey, the quality of Dexter's storylines and characters is deteriorating badly. Unlike most reviewers I really liked Season 6 and even Season 5 before that. For me the worst of the lot was season 2 with it's shambolic "fatal attraction" plot. ...Which is probably why I disliked Season 7 so much: What we have here is essentially another shambolic "fatal attraction" plot with a few random sub plots thrown in. The whole thing feels like a re-hash of Season 2.

Here is what I mean. Remember that Season 2 had Dexter up against the femme fatale Layla while also contending with Doakes who suspects him of being the Bay Harbour Butcher? Doakes then died when he found out for sure, before he could tell anyone. Season 2 has Dexter up against femme fatale Hannah while contending with Laguerta who suspects him of being the Bay Harbour Butcher. Laguerta then dies when she finds out for sure, before she can tell anyone. As if to confirm the re-hash, the events of Season 2 are referred to in Season 7 through flashbacks and awkward back references.

But the lazy re-use of an old plot is the least of the problems in Season 7. Let's look at the characters. The ensemble cast are woefully underused this time around, the comic genius of Masuka barely sees the light of day, while Angel is conveniently set aside the events to open a restaurant for no reason other than give him some reason to exist on screen. The emaciated skinny cop (whose name I forgot) starts an affair with a stripper who is part of a murder investigation. (Yawn, seen it all before). We are supposed to believe he is madly in love with her, and worse still, we are expected to care. This cop is not likable and I do not care about his life. The writers seem confused, on the one hand they want us to hate him because he's corrupt but on the other they want us to see him live happy ever after. Result: I don't care either way!

Then we have the problem of the "main baddie" who is like something from an 80's Old Spice commercial, a suave Russian mobster named Isaak Sirko who has a posh English accent(?) and comes to Miami to avenge the killing (by Dexter) of his criminal best mate (and gay lover apparently). This mobster is pathetic and shallow compared to the excellent Trinity or Ice Truck Killer for example, and makes me yearn for those good old days of Dexter's "proper" bad guys. Even last season's Travis Marshall was a more compelling baddie than this lame duck.

Sirko seems to be there purely to help tie up loose ends and kill off characters whose Season 6 storylines proved too difficult to resolve. This "giving up" on characters really annoyed me. The geeky and creepy lab assistant Louis is a case in point. He was a good character! I had high hopes for the whole stalking/obsession thing between Louis and Dexter but no, that's too hard to develop so they just have Sirko shoot him in the head (for no good reason) and we forget the whole Louis thing ever happened. (And nobody seems to notice or care that he's dead!).

The waters are muddied further by the introduction of Hannah, a known killer who for no apparent reason becomes Dexter's lover when they meet during a cold case investigation. Now there is nothing wrong with this in theory, two killers finding out each other's secrets and dating each other... BUT Hannah herself is a horrendous character, there is nothing likable about her whatsoever (besides her good looks). Again the writers expect us to want this pair to live happily ever after, they expect us to be concerned when she's in danger. But NO, we don't like her! So don't set up a hateful person and expect us to give a damn how their story goes on, or care about her escaping captivity or being injured, or getting upset by her mean Dad. Personally I wanted her to die and was annoyed that she survived to escape custody in really ludicrous circumstances at the end.

And another thing: I did NOT like the way the writers dealt with the Season 6 cliffhanger. I mean really, Debs, the police lieutenant (FFS!), discovers that her adopted brother is a long-time serial killer and what does she do? She helps him cover it all up and then tries to 'cure' him as if he were a drug addict, thus implicating herself in his actions. It takes maybe 3 or 4 episodes for Debs to have apparently "accepted" the situation just get on with her life while keeping Dexter's secret. WTF? Just not credible. Oh, and nearly forgot, she is madly in love with him too. But to be fair this is the first series where Debs hasn't jumped into bed with a man.

That said, for me Debs was actually the saving grace of Season 7. The story actually challenged her and gave her something interesting to deal with for a change instead of just falling into bed with suspects or cops while swearing a lot. But the way she dealt with Dexter was a wasted opportunity.

I enjoyed the last two episodes and especially the shocking ending (see spoiler warning above!) but it could have been done so much better over all. They skipped the sickening body-disposal boat scene which I think was more essential now than ever, just to hammer home the point.

Now I look forward to seeing if Season 8 is really as bad as everyone keeps telling me it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dexter is the besty, 24 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dexter - Season 7 [DVD] (DVD)
Massive fan of Dexter and love this season. Can't wait for season eight now! I reccomend this to anyone who loves dark humour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Falling in love with your next victim, 18 Jan. 2014
By 
Susman "Susman" (London Mills IL) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dexter - Season 7 [DVD] (DVD)
This season does much to try and tie up loose ends as we see a flashback to Deb and Dexter's childhood. The new villain of the piece is actor Ray Stevenson and he is set to play the head of a Ukrainian crime syndicate who lands in Miami single-minded purpose to find out who killed one of his associates. A rather unsavoury character is played by Jason Gedrick playing the manager of a Miami-area gentlemen's club that becomes connected to a high-profile murder case. Hannah McKay, a lady with a "checkered past" who arrives to help Miami Metro Homicide revive an old murder case out of joint benefit, and becomes Dexter's love interest. The season has its flaws as Quinn's side story is so sublime. Dexter's sister Deb now knows about her brother's predilections and the way her character tries to deal with the conflict within her is good television. LaGuerta begins investigating a blood slide Dexter accidentally left at the church and becomes increasingly suspicious of Dexter. This is season where Dexter fails in some of his attempts to kill and where his sister is tested - very sorely tested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dexter love it, 20 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dexter - Season 7 [DVD] (DVD)
If you love watching Dexter theres no need to read this just buy it, still has all the twists and turns.its great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dexter, 13 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dexter - Season 7 [DVD] (DVD)
what can I say as usual Dexter is brilliant so sad that its coming to an end looking forward to season 8
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Serial about a Serial Killer!, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dexter - Season 7 [DVD] (DVD)
You may have guessed by now that I am becoming a box set junkie. The Dexter series is one that I found intriguing from the start. A likeable character ridding the world of serial killers that managed to evade legal retribution, a serial killing serial killer if you will. Who couldn't become endeared to such a character? As each season ends the writers try very hard to come up with ever more fantastic plots and crescendos towards each finale. I found it incredible that they managed to extrapolate it as long as they did, however it remained entertaining until the final series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slowly Unraveling Dexter, 27 Feb. 2014
By 
This review is from: Dexter - Season 7 [DVD] (DVD)
By Season 7, ‘Dexter’ is a series that is both starting to crank up to the end, but also wind down. Series after series has had Dexter come up against one big bad, but whilst earlier seasons has him also taking out smaller fry, the later shows have been more him against only one other. Season 7 mixes things up a little more by creating a killer triangle, whilst still forcing Dexter to balance work, home and serial life. He comes across Hannah, who appears to be a repeat poisoner, but is also very attractive. Meanwhile, after a normal killer take out, Dexter manages to anger a powerful member of the Russian Mob. Can he deal with all that is going on, especially now that his sister knows more?

Juggling all these storylines comes with a price. Although ‘Dexter’ was a show that concentrated on Mr Morgan, it always had elements of the ensemble as each character was given something to do. To allow all the different events in season 7 to happen to Dexter, the ensemble has been given a lot less to do. If, like me, you found many of them cartoonish and annoying (Debra, Batista, LaGuerta), this is no bad thing. The show was always best when concentrating on Dexter’s dark passenger and this season really explores it as we get closer to the final episodes.

Michael C. Hall is once more exceptional as Dexter and really carries a show that has lost a little of its energy over the years. However, he needs good enemies to fight and in Ray Stevenson and Yvonne Strahovski he has found them. These two actors bring some class to the show and really engage with the story. You still care what happens to Dexter and you feel he is in genuine danger with these two about. Season 7 of ‘Dexter’ is not the best, but strong performances and real exploration of Dexter’s character still makes it a great slice of US TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Back to its best, 11 Jan. 2014
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Dexter series seven is a testiment to how good writing and listening to it's audience can save a series. Dexter went from strength to strength until its peak at season four. From then on it struggled to maintain those dizzy highs with some lacklustre stories and vacquous villains. Series six saw Dexter start to emerge from the wreck and now we have series seven.

Very much feeling like the beginning of the end series 7 goes back over old ground as the noose starts to tighten on Dexter. His code is challenged to an extreme we have not seen before and his relationships with those around him crumble and strengthen in equal measure.

It is this focus on relationships that elevates Series 7 above the last few. There is less in the way of action in this one and in fact doesn't even have a serial killer in the background. This is Deb's moment to shine. Her fragility and fiery nature collide causing a fractious relationship with Dexter. Her revelation of her true feelings for him was tremedously emotive and really added another level to their already stressed relations. She knows Dexter's true self and battles everytime she sees him with contrasting feelings telling her to turn him in yet wanting to protect him from the law.

The addition of Hannah McKay into Dexter's life is another subtle blow to Deb's state of mind. Hannah is dangerous yet Dexter is besotted. Losing his control when she is around as he believes she knows him better than anyone. They share a common ground but Dexter's mind is clouded and it takes him time to realise the danger she presents.

Series 7 also makes better use of some it's peripheral characters too. La Guerta plays a vital role this time round and her story arc comes to a shattering conclusion. She is up against the police as well as the devious mind of Dexter himself. Bringing Tom Matthews back in was an inspired decision. His particular brand of whip smart cracks and devasting put downs are, as always, a joy to behold.

Here Dexter is losing his control over his emotions. His life is starting to spiral and there is not much he can do to keep hold of the reigns. With Deb knowing his secret, it puts her in harms way. Overcoming this means breaking parts of his code.

There are still some plot holes with series 7, mainly in that things seem to happen purely coincidentally to move the story forward. Deb's supposed poisoning just seemed to happen out of thin air with no explanation as to how and could have actually been an interesting twist on her character if handled better. Dexter's feelings for Hannah at first seem absurd given his code but are explained away in a fairly wishy washy fashion. However these are minor issues that are easily overcome when you take the series as a whole.

Season 8 will have a lot to live up to and will need to tie up a few of the loose ends. It will be a shame to see these characters go, but at some stage Dexter had to be caught out. Maybe this is his time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dexter - Season 7 [DVD]
Dexter - Season 7 [DVD] by Michael C. Hall (DVD - 2013)
£14.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews