Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amusing Story of a Gay Dominican in New York
This is the story of Elliot, who was born to a mother of simple tastes that is so far as having a man in her life is concerned. She had Elliot as an unintended consequence of those tastes. We meet him as a ten year old growing up as a Dominican Republic, American in New York. Apparently Elliot is old German meaning `he who walks with God', well he is not exactly religious...
Published 15 months ago by Tommy Dooley

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very slow
seemed rather slow to start and too much chopping and changing sometimes very hard to follow the storyline at times
Published 15 months ago by Steven Wood


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amusing Story of a Gay Dominican in New York, 13 May 2013
By 
Tommy Dooley "Tom" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Elliot Loves [DVD] (DVD)
This is the story of Elliot, who was born to a mother of simple tastes that is so far as having a man in her life is concerned. She had Elliot as an unintended consequence of those tastes. We meet him as a ten year old growing up as a Dominican Republic, American in New York. Apparently Elliot is old German meaning `he who walks with God', well he is not exactly religious but he does like a man in his life, just like his mum, and he has the same problem regarding holding on to them too.

We follow Elliot in the ups and downs involved with trying to find love and it is really quite funny and touching in places. The sound levels are an issue but hardly a deal breaker and the acting is all above fine. Elliot's mate Hector played by Robin de Jesus is particularly likeable. We also have some real cringe worthy chat up lines and some minimalist bedroom antics, but nothing too full on, so if that is your thing then best to avoid.

This is an independent effort and whilst it may be apparent to the movie aficionado it does not lose any of its charm and to quote Elliot from the film - `it's tough being special', and I actually really enjoyed this despite having read some negative copy on this film. If you keep your mind well open you should be able to get something out of this rather good gay based film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good quality, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elliot Loves [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this with nothing really in mind, but I must say I was pleasantly surprised, the story lines were good and the action very sweet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying for Elliot's mom alone, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elliot Loves [DVD] (DVD)
Saw a trailer for this. Had to buy it. Not disappointed. Worth watching for the performances alone. There's not really any groin grinding but that's ok. The acting makes up for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very slow, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elliot Loves [DVD] (DVD)
seemed rather slow to start and too much chopping and changing sometimes very hard to follow the storyline at times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watch and... well... forget, 5 May 2013
By 
Ford Ka (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Elliot Loves [DVD] (DVD)
The story of Elliot's loves is not very complicated and told in a fairly straightforward manner. We learn of his family life (let's just say his mother is not necessarily very good as a homemaker) and of his love life (let's just say Elliot is almost as much of a failure in this area as his mother) but obligatory happy ending follows (yes, it's basically a comedy so it's not a spoiler). Small cast and minor flaws show limited budget so keep your expectations rather low.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too contrived, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elliot Loves [DVD] (DVD)
Maybe it's just me, but this movie seemed to be peopled with stereotypical gay people of color who might hang out at the bottom of Christopher or on the West Side.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elliot Loves [DVD]
Elliot Loves [DVD] by Terracino (DVD - 2012)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews