Customer Reviews


148 Reviews
5 star:
 (109)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LIKE DANCING BEANS, HELD UP WITH NOTHING
When things get bad, we tend to look to the past. And the bleaker the future looks, the further back we search for comfort. As the new millennium keeps disappointing us, TV shows set on the 50's and the 60's (once a rarity) keep growing in numbers. Many have tried and failed. MAD MEN tried and closed the deal. And have been doing so for 6 seasons now.

Meet Don...
Published 18 months ago by NeuroSplicer

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Authentically Stylish.
Mad Men has all the requisites for a hugely enjoyable TV series and from the first episode of Season one I was engaged. For sheer style Mad Men is hard to beat and the attention to detail with regard to the clothes, hairstyles, etc. of the period, as the series moves from the fifties through the sixties against a backdrop of the main political events of the period, is...
Published 12 months ago by Pigwin


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LIKE DANCING BEANS, HELD UP WITH NOTHING, 25 Jun 2013
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
When things get bad, we tend to look to the past. And the bleaker the future looks, the further back we search for comfort. As the new millennium keeps disappointing us, TV shows set on the 50's and the 60's (once a rarity) keep growing in numbers. Many have tried and failed. MAD MEN tried and closed the deal. And have been doing so for 6 seasons now.

Meet Don Draper (Jon Ham), a Madison Avenue water-walker (and based on the real life ad men Draper Daniels and Rosser Reeves). He is an enigma wrapped in a mystery. He is brilliant and secretive. He wants to keep walking the tight rope with no safety net. And definitely no contract. He is a chain-smoking, hard liqueur guzzling, womanizing alpha male. He is a loving father of three, married to a picture-perfect ex model. He has it all. And yet he cannot find peace. Because he learned early on that the world is always yawning at your heels, eager to yank everything you love away.

From bursting with joie-de-vivre Roger Sterling (hilarious John Slattery) and ever scheming Pete Cambell (baby-faced Vincent Kartheiser) to the gorgeous women (such as barbie January Jones and refined Jessica Paré as his first and second wife, respectively), the cast is one perfect pick after another. And the writing is brilliant, reproducing the tastes and smells and nuisances of the era around Camelot, while drawing you in to the personal stories of characters polished yet inevitably flawed.

The 50's and the 60's were before my time so it is not nostalgia that makes me love the show. Yes, I find the era mesmerizing and (probably undeservingly) less complicated. If nothing else, though, back then they knew how to dress. Women looked feminine and men looked manly. You see January Jones on the red carpet, for example, all dressed up and groomed for a Hollywood function - and that modern image cannot hold a candle to herself dressed for everyday(!) life in the early 60's. When did we loose it? When did we decide men should stop wearing suits and hats and women should start wearing sweat-suits outside the house? I, for one, blame the hippies!

This is one of the best TV shows ever and this box-set includes the ongoing season 6. Season 7 has been green-lighted whereas we can only hope that the show will not stop there. As I have said again before, good TV is best watched on DVD. Make weekends out of it. It is much more enjoyable to watch an entire season in a couple of days than having to wait week(s) between episodes. And (quite ironically, in this case), you will not have to suffer the...commercials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Mad Men remains top end drama but there is a very different vibe going on in Series 6. It took several episodes for me to really get into this series but, on reflection, this had much to do with the social/political changes going on in the late 60's and how these are captured. In particular Don and Roger appear increasingly old-fashioned in a world that is changing so quickly.

This isn't the best series but Mad Men remains one of the best programmes. I am looking forward to Series 7 and although disappointed it will be the last, I don't see how it could continue for much longer without losing the edge it has had since it started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madnificent, 22 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. N. J. Todman "mr_todtastic" - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
When I watched the first episode of the sixth season of Mad Men I expected it to feel like putting on a comfortable, well-worn, pair of slippers. For years we have gotten to know Don, Pete, Peggy, Betty and numerous other characters as their fortunes, and those of the agency, have ebbed and flowed. But disconcertingly the start of the season time travels forward a couple of years from the end of season 5. As a result everything familiar felt different, and it took several episodes to feel reoriented in the lives of the characters. That was a stroke of genius. Mad Men has always made us work hard for the rewards of feeling immersed in its world.

Once the reorientation process was complete, the series continued with the same sharp writing and flawless acting which have made the previous series such compelling viewing. The introduction of several new characters,the toxic fallout from Don's relationships, and the overhaul of the agency all help to keep the stories fresh and open new windows to the souls of the major protagonists. That said, Don's soul remains a dark and mysterious place. That is why we love him, and this show, so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Authentically Stylish., 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Mad Men has all the requisites for a hugely enjoyable TV series and from the first episode of Season one I was engaged. For sheer style Mad Men is hard to beat and the attention to detail with regard to the clothes, hairstyles, etc. of the period, as the series moves from the fifties through the sixties against a backdrop of the main political events of the period, is remarkable. The Mad Men of the title refers to the advertising executives working on Madison Avenue and the principal Mad Man, Don Draper worked as creative director and is now junior partner in the firm Sterling Cooper and Partners. While the series focuses on Don and his life both personal and working, there is a wonderful supporting cast including Roger Sterling, Peggy Olson, Pete Campbell. Joan Holloway and Betty Draper and many other sterling (pun intended) characters.

In season one we learned that Don Draper the successful head of department in Sterling Cooper with the beautiful wife and cute kids, is in reality Jay Gatsby. In effect, Don built his successful career and glamourous lifestyle through personal effort and achievement. He came from a humble and troubled background and even though he has achieved so much he comes across as unsettled and dissatisfied with life.

Over the course of the following seasons we witness the confident serial philanderer begin to lose everything he has worked so hard to build and we are reminded of the opening credits where the man in free fall surely symbolizes Don's steady yet long and slow fall from grace.

Season Six sees Don and his co-stars living through the turbulent events of 1968, a very important year in American politics. Not surprisingly, Don is sailing ever closer to the wind and has embarked on a dangerous liaison with a friend's wife while his ex-wife Betty tries desperately to get her life back to some degree of normality. His present wife Megan has won a part in a soap opera and is poised for success. There are also developments with the other characters i.e. Peggy is coping with a new job and Pete has to deal with the collapse of his marriage but once again Don is the pivotal character, a complicated man who has lived most of his adult life hiding a deep, dark secret. It would be impossible to elaborate on the storylines without giving too much away but this excellent season contains quite a few surprises and plenty of humourous situations.

It feels slightly odd watching most of the main characters smoking like troopers and seeing advertisements promoting smoking as a beneficial habit.

Mad Men is not only notable for its style and authenticity but in particular for the quality of its writing and acting.

While season 5 was disappointing, season 6 has managed to pull its socks up somewhat so all in all, recommended viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable watch, 24 Aug 2013
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
While nothing will ever replace the glee I felt upon discovering this programme and then binge-watching the first 4 seasons in their entirety, I have to say I was so pleased that Series 6 resumed much of what I liked about the first 4, but that had been lacking in S5.

By now, we know the characters and their foibles inside and out, so we're not surprised by Don's continued drunken-ness, Peggy's desire to be heard and seen as in control, and Roger's inner angst behind his cocksure exterior. Yet we learn more about Don's childhood *Spoiler* being raised in a whore-house and thus his oversexualised childhood - we see him molested by a resident, and this gives us a clue as to why he is as oversexualised as an adult, and why he constantly feels the need to numb himself with booze, cigarettes, extra-marital affairs, and power-playing with his peers. Whereas Roger takes the healthy route of lying on his shrink's sofa and talking through his issues, Don remains the strong silent type, afraid or unable to articulate his emotions, or even to confide in his wife. He doesn't even utter a word for the first 20 minutes of the first episode, leaving us to wonder whether he'll bother to talk at all... In fact, he does, but only when approached at a Honolulu bar by a drunken soldier who he immediately feels a connection to. it's like he's worked so hard to build this life for himself, he has all the trappings of what one would believe would make one happy - powerful job where he actually gets to be creative, beautiful wife, money and children, yet this isn't enough for him to be happy. His childhood deamons are still gnawing at him and continue to do so throughout the series. It's no coincince that *spoiler* he embarks on an affair with an unattainable neighbor, who looks very similar to the whore he lost his virginity to. Yet the deamons wreak even more havoc as he drinks himself to the point of collapse, embarrasses himself and his colleagues in front of a major new prospect, and finds his own daughter walking in on him doing the deed with his neighbor. He cares less about losing Megan, the ever suffering and dutiful wife, and more about his daughter having a bad opinion of him. You can tell he knows he's messed up, but he's scratching his head not knowing how to fix it, and isn't used to his daughter so openly telling him exactly what she thinks of him.

The final scene shows him with his children revisiting the now derilict whorehouse where he spent his formative years. Sally wonders why he's taken her there, and he simply says 'this is where i grew up'. Sally then looks at him as if to say 'ahhhh ok, well that explains a lot then'. They both realise he is flawed, his childhood was certainly flawed, but yet by facing his deamons head on - and by letting his young children see his vulnerabilities - we get the sense he has finally turned a corner and may even be a changed man in the next series... I can't wait to find out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Retro Period, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my daughter as she already had the rest of the set. She really enjoys this series and really gets glued to it when it's on.

The drama is set at the time when women were starting to fight to be noticed and wanting to be independent. This DVD would suit career women or those wanting to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome as ever, 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Much darker, deeper series but, as ever, provides some of the best TV around. The way the characters have developed is a tribute to the superb writers and production team. Can't recommend highly enough. Don Draper is getting into Tony Soprano territory as a memorable character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Have loved the whole series, 13 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have loved the whole series. Although NOT happy that to finish the whole series it cost about £60 in down loads. Similar price to the DVD's to finish off the series. IN FUTURE I WILL NOT WATCH A SERIES THAT DOES NOT COME AS PART OF MY SUBSCRIPTION. ALSO CAUGHT OUT WITH THE BOSS. BE WARNED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very slow, with occasional good bits, 14 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
It's sad, but I think Mad Men has run its course. You can see the scriptwriters struggling for inspiration in this season, with the executive producers leaning on their shoulders shouting "there is still money in this!".
Don Draper looks a bloated sweaty throwback (maybe he always was). It is hard to believe that a successful adman is still ignoring the fashion of the day and wearing the same clothes he has been wearing for 8 years. But, at least he is shown for the unpleasant character he really is.
A few continuity issues - Betty Draper sheds her new weight in the course of 2 episodes, with no real purpose or storyline.
If you love Mad Men, you'll like this, but it's not a patch on previous seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SEASON 6, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mad Men - Season 6 [DVD] (DVD)
Season 6 of Mad Men opens circa Xmas 1967. It is as addictive a series as ever. This season is composed of 13 episodes.

Things take a little time to warm up. Are the first few episodes slightly frayed at the edges? It's not quite as sharp early on but still as interesting as ever. The Martin Luther King and Bobby Kennedy assasinations appear on the tv screens in these episodes which fix the time period.

And so we move through the swinging sixties. Just look at some of those outfits! And now finally the tempo really starts to pick up and matters become engrossing.

Spoiler alert.

This end of the season features a shocker with Don and his ad agency. He confronts his own inner demons with his Dick Whitman persona - or should that be the other way around? Is he really on a downward spiral (again!)? Perhaps this is all a part of his growth process?

Will his past finally catch up with him? Will he fall apart? In general, though Don has certainly got himself into awkward situations over the years, he has proven to be quite resourceful in dealing and coping with them.

Matt Weiner has said that the next Series 7 is to be the last. It is set to air in April 2014. This Season 6 certainly ends with a great setup for the grand finale of Season 7.

Can Don turn things around in the situation he now finds himself in?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mad Men - Season 6 [DVD]
Mad Men - Season 6 [DVD] by Jon Hamm (DVD - 2013)
£16.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews