Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars15
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 May 2003
I was astonished at the comments attributed to Rolling Stone regarding this album. It is excellent. It is smoother and not as hard rocking as some of the earlier TYA releases, but still has plenty of places where Alvin Lee can show his stuff. I'd Love To Change The World was the radio single that is still heard on classic rock stations. The rest of the material is solid throughout with a mixture of tempos. Baby Won't You Let Me rocks as hard as nearly anything in the TYA catalog, and the softer songs are just incredible. I wore out three copies of the LP before the CD was released. .
11 comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2012
Today I received the new remastered edition of this classic, with the two versions: stereo remastered in 2004 and quad to stereo mixdown done in 2012.
The stereo mastering is excellent, better to my ears from what was done in the triple Cd called "Think About The Times" and livelier than the gold Audio Fidelity version.
But the revelation is the new quad to stereo mixdown. It is simply stellar. With conventional two speakers, instruments and voices float around you with cristal clear accuracy. Obviously some kind of phase shift was done, but the results are incredible. At the end of "Here They Come", the guitar surrounds you like having four speakers instead of two. The best holographic effect I've heard from a conventional CD.
So the music is first class, and the mastering top notch for both versions of the album included in one CD.
Don't pass it by. It is that good.
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
This Ten Years After release completely escaped me when originally released in 2012. The disc contains 2 versions of this classic album. First is the original 1971 stereo mix in its 2004 remastering. No complaints there. Tracks 11-20 are stereo mix downs of the 1973 Quadrophonic version of "A Space In Time." I wasn't sure how I felt about quad when it came around in the 70s but it wasn't around long enough to even give me pause to think. However, listening to these distinctive versions of this classic album I am glad that someone has taken the time to lay out the two versions of the LP on this single disc. Some might say single mixes should be included as bonus tracks rather than 75 minutes 41 seconds, the total run time of the disc. Normally I would agree with them, but after several careful listens, the 1971 stereo mix and the 1973 quad mix are quite different and both deserve their place in the TYA catalog. This disc is available, inexpensively, and it evaded me in 2012, glad I happened to notice the track listing. What an interesting addition to the Ten Years After catalog!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2015
Hot on the heals of the classic albums Ssssssh, Cricklewood Green and the somewhat lesser Watt, Ten Years After deliverd another great album with A Tima and Soace. Included are strong rock songs like the ones on these earlier albums, wirth solid guitsrplay, but now complemenrted with all kinds of beautiful acoustic guitar interplay and even on one song an orchestral arrangement. TYA was a typical blues based rock band, with its yroots firmly planted in the jazz, as ample demonstrated on the live album Undead, and the final take of this album, written by all the members, Uncle Jam, a nifty jazzy instrumental, But they played all sorts of music, varying from jazz, blues, hard rock, progressive rock to pure popsongs. Their output was enormous, so many songs and albums in a short time, but eacht time they surpirsed to listener with the outstanding quality of the compositions, theier way of playing their instruments, with vocal, harmonica, guitars, bass, keyboards and drums. After the powerhouse rock on Cricklewood Green and to some extent on Sssssh and Watt the found it time to relieve and bring forth more relaxing songs, well crafted. In the TYA catalogue A Time and Space is one of the highlights. In over 4 decades is has stood the time as one of the finest albums from the seventies and if TYA would have made only this album they still deserve a rather big applause. Hats off then to Alvin Lee on vocals/guitar (sadly passed away in 2013), Leo Lyons ons bass, Ric Lee on drums and last but not final Chuck Churchill on organ and piano.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2013
Purchased this mainly for the DVD-A, it did not disappoint and is very nice. Maybe it could have been packaged in a slot in cover rather than just inserted in cover with record but that is minor complaint
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
A space In Time is probably the most consistent album Ten Years After produced. I have been playing this after hearing the sad passing of the main man (Alvin Lee) of this great band. A Space In Time contains some great music with some beautiful acoustic songs such as Here They Come to all out rock as Baby Won't You Let Me Rock 'n' Roll You.
The sound is also amazing with a lot of thought and effort going into the sound mix. This is an album that works well in Quad. I have this on DVD-R in Quad and it sounds spectacular.
Overall this is an excellent album and deserves to be played 'loud'.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2009
I have this CD and the album itself gets 5 stars as being one of the very best TYA albums for the strength of the songwriting and the emotional depth of some of the songs. A far cry from the overlong guitar solos and rythmn and blues variations of the early days. Lose two stars for the rip-off of it still being unremastered. Ssshh, Cricklewood Green or Watt are a better bet than this one until the remaster comes around.
33 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2014
The item matched my expectations. It is good value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2014
great music from a great band
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
Would buy from again A+
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)