Customer Reviews


61 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Fun Thriller
All Fall Down from the Voss/Edwards writing duo is the follow up to Catch Your Death and returns to the lives of the protagonists of that novel Kate Maddox and Paul Wilson. Kate, virologist and Watoto virus expert is called upon by the FBI when a strain of the virus breaks out on a Native American reservation. Partner Paul follows her to America and does some freelance...
Published 18 months ago by R. A. Davison

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Recommended authors
A good entertaining fast paced read. This is the second of their books I have read and I enjoyed them both. The germ warfare theme is thought provoking.
Published 2 months ago by Susan Jennifer Fox


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars All fall down, 19 May 2013
This review is from: All Fall Down (Kindle Edition)
Not a bad story the ending was quite predictable.not the kind of book I would normally read, like pschological thrillers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 12 May 2013
This review is from: All Fall Down (Kindle Edition)
I loved the first book and this one did not disappoint. Brilliant storyline, brilliant characters and brilliantly written. I enjoyed book 1 and book 2 so much that if a 3rd book was written I would buy that too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Fall Down (Kindle Edition)
A real thriller, exciting from start to finish. Definite potential for a film...
Can't wait to read more of their work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 8 May 2013
This review is from: All Fall Down (Kindle Edition)
Couldn't put it down from the moment I started reading it.
A really great read and worth buying.
Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Movie script?, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Fall Down (Kindle Edition)
A great follow up to the previous book! Easy to read and fast paced. A little unbelievable in places but would make a great film no doubt!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting, scary page turner, 18 Feb 2013
By 
L. H. Healy "Books are life, beauty and truth." (Cambridgeshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Fall Down (Paperback)
We first met talented virologist Dr Kate Maddox in 'Catch Your Death', and two years on from her narrow escape in that book, we meet her again here, now living with her partner Paul and her son Jack in the UK, and hoping for a normal life. However her peace is about to he shattered, as a man connected to that terrible episode from her past appears and informs her of the horrifying news that a suspected new strain of the killer virus that Kate's parents died from is now on the loose in Los Angeles. Then there is worse news as a bomb goes off in a hotel in America killing the top scientists that were meeting there and thereby reducing significantly the chances of a cure to the outbreak being found.

As one of the leading expert's in the world on the Watoto virus, Kate is called upon to travel to the USA immediately to a top secret laboratory in California to assist a special team in desperately trying to find a cure for the virus and help to stop it spreading any further. Reluctantly she takes Paul and Jack with her to the US, sending Jack off to stay with his father Vernon, whilst Paul embarks on his own determined if ill-advised pursuit of an enemy from the past, still intent on revenge for the death of his twin-brother.

This is another exciting, scary page-turner from the able pens of crime writers Voss and Edwards; it is packed with action, adventure, intrigue and terror. I was intrigued as to the outcome and liked the way the story moved between the different strands in alternate, short chapters, so that the tension in what was happening to Kate was maintained as we were taken to find out where Paul was, and then on to what was happening with the killers, keeping all parts of the story in play and ratcheting up the interest for the reader.

The threat of the deadly virus escaping into the wider world is ever-present and drives the urgency for Kate to discover a cure, and the authors keep the pace of the story and the action pounding along to reflect this. The truly frightening killers behind this release of the virus are certainly unusual and different to your average crime villain and they have their own strong cult-like beliefs driving their actions, aiming to start the world anew. There were parts of the story where I felt I had to suspend my disbelief a little, or found myself wondering if something would really have happened that way, and I was also a little apprehensive about the violence at times. These are minor quibbles overall though. I think if you've enjoyed the previous two novels by this author team then you should definitely read this one too. Although this isn't my personal favourite novel by them - that would be Killing Cupid - I would still recommend it as a fast and furious thriller with some very unusual killers and a tense, exciting plot throughout. You don't need to read Catch Your Death before reading All Fall Down, although I would recommend reading CYD simply because it's a very good read!
3.5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really great read, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Fall Down (Kindle Edition)
I highly recommend this book. Its full of twists and turns. It is the next great thriller from the Edwards and Voss authors. The storyline builds along the way with some good action plus some heart wrenching moments. It has twists and turns and just as you think you have sussed it, there is another one! I couldn't put it down - can't wait for the next book! Thank you Edwards and Voss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A bit too preposterous, 30 May 2013
By 
A. Peabody "AlanP" (Northamptonshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Fall Down (Kindle Edition)
The concept behind the book is both reasonable and topical. Bio-terrorism and super virus threats are definitely OK subjects. But the plotting is simply too far fetched for words. One example (only) is that the heroine, Dr Maddox, is in almost constant peril and for much of the time is under the control of a psychopathic killer who drops anyone and everyone (even the recruits to her wierd sect) as easily as scratching her shapely behind. But she never kills Kate, despite wanting to and having ample opportunity. And Kate keeps escaping, to be recaptured in the oddest of circumstances. And that isn't all, it's full of hugely improbable doings.

It might make a script for a C grade made for TV action movie where plot doesn't matter, but as a book to engage a reader, no. Sorry. Too silly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Too violent, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Fall Down (Kindle Edition)
You have to be very tough to read this book. It's very graphically harsh and cruel..not my type
Of reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst book I've ever read. I found it, dark, depressing with a totally unconvincing storyline. I would not, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Fall Down (Kindle Edition)
I found this book dark and depressing with a totally unconvincing storyline. I would be loath to recommend it to anyone,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All Fall Down
All Fall Down by Louise Voss
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews