Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Fun Thriller
All Fall Down from the Voss/Edwards writing duo is the follow up to Catch Your Death and returns to the lives of the protagonists of that novel Kate Maddox and Paul Wilson. Kate, virologist and Watoto virus expert is called upon by the FBI when a strain of the virus breaks out on a Native American reservation. Partner Paul follows her to America and does some freelance...
Published on 22 Jan. 2013 by R. A. Davison

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars I hope the next one is much better.
I had a slight hope this book would be better than the previous release. It's not; it's complete rubbish. I understand what the authors are trying to do (I think) but, frankly, to hype this up and recruit other authors to bolster the references does not sit well with a poorly considered storyline.

Red herrings, twists and turns? Yes, there are plenty but where...
Published 6 months ago by Michael Watson


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Fun Thriller, 22 Jan. 2013
By 
R. A. Davison (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Fall Down (Kindle Edition)
All Fall Down from the Voss/Edwards writing duo is the follow up to Catch Your Death and returns to the lives of the protagonists of that novel Kate Maddox and Paul Wilson. Kate, virologist and Watoto virus expert is called upon by the FBI when a strain of the virus breaks out on a Native American reservation. Partner Paul follows her to America and does some freelance investigating of his own still seeking explanations and retribution for the death of his twin Stephen.

The third novel from the Voss/Edwards team All Fall Down shows a positive strengthening of their partnership, faster, tauter, and an improvement in terms of their prose from Catch Your Death, the two writers have obviously become more comfortable with each other and the unusual demands of writing as a double act as a continuing professional development.

I was worried that Paul would feel somehow out of place or redundant but his storyline manages to maintain plausibility within an implausible circumstance.

I say this, because in summary of All Fall Down, it is a story in which a religious cult of lesbians attempt to provoke an apocalypse by means of biological terrorism. A snuff threesome occurs before page 150.

If this sounds silly, it's because it is, but it by no means harms the fun thriller purpose of the novel, in many ways this is the product for sale, a giddy race against time with a level of James Bond esque silliness expected from an action film. The moment when the girls break into the secret lab is particularly worthy of any Hollywood blockbuster in terms of the imagery you conjur up in your mind.

I have but one criticism : Jack. Imperiled Jack in this second novel is suffering from a case of Kim Bauer Syndrome, a reference which only 24 fans will truly understand, but reminded me of the second season in which Kim is needlessly hiding behind bins, being chased by coyotes and accidentally caught up in a shop robbery. The way in which Jack collides with characters first met by Paul is overly coincidental. Let Jack be happy at home with his LEGO next time.

I would recommend making sure you've read Catch Your Death first, and hey if you don't think a mad lesbian trying to wipe out civilization is the most original premise you've heard in some time, feel free to let me know of others you have heard of!

I really liked their novel Killing Cupid and the forthcoming novel Forward Slash looks like it is similarly formatted so I'm really looking forward to that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creepily compelling!, 20 Dec. 2012
This review is from: All Fall Down (Kindle Edition)
I'm a bit of a sucker for doomsday thrillers and conspiracy theories, so I loved this book. The chilling, macabre prologue got me completely hooked.

I particularly liked the way that the story was constructed: the spread of the deadly Watoto virus throws the main characters together ... and then blows them apart again, leaving them to forge their own paths through the book. The story moves swiftly to and fro between the characters, offering tantalizing morsels of information as to their progress to uncover a cure, and the truth. But as the virus gruesomely eliminates more and more people, you get the sinking feeling that not all of them are going to make it back alive.

The menacing presence of a sadistic coven of damaged women really adds to the page-turning quality of this novel. Their role is slowly revealed as the story unfolds and I won't spoil it by going into it too much - but I found this a brilliant and fascinating facet to the plot.

And just when you think the ending can't get any more tense, it does! Well worth a read. It slides in front of the eyes very easily: pacy and gripping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Riveting page turner, 14 Jan. 2013
This review is from: All Fall Down (Kindle Edition)
Although a sequel to Catch Your Death, All Fall Down works perfectly as a stand alone read. The character of Kate Maddox is further developed and she is becoming a more rounded, likeable character. This is a fast paced, scientific, thriller in which the science doesn't detract from the story (in fact I found it fascinating as a non-scientific person). Thrown into the mix is some love interest, a cult and children in jeopardy all of which combine into a gripping, pacy, well written novel.
I can't wait to see what the next book from Voss and Edwards brings!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thriller and a half!, 6 Mar. 2013
By 
Sonya Alford (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: All Fall Down (Paperback)
I previously read and reviewed 'Killing Cupid' and was absolutely delighted when 'All Fall Down' was sent to me. This is the sequel to 'Catch Your Death', a book I haven't actually read, but that didn't spoil it for me at all.

Two years ago Kate Maddox uncovered a terrifying conspiracy of rogue scientists. Now she just wants to be able to lead a normal and happy life with her partner Paul and son Jack. But her hopes are dashed when a face from the past turns up at one of her lectures, bringing with him some rather shocking news. It turns out that a new strain of the virus which originally killed Kate's parents has found its way to Los Angeles. The clock is ticking, a cure needs to be found as soon as possible before it's too late! Will Kate succeed?

I totally loved this book. Right from the start I found this to be a very gripping read. Each page, every single paragraph is full of thrills with lots of shocks and surprises throughout. There are some scary characters too. I certainly wouldn't want to get on the wrong side of Heather. A real page-turner, this is a thriller and a half. I got so involved in the story, so much so in fact that every time someone sneezed I actually thought they had got the virus!

Louise Voss and Mark Edwards are very talented. They work so well together and their writing is like magic. They are fast becoming favourite authors of mine.

Look out for their new book 'Forward Slash' which is due out in the summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book!, 15 Jan. 2013
By 
O. Reynolds - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Fall Down (Kindle Edition)
All Fall Down is an expertly crafted book. Louise Voss and Mark Edwards have created a scarily realistic story which is perfectly paced throughout. Treat yourself whilst it's still 99p!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, really gripping, 2 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Fall Down (Kindle Edition)
Thoroughly enjoyed this compelling thriller.

It's really fast paced and gripping, but not in an annoying way. It was also unpredictable which is great, but in a thoughout way which made sense. I often guess the ending of books, so it was really refreshing to have a surprise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grab a dose of this viral thrillfest and quick!, 20 Dec. 2012
This review is from: All Fall Down (Kindle Edition)
Any fears I had that the ground-breaking and kindle-smashing writing duo of Voss & Edwards might drop the ball after the tremendous success of Killing Cupid and Catch Your Death were squashed quickly like a virus spreading mosquito within the opening pages of this new novel.

Opening with a powerful prologue which I found akin to Stephen King's The Stand, the scene is set for a new tale of the heroine from Catch Your Death, Kate Maddox, as she strives to battle a new and horrifying strain of a virus she has faced before. But this is anything but a retread of that previous book. With All Fall Down the writing team have upped the ante on every level with a juggernaut of a thriller, packing action into every page throughout its just over 450 page running time (and I do mean `running' along with jumping, fighting, racing, shooting etc). Imagine that Outbreak movie from a few years back, turned into a road movie, with the action of Die Hard and you'd be about there.

Voss and Edwards manage to juggle multiple scenes of peril, splitting their main character from her partner, Paul, and son, Jack, and placing each one of them in their own adventure in parallel - all facing different dangers, all racing against the same clock.

It's a timely tale too, with ebook launch on 20th December, just one day before the Mayan prophecy advises we're all bound for oblivion, as the novel features a cult-like band who are set on a re-start of sorts to the world, believing they will be the only ones immune to the virus and who will do anything to stop anyone with the powers or knowledge to possibly prevent the spread or to find a cure.

With most of the UK currently experiencing symptoms of the annual winter virus at this very moment - it's also a novel that will have you taking note whenever someone near you on the tube sneezes - will give you that niggling doubt in your mind...

...but don't doubt for a moment that Voss and Edwards are clearly here to stay and, with such strong writing and stories, they have just unleashed a viral product for which I really hope there is no cure.

Dose yourself up - you won't regret it for a moment.

Keith ([...])
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate page-turner, 16 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: All Fall Down (Kindle Edition)
All Fall Down really is the ultimate page-turner. It kept me completely gripped, and desperate to know what was going to happen next. Lots of brilliant twists and turns as the story unravels.

The virology/science side was fascinating and added another element to the plot.

Edge-of-your-seat reading at its best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a clever sequel, 21 April 2013
By 
Liz Wilkins "Lizzy11268" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: All Fall Down (Kindle Edition)
In this, the sequel to "Catch Your Death" we once again return to the world of Kate Maddox and Paul Wilson. Unlike some sequels, it is not just a rehashing of the first plot, even though Kate finds herself facing a new and more deadly strain of the virus she faced previously...and the opening sequence is marvellous - read the first few pages and you won't put it down until you are done I almost guarantee it! The "sub plot" if you like concerning Paul is also very well told - he is bound and determined to find out everything there is to know about his brothers death. I won't give anymore away - to be fair, if you enjoyed the first book, then you will adore this one and don't need a twenty page plot synopsis to tell you so. If you havent yet met Kate Maddox then go on, off you go, pick up "Catch Your Death" - you will probably be onto "All Fall Down" before you know it. A timeslip of a book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING BOOK! AMAZING AUTHORS!, 19 April 2013
By 
Daniel A. Hamlet "dan" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: All Fall Down (Paperback)
this book is simply amazing! the writing style is epic! and will draw you in from the very first page, any true reader will simply love this book! STRONGLY RECOMMEND this book, and other books by these authors, as they are all fantastic, and they are truly gifted and unique writers.

Daniel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

All Fall Down
All Fall Down by Louise Voss
£5.45
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews