Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "No Mean City" it's not!
This is a welcome addition to the growing oeuvre of (often self-published) memoirs of childhood in Glasgow. This is well-written. It has a simple sentence structure which carries the narrative at a good pace. The writing is expressive, indeed, poetic in places, with appropriate use of Glasgow phrases. The author writes fondly of (well, most of!) the people of his...
Published on 27 Aug 2012 by Alasdair

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A book for Glaswegians
This is a book of nostalgia for those of us brought up in 1950's/60's Glasgow. However it is a bit too personalised. The author has dotted some sketches/jokes at the end of each chapter which I think appears to serve his own opinion that he is an accomplished cartoonist. I found them rather bland.
An interesting read only if you have a connection with Glasgow and in...
Published 18 months ago by Navigator_1969


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "No Mean City" it's not!, 27 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking doon the Gallowgate (Kindle Edition)
This is a welcome addition to the growing oeuvre of (often self-published) memoirs of childhood in Glasgow. This is well-written. It has a simple sentence structure which carries the narrative at a good pace. The writing is expressive, indeed, poetic in places, with appropriate use of Glasgow phrases. The author writes fondly of (well, most of!) the people of his childhood, but he does not hide their shortcomings and peccadilloes. Glasgow's east end suffers from a terrible reputation of drunkenness, violence and criminality, much deriving from the novel "No Mean City" and relentless media presentation of gang fights and sectarianism. These, indeed, happened in the east end, but this memoir tells of the great majority of working-class people living decent, law-abiding lives, striving for better lives for their children. It brings technicolor to a film that is usually shown in grainy grey. There are many places where quiet chortles give way to guffaws. Several chapters end with part of the preceding narrative presented in a 10/12 panel cartoon strip drawn by the author himself, and presenting himself as a pie-faced boy with a pudding-bowl haircut, in the style of his beloved Merry Mac's Fun Parade of the Sunday Post. This is a really good read that is insightful and poignant as well as humorous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glasgow in the 50's, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking doon the Gallowgate (Kindle Edition)
I grew up in Rutherglen a couple of miles away and the book was just so true, my "Party Piece" was A wee cock sparra as sung by Duncan McCrae.
I annoyed my wife by laughing out loud and reading her bits until she read it herself and growing up in Cranhill recognised a lot of it too.
The cartoons add to the overall joy of the book.
Pure Dead Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glasgow humour at its best, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking doon the Gallowgate (Kindle Edition)
Having grown up in the east end of Glasgow in the 50's I found David Moffat's memories of that time similar to my own. It is Glasgow humour at its best. I laughed from the beginning to the end of the book and I can honestly say no other book has had that effect.
I would definitely recommend this book particularly to anyone who grew up in Glasgow during the 50's but also to anyone who enjoys Glasgow humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gallowgate, 27 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking doon the Gallowgate (Kindle Edition)
i chose this book because i like reading stories about glasgow and it was also a good read enjoyed this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking doon the Gallowgate (Kindle Edition)
A good read, and an insight into Glasgow in the 1950's and most boys oft his era will idintify themselves with the author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars terrific book, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking doon the Gallowgate (Kindle Edition)
I think it was a great trip down memory lane and very funny in places ,it made me laugh out loud in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking doon the Gallowgate (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed this book very much as it is set when I was a child.I was brought up in the country and my husband in Glasgow on the sou side.I like hearing of what it was like to be in the tenements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking doon the Gallowgate (Kindle Edition)
enjoyed this well written book about all the old glasgow stories very witty and takes u back to the old days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars memories, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking doon the Gallowgate (Kindle Edition)
lived in cubie st couple years older than the chap who wrote the book spot on had a good chuckle thanks for the memories cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Paperback please, 6 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Walking doon the Gallowgate (Kindle Edition)
How I am enjoying this trip of nostalgia and humour. Lots of places to identify with, it is only a pity this is not available. (Or should I say I have not been able to find it) in paperback. My brother, who is some years older than I would simply love this. It really is a pity that so many of the people who would get a great kick out of this are deprived. If the author is by any chance still reading the reviews, Any chance ?
Tks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Walking doon the Gallowgate
£2.06
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews