Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Singles
Stone Sour have been obviously compared to Slipknot since their first album, and yes Corey still uses his beautiful growl/scream on this album, but the band sounds like a true hard rock band now, even Jim Root (guitarist) is able to pull of slow melodic solos. VERY different to the angry and wildness of the masked maniacs Slipknot. Straight from the get go Part 1 hits...
Published 8 months ago by Will. B

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Same goods with some gimmicks.
This album goes against itself in a way; the songs take on a more mainstream, repetitive, melodic structure yet try to be different by using a bunch of gimmicky samples and sounds. This may be a way of expressing some sort of myriad of subliminal messages but after a while it becomes boring and tacky. Ultimately, people usually buy an album for the music. So give us...
Published on 22 Nov 2012 by Dessum


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Singles, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House Of Gold & Bones Part 1 (Audio CD)
Stone Sour have been obviously compared to Slipknot since their first album, and yes Corey still uses his beautiful growl/scream on this album, but the band sounds like a true hard rock band now, even Jim Root (guitarist) is able to pull of slow melodic solos. VERY different to the angry and wildness of the masked maniacs Slipknot. Straight from the get go Part 1 hits hard with 'Gone Sovereign' and 'Absolute Zero' both heavy anthems that were the leading singles for the album. But the album doesn't keep this pace throughout, it is able to twist and turn through synth's and acoustic guitars to create a sound scape of pure beauty. In my opinion this album holds the true singles from the two part album like the giant sing-a-long 'Tired' and the mellow 'Taciturn', yet it still flows like am album and isn't carried by the first two tracks or the other singles. Plus when was the last time you got a story out of an album? *Applause*
Essential Tracks:
Gone Sovereign
Absolute Zero
Tired
Taciturn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The story, 2 Sep 2014
This review is from: House Of Gold & Bones Part 1 (Audio CD)
This album is proberbly the best Stone Sour Album to date. The badn have really come on from there last album which is also very good. But wrather than keep things the same as last time they have developed there sound more and created an album that they should trully be proud of.

The Album opens up with Gone Sovereign and seemlessly goes into Absolute zero, which are both really heavey and fast songs, but then it takes a more melodic turn. Which is not a bad thing, as this allows Corey Taylor to show more of his vocal talents.

All in all this is trulley stuning album which if you are fan Stone Sour you should own this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Way Better than Slipknot, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House Of Gold & Bones Part 1 (Audio CD)
Love this mans voice, these two albums are a great collection of tracks. Can't choose which one I prefer. Also had to buy part 1 and 2 at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Awesome!, 31 Aug 2014
This review is from: House Of Gold & Bones Part 1 (Audio CD)
Wonderful! Listened to Tired sent from a friend, hooked. Again! Love how Corey uses Stone Sour to demonstrate his amazing song writing ability and eclectic mix of songs types he can sing and they can play. The man is awesomely talented. Always the rock edge but no defined gender of music. Truly Awesome Album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Same goods with some gimmicks., 22 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House Of Gold & Bones Part 1 (Audio CD)
This album goes against itself in a way; the songs take on a more mainstream, repetitive, melodic structure yet try to be different by using a bunch of gimmicky samples and sounds. This may be a way of expressing some sort of myriad of subliminal messages but after a while it becomes boring and tacky. Ultimately, people usually buy an album for the music. So give us music, not garbled radio-EQ'd speech and pitch-bending strings to kill time. This is the most irritating aspect of the album.

The songs themselves are all rather similar to each other as well as to the songs on the album previous to this one, 'Audio Secrecy' e.g. 'Taciturn' to 'Zzyzx Rd.' and 'RU486' and/or `Last of the Real' to 'The Bitter End.' Personally, I don't really mind this too much as I take pleasure in the Stone Sour sound and feel, but it is something to note. The music itself is still enjoyable; there are no bad songs on the album but then again that's because they're all alike. Nonetheless, the sound is powerful with some great moments. The music has its pitfalls but it still shines.

According to Tim New Bound from rocksound.tv the album is "Based on Corey Taylor's fictional tale of a man faced with the choice of growing up or sheltering in the irresponsibility of youth." In an interview Taylor himself said that "the story is definitely influenced in a lot of ways... by my journey to figure out who I am," and he then goes on to talk about other influences and references, but having read Taylor's book I cannot help but feel that this album is almost entirely an expression of his childhood. This is neither a criticism nor a praise but an observation; often the lyrics merely portray an angsty teenager just shouting and generally being angry at people whilst wanting to "watch the whole world burn." However this is another observation and at times I am little annoyed by it but overall it is not something to mark the album down on.

The lyrics are a little tedious. Having listened to all if not most of Stone Sour's material the words and structure have a somewhat overly familiar ring to them. I hesitate to say they are predicable but it would be nice to have something a bit more fresh and original.

Overall, a must for any Stone Sour fan as the band have yet to steer a little more dangerously and evolve. Whilst the music has its irritations it's still enjoyable and meaningful, albeit of the same stuff. On a final note, although not necessarily the band's fault, there are several shameful engineering mistakes within the album. The mix is fantastic, but at this professional level of music production you don't expect to hear crackle and buzz from the guitars/amps, let alone hiss as well as any click track spill from ProTools (the latter most noticeable during the piano of The Travelers, Pt. 2). In fairness however, most people are not bothered by these things.

Update: Having listened to this album for a considerable while longer I have found that it has grown on me - in other words I have warmed towards the songs more. However, my view remains the same and although the album may become more appealing to the listener over time as familiarity grows I stand by my verdict of three out of five.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's Stone Sour - What more can I say?, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House Of Gold & Bones Part 1 (Audio CD)
Ca not expand more on this. Came quickly when I bought it many, many months ago and everything worked fine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back., 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For some reason I went off Stonesour after their first 2 albums. Listened to this on Amazon and Planet Rock and realised how much I was missing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stone Sour Album, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House Of Gold & Bones Part 1 (Audio CD)
I am more than satisfied with this item. It arrived in perfect condition, in the time stated and I would reccommend it to anyone :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HoGaB Pt1, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House Of Gold & Bones Part 1 (Audio CD)
Beasty album must have if you like stone sour, every song sounds great, and teh packaging is even better! BUY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great!, 13 Mar 2013
By 
R. Morgan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: House Of Gold & Bones Part 1 (Audio CD)
This is a great album - if you like Stone Sour's previous albums then you won't be disappointing! 5/5 rating!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

House Of Gold & Bones Part 1
House Of Gold & Bones Part 1 by Stone Sour (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews