Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Moving
This is one of the most moving books I have ever read. I cannot begin to imagine how much of a struggle and how heartbreaking it must be to have your beautiful child diagnosed with child-onset schizophrenia and having to cope with the hospitalizations, insurance companies, sometimes the isolation and ignorance from others and the day to day life that this family have had...
Published on 16 Sept. 2012 by TJDB

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars ... showcasing their stupidity before you buy the book and waste your money and you will realise that these two ...
Please watch them on Facebook showcasing their stupidity before you buy the book and waste your money and you will realise that these two are more interested in diagnosing their children and labelling them than being kind and loving parents. The mother is a total failure as a mother with a horrible laugh and constantly seeking justification for her uneducated and...
Published 3 months ago by BHS


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars ... showcasing their stupidity before you buy the book and waste your money and you will realise that these two ..., 30 Nov. 2014
This review is from: January First (Paperback)
Please watch them on Facebook showcasing their stupidity before you buy the book and waste your money and you will realise that these two are more interested in diagnosing their children and labelling them than being kind and loving parents. The mother is a total failure as a mother with a horrible laugh and constantly seeking justification for her uneducated and unfounded stupid beliefs. I feel sorry for these kids and cannot bear to imagine how horrible it must be to have these fame-hungry parents who are more interested in finding a reason to make themselves famous than providing a caring and clean (what a horrible and dirty condo!) environment for their kids. The little boy looks like he needs caring and calm parents who are there for him and engage him in meaningful activities and teach him by setting an example of good behaviour themselves instead of showcasing their lack of proper education with meaningless constant blubber...and please get the bloody dog out of there while all of you are screaming! Everyone would go mad in there, give the children a peaceful and calm home!!! I have always thought that Americans were one of the most positive nations on the planet and this family is everything but that. Negativity comes out of their mouth every second!!! Poor kids...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Moving, 16 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of the most moving books I have ever read. I cannot begin to imagine how much of a struggle and how heartbreaking it must be to have your beautiful child diagnosed with child-onset schizophrenia and having to cope with the hospitalizations, insurance companies, sometimes the isolation and ignorance from others and the day to day life that this family have had to go through, yet, they have adapted and coped very well and judging by the updates online, Jani and her family are now back living in the same apartment so that is wonderful progress indeed. I wish them the very best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A father's heart, 6 Jan. 2015
By 
Radiojock (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: January First: A Child's descent into madness and her father's struggle to save her (Kindle Edition)
I treasured reading this book. It tells of a terrible struggle two parents have in bringing up a disabled daughter.

Although her illness is devastating; her dad shows a courage I've yet to see in anyone else.

Don't expect this to be a quick read. It's devastatingly honest, and full of emotion - even to the point where Michael takes an overdose. He is almost wiped out with despair at one point in the story. However, he manages to pull through. The huge decision to live in two separate apartments is further testimony as to how far these parents are prepared to go to try to manage an impossible situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Michael First, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: January First (Paperback)
The main thing to note about this book is that it's not January's story, it's Michael's. Michael's love for Janni is unconditional, and he is a fantastic father, but at times I feel this takes over the story too much. I feel for the mother, who Michael has written in such a way that I can't even see how they are still together after she's read it. He seems very controlling, right down to the way he tells his story.

I did actually really enjoy the book, in its extremely disturbing way. It reminds me a little of 'We Need to Talk About Kevin' at times, but the fact it is real life really is amazing. The pace is right, it's well written and wasy to read. I so wanted to give it more stars, because I know it's just Michael's love for Janni that makes his story the way it is, but it just frustrated me in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So touching could not put down!!, 16 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: January First: A Child's descent into madness and her father's struggle to save her (Kindle Edition)
An amazingly touching read! I could not put this book down, interesting to learn what her parents have to go through and how they deal with Jani's illness and it amazing to see how someone so young like Jani has to deal with such a big illness, I really take my hat off to this family their story is truly amazing and shows the amount of love for their children despite problems. Strongly recommend!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 20 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: January First: A Child's descent into madness and her father's struggle to save her (Kindle Edition)
This book is a heart wrenching account that is beautifully written, thought provoking and devastating.

The author and his family go through so much and I found myself in tears while reading many of the desperate moments this family has gone through. I read this book in one day as I could not (cliche as it sounds) put it down. Definitely read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put it down, 1 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: January First: A Child's descent into madness and her father's struggle to save her (Kindle Edition)
I read an article in the paper about this family and had to buy the book. Whilst there is despair about the situation, it is the love that Michael and his wife have for their daughter, son and ultimately each other that shines through. He may not be perfect but he tries to give an honest account of what is happening and how he is feeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Food for thought, 12 July 2014
By 
H. Cates "Helcat8173" (Shoreham-by-Sea, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: January First: A Child's descent into madness and her father's struggle to save her (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyable book, have great appreciation of how difficult life must be for these parents, and how far they have come with providing their daughter with a good, safe life. Very inspirational. An easy, well written read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really moving, 8 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a really moving and frank story about a dad who battles to try and save his young daughter who is suffering from schizophrenia. Really gut wrenching and inspirational anf i admire the honesty with which her father writes. A must have read for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Truthful, worthwhile read., 2 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: January First: A Child's descent into madness and her father's struggle to save her (Kindle Edition)
A really interesting read for those wanting to know more about child onset schizophrenia. A very honest and emotive story highlighting the difficulties faced getting help with children with mental health issues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews