Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid. But this is Down! Who wants solid?
Enough reviews have already explained the set up for this release - Down have decided to complete four EPs instead of an album. This is the first instalment and it offers little in surprises. It's heavy US metal informed by Sabbath and the NOLA-stylings of the musician's other bands and of Down's history. It's a good release but it doesn't deserve too much hype or praise...
Published on 2 Oct. 2012 by C. S. Caps

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Desperately underwhelming.
Bought it due to being incredibly impressed with 'Witchtripper'... the rest of the EP is wholly disappointing. This coming from a huge fan of the previous three albums.
Published 15 months ago by Sashie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid. But this is Down! Who wants solid?, 2 Oct. 2012
By 
C. S. Caps (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Down Iv Part I - The Purple Ep (Audio CD)
Enough reviews have already explained the set up for this release - Down have decided to complete four EPs instead of an album. This is the first instalment and it offers little in surprises. It's heavy US metal informed by Sabbath and the NOLA-stylings of the musician's other bands and of Down's history. It's a good release but it doesn't deserve too much hype or praise. Once again, I am offering an alternative view amidst the praise. Let me explain...

Album number III was a bit of a drop in quality. When I saw Down (I think, at High Voltage) he introduced Over the Under as 'the album no one likes'. I stated my reasons for believing it was a drop in my review on here so have a look if you want the full story. It doesn't matter, it is generally admitted that Down's last album, as solid as it was, was not as good as their previous work. (In fact, the only album that is considered an indisputable classic is the first (some consider the second album bloated, too long - I'm not so sure myself, though I understand the view)). Anyway, Down had regrouped after the third album and organised their writings into four EPs.

This first was apparently meant to see Down returning to their first album. There had been the mentioning of Sabbath in interviews, along with Witchfinder General and Trouble. Good references, promising stuff. Then you have the fact that Phil had been hanging around with Witchcraft on tour (as seen on the Down DVD) and referencing to classic sounds. Then the footage came out of Down jamming Breaking the Law on stage. In my head, I have this NWOBHM/Doom infusion mixing with Down's own style. Down producing a slow behemoth of an EP. It's not. It's Down being typically Down. No more, no less.

Which is fine. But who wants fine? This is the band whose first album was talked about as a cult classic. This was the definition of a super-group. They shouldn't be playing good metal it should be (excuse the campness) super. Levitation starts with a good build up but then plods into a strong if unremarkable riff; Phil sings in a slightly restrained style. The song works through and finishes. There's no major build up. No real crescendo and no killer riff. In fact, the styling is fairly consistent feature of the release. Witchtripper is catchy enough but the riff, again, is simply fine. Open Coffins is okay but the outro doesn't really go anywhere - it almost feels unfinished. The Curse is a Lie is better starting with a heavier style in the guitar, possibly warranting the St Vitus name-drop that also occurred in interviews. The Curse is a Lie is a genuinely good song but still can't compete with the best of the first album. The other great song on this EP is the closer Misfortune Teller which comes in with the sort of riff you'd hope for on a Down release.

I am not trying to say this EP is poor. Perhaps I should have measured my expectations more. However, if the band are going to invoke imaginings of pure doom and metal then I am allowed to be a tad underwhelmed with what is, ultimately, 'just another release'.

To be honest, I preferred the Corrosion of Conformity release this year by a notable degree. Far more (notable) riffs than here and nicely varied. I can't shake the feeling that by the end of the releases we will probably have two hours of Down music that will be hit by half moments that are unremarkable and half moments that are excellent. Maybe they should have collected their work into one one-hour classic, like NOLA was. I hope the future releases are good enough to have my doubts truly blown out the water. Time will tell...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Down - Down IV Part 1 - The Purple EP, 27 Sept. 2012
By 
Kingcrimsonprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Down Iv Part I - The Purple Ep (Audio CD)
Down IV Part I - The Purple EP is a six track, 33.18 minute release by the American Doom/Sludge/Stoner Rock supergroup Down from September 2012. It is the first in a series of EPs that collectively form a complete body of work known as Down IV but which each stand up as individual releases and which are all sequenced to show one particular element of the band's overall sound.

If you are unfamiliar; Down's line-up features Pantera's Phil Anselmo on vocals, Corrosion Of Conformity's Pepper Keenan on guitar, Eyehategod's Jimmy Bower on the drums (who has also played with Pepper and Phil in C.O.C and Superjoint Ritual respectively), Crowbar's Kirk Windstein on guitar and now Crowbar's Pat Brudders on bass, replacing Pantera's Rex Brown who in turn had previously replaced Crowbar's Todd Strange.

Generally, if you like any of the individual bands from which the band members previously come then there is a good (though not 100% guaranteed) chance that Down will suit your tastes, and they are definitely a band worth listening to for any fans on the Doomy, Stonery end of the Metal spectrum.

Stylistically, The Purple EP concentrates on the heavier, doomier and most Sabbath-influenced aspects of the band's sound, ignoring the softer acoustic moments or bluesier leanings that intermittently appeared throughout their previous three studio albums. This is both the EP's greatest strength and weakness, as it delivers one complete set of matching tracks in a cohesive and uninterrupted whole, but could equally be accused of being samey or lacking variety if you weren't feeling particularly generous. There is nothing as fun as `Stained Glass Cross' or as evocative as `Jail' for example, but that shouldn't really be a problem when everything that is there is great in its own obvious way.

Choosing highlights from a half-hour EP of similarly themed material is difficult although I would say that it was probably a good idea for the band to market the album using both `Witchtripper' and `Misfortune Teller' as they are definitely the most catchy and instant tracks on the EP. This is not to say however that the rest of the release is anything less than what a fan could want from Down in terms of quality. Every member puts in a good performance, the production job is charmingly raw and the whole thing just feels like pure-Down.

Overall; as long as you already like Down, and aren't necessarily looking for a myriad of different styles and approaches then Down IV Part 1 - The Purple EP is everything you could ask for and you should probably check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Desperately underwhelming., 26 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down Iv Part I - The Purple Ep (Audio CD)
Bought it due to being incredibly impressed with 'Witchtripper'... the rest of the EP is wholly disappointing. This coming from a huge fan of the previous three albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff indeed., 12 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good going from 'Down', I am impatiently waiting for the other EP's they have done/are doing. Highlight for me is Witchtripper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars kicka*#s, 29 Oct. 2012
All I need to say is....Down, baby. It's awesome as usual and if you are a fan, or not yet, hurry on up and get this.....southern metal or stoner or whatever you wanna call it. Down is Down and will always rule.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bring on Pt II!, 19 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down Iv Part I - The Purple Ep (Audio CD)
This is the first of four EPs, with the three remaining discs due over the next year or so. As usual Down worship heavily at the altar of Sabbath by way of Louisiana, and an atmosphere of humid, swampiness pervades. If you have previous releases you know what to expect, no reinventing the wheel here, just six great bottom heavy, swaggering, bluesy doomy tunes. The drums sound especially great on this release, and I love the fact that it sounds like five guys rocking out in the room, rather than overproduced Pro Tools trickery. If you are new to Down get NOLA first, but if you are already onboard you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is Down!, 5 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down Iv Part I - The Purple Ep (Audio CD)
Misty,heavy,southern-american,old-fashioned,with attitude and in your face.
It is not like their previous masterpieces but it still gives energy,power,passion and that incredible
feeling of the earth moving when listening to it!
Black sabbath is present in all songs...
Great chemistry among band members.
''Misfortune teller'' among the best songs of 2012.
Digipack,lyrics,all fine.
Thank you guys,once again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars down, 27 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down Iv Part I - The Purple Ep (Audio CD)
i like it alot just wish it had been longer, if it had i would of gave it 4 star
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Down EP, 17 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down Iv Part I - The Purple Ep (Audio CD)
I do very much like this EP. It's not as good as the other albums, they've gone back to their raw NOLA sound which is good but I just much prefer Over the Under and wish they'd gone more in that direction. I hope their next EPs will be as good, hoping for some clean songs with awesome singing like Landing on the mountains of meggido.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best from Down, but it's good., 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Down Iv Part I - The Purple Ep (Audio CD)
I don't really have much to say from the EP, other than it's different in some ways from the earlier Down works, but it doesn't do anything really surprising. It's good. It doesn't compare to their incredible debut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Down Iv Part I - The Purple Ep
Down Iv Part I - The Purple Ep by Down (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews