Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply....superb!
I would agree wholeheartedly with another reviewer that so many martial arts books promote the person rather than the actual art itself.
This seeks to redress that balance...and my oh my what a SUPERB book. If you are a wing chun practitioner you have to have this. The checklists are worth the money alone, the diagrams are easy to follow and instead of photos you...
Published on 23 Nov. 2003

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A difficult read, but good reference material
I bought this book as a reference for my own Wing Chun, and as a reference guide I find it pretty good; particularly the bullet points with regard to each movement. However, with a book titled 'Simply Wing Chun' I was hoping for a more understandable read. Instead, it seems the author spends a lot of time trying to prove to you the effectiveness of the art, and throws...
Published on 26 Jan. 2013 by A. C. Stedman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply....superb!, 23 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
I would agree wholeheartedly with another reviewer that so many martial arts books promote the person rather than the actual art itself.
This seeks to redress that balance...and my oh my what a SUPERB book. If you are a wing chun practitioner you have to have this. The checklists are worth the money alone, the diagrams are easy to follow and instead of photos you actually get TEXT explaining so many of the concepts and why it works.
Sifu Rawcliffe is clearly an expert....and I would say an expert author now as well, fantastic stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ving Tsun Kuen, 13 Nov. 2003
By 
Leo Wong (Hong Kong (SAR)) - See all my reviews
I have been studying Ving Tsun (Wing Chun) in Hong Kong for over 30 years and this is the first book in English that has managed to explain the essence of Ving Tsun. My Si-Fu, even my Si-Kung, Ip Man, would have been proud that Ving Tsun is being taught and explained so well around the world. This book embodies the teachings of my Si-Fu and his Ving Tsun To Dai (Kung Fu Brothers), probably due to Rawcliffe Sifu's studies in Hong Kong and incompasses the simple complexity that is Ving Tsun Kuen.
Understanding the structure to Ving Tsun is key to understanding how Ving Tsun works so effectively and efficiently and a book like this was long over due.
Including the Ving Tsun Kuen Kuit elevates the book even further by embracing the philosophy of all that is Ving Tsun.
Leo T K Wong. Hong Kong 2003.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Breath of fresh air!!, 14 Nov. 2003
By A Customer
The book contains no pictures to 'sell' Sifu Rawcliffe but is full of diagrams to help explain the text, which is in-depth and his knowledge is obviously overflowing and extremly deep. The book gives check lists for each position and why things work. It is a book for the novice as well as the seasoned practitioner, it's a good read and will help further your understanding of Wing Chun. The book itself seems to promote Wing Chun without promoting Sifu Rawcliffe which is a breath of fresh air.A great book which will not teach you Wing Chun as no book can take the place of a real Sifu but it will help your knowledge grow, I recommend this book to anyone interested in the MA and all Wing Chun practitioners, top notch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Wing Chun, Simply Brilliant, 9 Nov. 2003
By 
Owen Richards (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a student at the Siu Num Tao level of Wing Chun I am by no means a veteran of the system, however, to me this book seems very in depth and answers lots of questions. I was intrigued by the explanations (from doctors and surgeons) of positions, chi and how the brain works during wing chun practise and development. The diagrams are clear and simple, they do the job well. The book provides a checklist for each position in each form and explains it in detail, this will be great for learners of that form as it means they can refer to it when not in class. Wing Chun cant be learnt from a book alone. There are quotes and maxims, some from Sifu Rawcliffe himself, placed at relevant points throughout which really help make the points stick in the mind. If you have many other wing chun books, this is probably the book you've been waiting for. It deserves five starts because it is a definitive source of knowledge from a very skilled and interesting sifu.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Fantastic- a No Nonsense Approach, 1 July 2004
By 
Simply Wing Chun is a truely excellent book that adhears to Wing Chun's principles of simplicity and directness. The diagrams are all clear and the text is well written. As usual, you need to be a Wing Chun student in order to 'learn' anything from this book but if you are one, this book will greatly improve your understanding no matter what your level.
All the main principles of the forms and the system are explained really well with clear, easy to follow diagrams. Each topic is well summarised at the end of the discussion / chapter to highlight the main concepts.
I use this book for a reference when I travel and sometimes at home but usually I use the set of Randy Williams books I was lucky enough to get hold of.
This really is a fantastic book that no Wing Chun student or Sifu should be without.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative and accurate., 31 Mar. 2006
I only just started on this book yesterday, but I am already thoroughly impressed. Master Ip Chun is after all the son of Master Yip Man who also taught Bruce Lee this style of Kung Fu. Aside from the very interesting history and some very technical drawings and explanations on the first three forms of Wing Chun, there is also a glossary in the back that gives the Chinese names of 114 movements found in the first two forms. You will even find the Wing Chun Code Of Conduct in these pages. All and all, a very well put together book.
If you are looking for uncorrupted information on Wing Chun in a pure form, I don't think it can get much better than the books written by Master Ip Chun himself. This one included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book by a brilliant teacher, 17 Jan. 2012
This is a brilliant book that goes into great detail about how the Wing Chun techniques work, as well as most of the footwork used, and uniquely gives scientific insight into elements of wing chun. Which culminate into a great supplement for wing chun classes; Where you can then learn how to apply wing chun in different situations.

About the author (form what i know). Shaun Rawcliffe has learned wing chun as it was intended by Ip Man, leaning from his Sifu Ip Chun. Has encountered and learned from lots of sifus (seemingly all of them). Has applied wing chun in real situations; With some 20 years working in close protection (bodyguard). Also has given lessons/advice to Special Forces. From first hand experiences I have found him to be very honest and open, and utterly passionate about wing chun. Able to answer any questions, from how to fight on the ground, against knives, mma and wing chun, and able to logically explain how wing chun is effectively used to protect your self and prevent people attacking those you care about: on the streets where there are no rules, but just the law.

I also recommend you go on you tube and type shaun rawcliffe Luton, where he gives a great seminar on several aspects of wing chun.

This book is one of three he will/has publish. Not all the aspect of wing chun are written in one book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of wisdom and in-depth detailed knowledge. A must-have for Wing Chun practitioners at all levels., 18 Jun. 2010
By 
Andy Lee (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A great 1st Wing Chun book to have in your collection. Complements classes/training very well as it will help you to understand the mechanics and rationale behind the positions and techniques shown to you in class. As well as being a great technical book, it also appreciates the background of Wing Chun and explains the philosophies and wisdom (Wing Chun Kuen Kuit) behind the art. A very well-rounded book overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wing Chun clearly explained, 13 Nov. 2003
At last a book on Wing Chun rather than a book about the person behind the book. Sifu Shaun Rawcliffe has managed to do what so many others have failed to do, write a clear and concise book about the system of Wing Chun. So many other books seem to be promotional literature about the authors who happen to do Wing Chun.
I found this book went in to great depth about the basics of the Wing Chun system and therefore will remain a great source of reference for students at all levels.
It thankfully avoids the usual " this is how I do it" approach and refreshingly addresses the "this is what is behind whoever does it" approach.
Excellent, I shall be recommending this to all my students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, detailed, knowledgable and truly helpful, 7 Jan. 2004
By 
From a beginner's point of view, Simply Wing Chun really does help your comprehension of what you practice in the style. It goes from being a case of repeating a movement, to learning to understand how and why something works. This is where the book really helps.
As we often don't quite understand a concept things are accepted on blind faith, but potentially there's scepticism or at least difficulty in accepting. You're told that the techniques you learn in Wing Chun are effective when correctly formed, but you may not be sure why and find it harder to get right.
Simply Wing Chun attempts very well to provide you with in-depth explaination on how a technique works. You really do find yourself practicing with more confidence, as you are able to gauge what you're supposed to be doing against a better understanding.
The author Sifu Shaun Rawcliffe has a strong reputation and he's written a book that this Wing Chun student certainly thinks reflects this. It really helps to boost your knowledge and understanding as you train under your sifu, and serves as a great reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SIMPLY WING CHUN KUNG FU
SIMPLY WING CHUN KUNG FU by Sifu Shaun Rawcliffe
£8.03
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews