Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOT A "GLEE" FULL MOVIE !!!
Clearly aimed at the "Gleeks" (fans of TVs Glee), this uplifting & entertaining musical, comedy, romantic drama really hits the spot.
Now I have to admit .... I am a bit of a Glee fan, but having said that, this movie is "soooooo" entertaining I'm sure even non-Glee fans will enjoy it !

I WATCHED IT 4 TIMES AT THE CINEMA ..... & ENJOYED IT...
Published 15 months ago by Travmeister

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Little Too Pitchy to be Perfect
Somehow, I missed what Pitch Perfect was even about until a friend learned I loved a Capella music and told me about it. Ever since then, it’s been on my to be watched list, which means I had to set my DVR when I saw it on TV. I think I paid about the right price. It grew on me, but it wasn’t as great as I had hoped.

Beca (Anna Kendrick) is a...
Published 9 days ago by Mark Baker - Carstairs Considers


‹ Previous | 1 258 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOT A "GLEE" FULL MOVIE !!!, 29 Mar. 2014
By 
Travmeister (Carlton, Nottingham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Clearly aimed at the "Gleeks" (fans of TVs Glee), this uplifting & entertaining musical, comedy, romantic drama really hits the spot.
Now I have to admit .... I am a bit of a Glee fan, but having said that, this movie is "soooooo" entertaining I'm sure even non-Glee fans will enjoy it !

I WATCHED IT 4 TIMES AT THE CINEMA ..... & ENJOYED IT JUST AS MUCH ON EVERY VIEWING !!!
(a very rare & difficult thing for a film to achieve !)

Great cast (including Rebel Wilson as the hilarious "Fat Amy!"), fresh script, inspired direction & really excellent music set pieces ..... All resulting in a thoroughly entertaining movie !

RICHIES RATING = 84%
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC FILM !!!!!!, 28 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pitch Perfect [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
This film is just BRILLIANT. Loved it from the second it started in the cinema to the second it finished. One of few films I could have stayed at the cinema to see a second time in succession! Good acting, great storyline and the music / singing is just fantastic. Love Anna Kendrick in it, she acts the part really well. Singing is truly amazing, loved it so much I bought the soundtrack. Oh and Fat Amy ha ha ha ha ha ha worth watching it just for her. Funny girl !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We love this film!!, 30 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pitch Perfect [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
We love this film, gets you singing, gets you laughing and gets your feet tapping! Really good film!! Can't find anything bad to say about this film!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'ENJOYABLE FEEL-GOOD MOVIE WITH SOME GREAT INDIVIDUAL VOCAL PERFORMANCES ALONG THE WAY', 19 April 2013
By 
rbmusicman/and/movie-fan' (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
'Beca' joins the college at which her father teaches.
despite the best efforts of the 'Bellas' group leaders,
'Beca' doesn't seem interested at first, her music interests
being in a different field.
the group are rehearsing to try and reach the '2012' acapella
contest, a competition the 'Treblemakers' from the same college
as the 'Bellas' had won the year before.
the leader of the group is reluctant to create a new image using
the style and songs that had failed 'Bellas' before.
to move forward and have any chance the group leader will need
to listen to 'Beca' and the other new recruits.
must admit because of it's teen theme I did struggle through much
of the early part of the film, however as the contest got nearer
the music got better as did the story line.
stick with it and you'll maybe have...the feel good factor.
(Those that enjoyed this one have 'Pitch Perfect 2' to look forward too.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aca-awesome, 9 Dec. 2012
This review is from: Pitch Perfect [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
I love a good musical film and TV shows like Glee so when I saw the trailer for Pitch Perfect at the cinema, I knew it was something that I had to go see. The trailer was funny and only showed clips of songs sung so it didn't really give too much away. The plot is pretty basic and quite predictable but that's normally what you get with this kind of film anyway. In a made up university, different a cappella groups battle it out for places in the national championships and to prove which group is the best in the university.

Anna Kendrick has begun to do quite well for herself since having a small part in the Twilight films. I really liked her in What to Expect When You're Expecting and because of that, it made me want to watch this film even more. Kendrick plays main character Beca, who can be described as alternative compared to the other girls at this particular university. She has a strong interest in making her own mixes of music and generally walks around with a big pair of headphones on. Beca is a witty and outspoken character which I liked about her. She isn't afraid to state her mind when she thinks she can make something better or thinks that something is wrong. Kendrick was really good in this role and played in perfectly.

Being a film about musical groups, there is quite a large cast. From The Bellas, next to Kendrick, Brittany Snow and Rebel Wilson shine in particular. Snow plays one of the leaders of the group and is one of the nicer girls while Wilson plays Fat Amy, a larger Australian girl. I loved the character of Fat Amy so much because she was just hilarious. She has some amazingly funny lines throughout the whole film. Actually, she was probably my favourite character in the whole film and now I want to see more of what she has been in. Unfortunately, the male characters/ cast in the film were nowhere near as good as the girls and even love interest Jesse played by Skylar Astin was a let-down.

Pitch Perfect has a pretty strange soundtrack. Along with some really current songs such as Just The Way You Are by Bruno Mars and Right Round by Flo Rida, there are also songs such as The Sign by Ace of Base and Eternal Flame by The Bangles. However, the mix of songs was something that I found to be really interesting and something that set this film apart from other musicals. The mix of songs is done in such a way though that they go really well together and there are certain reasons for some of the songs. The soundtrack to this film is fantastic and one I would actually like to own.

Overall, as cheesy and predictable as this film is, I loved it. The cast and characters are what made this film so good and along with a funny script and great songs, it was an instant hit for me. This will definitely be getting a place in my DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure pop brilliance, pitch perfect IS perfection, I lol'd, I was moved, I LOVED it, OMG it was truly AWESOME, 14 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a yes from me. Okay so there was no blood, no gore, no carnage candy, no torture porn etc. but there was soul, there was spirit, there was emotion, there was feeling, there were laughs that I laughed at, I really gave a fudge about the whole darn thing. From Anna Camp (The Good Wife) to Skylar Astin (21 and over) and a formerly blonde, here red head, Brittany Snow (Prom Night) and a wonderful Anna Kendrick. And Elizabeth Banks a joy as ever. There is NO bad here. There was a vomit, or two, scene but it was necessary to the plot. I believe in the protagonists plight and I felt for them. Now that's great film making. And I'm not usually a musical person but this was above and beyond anything that came before, or after, it. I cannot think of a single thing that I would change. Songs selection was genius. The vocals were spectacular. All in all, one of my all-time favourite movies. I'm so happy I bought this blu ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a good film!, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Also glad to hear a second film is coming in a year or two. I don't usually like movies that just seem to act like Glee, but characters such as Fat Amy which is what she is called on film so not being offensive, but yeah she just made it a right laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HELP MY DAD IS OBSESSED., 13 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pitch Perfect [DVD] [2012] (DVD)
Okay, so i bought this movie for girls night with a few friends (sleepover). Since we all watched it we have not stopped. We have bought the songs from the movie watched it a thousand and 1 times. I now find my dad watches it a lot too, if its on TV he's watching it. He put it on his ipad so he can watch it wherever, he watches the songs on his computer through Youtube. He watches it all the time. I had no idea i had unleashed an obsession. He is obsessed with it. He sings along and everything. It's madness. He also found out that theres another one to come out... HELP!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ac-amazing !, 13 Jan. 2014
By 
mummy spoon (South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This film draws you in straight away with some gorgeous singing from the male A cappella group on campus at Barden University where the film is set, we are then quickly introduced to the main character Beca played by Anna Kendrick who is not happy to be there, she's a little alternative and doesn't think college life has anything to offer her, she wants to go to LA to get into music production.
Beca's dad who teaches at Barden makes a deal with his daughter when she doesn't embrace what's on offer, he says she can go to LA after one year if she still hates it but only if she joins one extra curricular activity.
After some persuasion from one of the leaders of the female A Cappella team, The Barden Bellas, Beca decides to go to the auditions and she's really good, it's there that we also meet the rest of the main cast.
There are some great supporting characters in this film, Beca's love interest Jesse played by Skylar Astin who wants to score movies and joins the boys rival A Cappella group 'The treble makers' and Beca's team mates on 'The Barden Bellas',Fat Amy played by Rebel Wilson in particular, she has most of the funny lines.I should also mention Elizabeth Banks and John Michael Higgins who play the commentators at the competitions, though they are small parts, they stood out to me as some of the best parts of Pitch perfect, these were the parts which had my sister and I laughing out loud.
There is so much to enjoy in this film, The singing is fantastic, the script is witty and quick and the characters were diverse and interesting, I particularly liked some of the funny lines playing on musical words, I won't spoil those though.
Overall Pitch perfect is a great film, yes it's a bit predictable but it's not cheesy,I love Glee which this is obviously going to be compared to but this is slicker, it's all pretty cool and the singing is truly stunning, I can't wait for the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazalicious, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Literally loved this film. I would definitely recommend it to everyone. Great copy too. Buy it guys!! By Bernadette O'Shea
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 258 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pitch Perfect [DVD] [2012]
Pitch Perfect [DVD] [2012] by Jason Moore (DVD - 2013)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews