Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A tale of pigs and birds, eternally told
So, Angry Birds, then. Is there anyone who hasn't played this in one form or another? To ensure that even those without a smartphone can get their hands on the feathered antics of Rovio's creation, Activision have released the game on consoles.

For those who have been living in ignorance of the hit game, Angry Birds involves launching birds from catapults to...
Published 22 months ago by Paul B

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sure they're great games, but probably too expensive for the average consumer,
There's a reason why "Angry Birds" is the most popular mobile game app in the world - the gameplay is simple, streamlined, fun, and is perfectly suited for short bursts of gaming while doing other things in life - such as waiting at a doctor's office, getting your oil changed, etc. And best yet, each game is only $.99 cents.

One of the benefits of publishing...
Published 21 months ago by Mike London


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A tale of pigs and birds, eternally told, 22 Oct 2012
By 
Paul B "-pb-" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Angry Birds Trilogy (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
So, Angry Birds, then. Is there anyone who hasn't played this in one form or another? To ensure that even those without a smartphone can get their hands on the feathered antics of Rovio's creation, Activision have released the game on consoles.

For those who have been living in ignorance of the hit game, Angry Birds involves launching birds from catapults to hit pigs. These pigs (who have stolen the bird's eggs) are perched on various structures made of glass, brick and wood, all of which have different effects when hit by the birds.

Birds come in various shapes and sizes and the game gives you a quick tutorial every time you meet a new one, from the standard red bird to the blue bird that splits in three and the black bomb bird. They're all part of the overall puzzle with an aim to destroy every pig on the level.

Even though this collects the 3 original Angry Birds games; Angry Birds, Angry Birds Seasons and Angry Birds Rio (not Space, though I'm expecting to see that as DLC content), you could theoretically whizz through these in a few hours. That's not really the point of the game, though. Each level offers three stars, awarded based on your score. Usually, the third star is only available by finding the best way to kill all the pigs in a level with as few birds as possible, while doing the most damage possible. Every item destroyed will add to your score, as well every bird left on completion of a level. Those willing to try for 3 stars on each level will get the most out of the game (plus, of course, earning those all-important Achievements).

Many potential buyers will probably ask whether this is worth buying, considering that the games are under 1 and sometimes even free on smartphone, but the graphics are greatly improved and the control system is surprisingly solid, arguably better than on a touchscreen. Whether this is enough to be worth purchasing at the standard console game price is up to you, but Angry Birds Trilogy on console is every bit as entertaining and addictive as it ever was on Smartphone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Angry birds, 30 Sep 2012
By 
Lambchop (Crawley,West sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Angry Birds Trilogy (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Its angry birds...everybody already knows this is a great puzzle game.But there is the problem of each of these games being 69p on ipods.Personnaly my eyesight isnt that great so am now able to play these without glasses so thats a plus.There are 19 exclusive levels on this version plus numerous achievements.Great game but overpriced.Kinect not necessary to play this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hours of chalenge and good times with my wife, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angry Birds Trilogy (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I choose it to have a simple and enjoyable game that my wife and I could play whenever we want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good game, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angry Birds Trilogy (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Brought this game for my son at Xmas he really enjoys it,says its good playing via Xbox connect and also good playing with the controller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must have for Angry birds lovers, 9 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angry Birds Trilogy (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Great old time angry birds games....Though it is hardt to play with the kinect, better to use the remote control.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sure they're great games, but probably too expensive for the average consumer,, 1 Dec 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Angry Birds Trilogy (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
There's a reason why "Angry Birds" is the most popular mobile game app in the world - the gameplay is simple, streamlined, fun, and is perfectly suited for short bursts of gaming while doing other things in life - such as waiting at a doctor's office, getting your oil changed, etc. And best yet, each game is only $.99 cents.

One of the benefits of publishing for a console vs mobile apps is the price point - you get to charge more for your product. It makes sense that Rovio wants to bring their "Angry Birds" franchise to the console. "Angry Birds" is probably one of the few franchises popular and well-known enough to merit a console publication, and you can make a lot more money.

But here's the problem. The price point has drastically so been altered and the differences for the increased price is negligible. The first three games are present and accounted for but at a much higher price. For the 3DS version, we go from $.99 cents a game to about $10 dollars a game. Likewise, Rovio is charging over $13 dollars per game on the XBOX 360 and Playstation 3. If a console game went up that much, instead of paying $59.95 for "New Super Mario Bros. U", you would be paying $600

Rovio has decided to publish the first three "Angry Birds" games, "Angry Birds", "Angry Birds Seasons", and "Angry Birds Rio", on the XBOX 360, Playstation 3, and Nintendo 3DS. The two home consoles has an MSRP of $39.95 and the $3DS 29.95. But is "Angry Birds Trilogy" really worth purchasing when the same games are available for so much cheaper?

Really depends, but for most consumers, the answer is no. Now, there will be fans out there of the games that this will be an automatic purchase regardless. For those undecided, here is what the console versions of "Angry Birds Trilogy" offers, as well as cons.

PROS:
-HD GRAPHICS
-Exclusive new level per episode
-Achievements and Trophies
-New Cutscenes
-3D gameplay (for 3DS version ONLY)
-XBOX 360 version supports Kinect, Playstation 3 supports Playstation Move.

CONS:
-Ludicrous price point compared to mobile version
-Obviously PS3 and XBOX 360 lacks touch screen capabilities. As touchscreen gameplay is a cornerstone of "Angry Birds", there is a brief adjustment period but ultimately is not that much of an issue. 3DS does feature touchscreen gameplay
-Unable to use the game on multiple devices for the same purchasing dollar
-Angry Birds are available for TV play on streaming devices for much cheaper

The HD graphics look great, and as far as gameplay the console experience of "Angry Birds" is just as addictive as the mobile apps.. The controls are tight. Of the three different versions I would recommend the 3DS version due to the 3D graphics and the lower price

Another added benefit (for me, anyway) of the console versions how the Angry Birds games play into the dynamic of the contrasting nature [of] between console vs mobile apps. Mobile apps are often used for short bursts of gaming for time killers. Often times console gameplay is often a more prolonged experience. Playing "Angry Birds" for extended periods of times (something more likely to happen on the consoles), demonstrates just how good these games really are and how they hold up even for hours at a time. Few mobile games can say that.

As far as the "exclusive new levels", for me that's not much of a draw. First off, the mobile versions have TONS of content with hours and hours and hours of avian-throwing. All three titles have a large number of levels, which will take you a good deal of time to get through, especially when trying to get three stars per each level. Rovio has added lots of new content to all three titles since initial release. "Seasons" which originally started out as a Halloween themed game now has (at the time of this writing) "Seasons 2011" and "Seasons 2012". When I purchased seasons, only "2011" existed. Now I am getting both as Rovio has updated the game. There can be no updates to these console versions unless they are downloaded, possible for a price.

Another factor to consider is how mobile app purchases work, at least on Apple devices (personally I am not familiar with other mobile carriers). I have purchased all three games, including the fourth ("Angry Birds Space", not included on this package). These purchases are linked to my iTunes account, meaning I can download the game to multiple devices because the purchase is account based, not device based. Obviously this is not a possibility on the home console versions or 3DS version.

And for those who want a larger screen, you can just as easily download "Angry Birds" to a tablet or iPad. For my money, I'd much rather spend three dollars and play these games on tablets than a 3DS or console anyway.

So there you have it. Mobile games and console games are drastically different, and I understand why Rovio wants to monetize their most successful franchise in this manner. It's simply the nature of the market that mobile games are so much cheaper than console titles. Honestly, given how much content already existed within these games to begin with, there's not a lot more Rovio could really do to justify the radically different price points between the two main competing versions of "Angry Birds". Of all the mobile games, "Angry Birds" is easily the most renowned, so they are in the best position to tap into the console market. Consumers may bite the bullet and get the titles in this form simply because "Angry Birds" is so widely popular - but for most other mobile app developers, console publication will not be an option (though obviously downloads, such as Nintendo's Wiiware, is possible)..

Ultimately, only you can decide if you want to spend the money on "Angry Birds Trilogy". My recommendation is buy the mobile app versions if you haven't already and if you really enjoy the games, consider purchasing the console versions. Graphically the updated games are gorgeous. If you are more of a casual fan, stick with the mobile app versions..
-----
A brief overview of the games themselves:

The story (what story there is) is simple - green pigs steal the eggs of several different bird species, and the birds want their eggs back. Using a slingshot, you launch the birds (a pre-set number per level) at the pigs, which are in pre-existing structures of various items (mostly wood and ice blocks), with the intent to rid the level of those slimy green pigs. The more damage you cause to the pigs and the structures, the higher you score. Unlike so many other games, there is actual motivation to score high. You get three stars for a high score, two stars for a medium score, and one star for a low score. Several of the levels are quite challenging to get three stars.

As you progress throughout the game, the birds become more varied, with different birds having different abilities. The red bird is standard, the yellow bird gets a burst if speed if you touch the screen after initial launch, the black bird acts as a bomb, the white bird lays bombing eggs, the blue bird breaks into three birds, the boomerang bird doubles back as a boomerang, and the balloon bird inflates to many times its original size. You activate these special abilities by pressing the bird a second time after launch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Stick with the app version, 4 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angry Birds Trilogy (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
My children love the app version of this game - played it for hours on my phone. To be honest though, this xbox version just doesn't cut it. It doesn't add anything to the app version and whilst the app version is good "on the hoof" entertainment, playing this on the xbox for more than a few minutes before very tedious. I'd say more but, having got this for my 2 (age 7 & 10) for Christmas, it's only been played with once and that was for such a short period of time it barely registered. Buy Tintin xbox which my children love, or Joyride - but not this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Angry Birds Trilogy Xbox 360, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angry Birds Trilogy (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Great game, loads of stages. Hours of fun. Very happy with a purchase. Would recommend for everybody who was playing mobile version of this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MY YOUNGEST DAUGHTER, OLDEST DAUGHTER, AND ME, WE LOVE IT.! xx, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angry Birds Trilogy (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I brought this for my youngest daughter, oldest daughter and for me, we have great fun playing this game in turns.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good game, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angry Birds Trilogy (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Bought as a gift, have since played it for myself (off of my smartphone) and it's good. Once you get to grips with the thumbsticks it's good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Angry Birds Trilogy (Xbox 360)
Angry Birds Trilogy (Xbox 360) by Activision (Xbox 360)
17.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews