Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grungy proclivities
This is such an appealing book because A M Homes here gets right inside the mind of a 15 year-old boy as he moves away from adolescence towards his sixteenth birthday. Jack is a wonderful creation - a kid with the usual gross ideas and grungy proclivities, who is trying to cope with the news that his Dad, who has left home, is gay, and is, moreover, living with a man. His...
Published on 11 Sep 2009 by Eileen Shaw

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Adrian Mole This Aint
I have read three other novels by A M Homes and have thoroughly enjoyed them all unfortunately I found this one a bit of a task to pick up once put down and, probably if it had not been the first book I had purchased for my new Kindle Paper White I would have given up on it. Nicely written with a narrative given by a teenage boy mainly centred around the crisis of...
Published 5 months ago by Mr. B. Sharpe


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grungy proclivities, 11 Sep 2009
By 
Eileen Shaw "Kokoschka's_cat" (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jack (Paperback)
This is such an appealing book because A M Homes here gets right inside the mind of a 15 year-old boy as he moves away from adolescence towards his sixteenth birthday. Jack is a wonderful creation - a kid with the usual gross ideas and grungy proclivities, who is trying to cope with the news that his Dad, who has left home, is gay, and is, moreover, living with a man. His best friend Max is a kid with his own family problems and Jack is just beginning to be interested in the possibilities of girls. Jack can move from elation to despair in a minute and his hormones are all over the place. Homes makes us believe completely in Jack as well as in his family - including a new stepfather. This funny, clever novel is a satisfying and uplifting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charming reality, 25 May 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack (Paperback)
Ms Homes is a fine writer of contempary fiction. Her teenage characters are flawless and you are charmed by Jack within a few pages. He's just an ordinary but lovable teenager, you can't help liking and you sympathise with him and admonish him at the same time. I rate A.M.Homes very highly , she's sharp,witty and her story is an honest account of a teenage boy - totally believable.Read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jack is a joy!, 4 Oct 2001
This review is from: Jack (Paperback)
A.M.Homes is an organically intelligent writer, very down to earth and clear. Unusually I actually sympathised with most of the characters, homophobia and all. This novel challenges insensitive and patronising gay perspectives on teenagers as well as heterosexual. Also, Homes doesn't shirk the messy, existential difficulties of growing up, like realising there is no guardian angel... you're essentially on your own, mate. The storyline also asks some seriously refreshing questions about the sanctity of the traditional family unit. And through Jack's particular set of circumstances Homes tellingly lays out the tension between being intellectually adult and yet emotionally still a child. A state many do not progress beyond, having not learned from the mistakes of their parents. Maybe traditional patriarchy is dying because it inculcates precisely this kind of emotional retardation?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Adrian Mole This Aint, 25 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack (Kindle Edition)
I have read three other novels by A M Homes and have thoroughly enjoyed them all unfortunately I found this one a bit of a task to pick up once put down and, probably if it had not been the first book I had purchased for my new Kindle Paper White I would have given up on it. Nicely written with a narrative given by a teenage boy mainly centred around the crisis of discovering his estranged father is gay. Not a book I will go back to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and witty and true, 11 Mar 2014
By 
ANDREW MARTIN (EDINBURGH Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack (Paperback)
Jack is a pretty normal teenager, then his Dad leaves the family home, and then he tells Jack he is gay. You will love Jack. Funny and touching and really true. A. Homes is a genius!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 7 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack (Kindle Edition)
A good read. Very poignant. I thought it got inside the character well and made me feel for him. I didn't want to put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant, 15 Feb 2014
By 
Lisa Busby - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this story. Jack's voice is well written and believable and the characters like able. Interestingly it is his friend max that I really want to know more about. Easy and enjoyable read. Would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack (Paperback)
Gave this as a gift - recipient so very pleased - started it there and then! A "can't put down" book apparently!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BEAUTIFULLY WRITTEN STORY, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack (Kindle Edition)
A gentle, sweet book, beautifully written, telling a thoroughly modern story.
It left me with a warm feeling and hope for all the blended families that make
up today's society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pacey, funny, shocking and ultimately, touching, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jack (Kindle Edition)
This is typical A.M.Homes for me - it defies easy description. Initially a story of teenage angst and family disfunction, it is written in her cynical and often hilarious punchy style. Very entertaining all the way through, it is very readable, a real page-turner, but it evolves in the way it grips the reader as it develops; one becomes protective of the protagonist and finds oneself more and more affected by the possible eventual outcome. So there is an inevitable tension that builds up and it becomes more than just the entertaining romp one thought it was going to be. Her style is as concise and original as ever - I think this is another work of greatness from a marvellous author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jack
Jack by A.M. Homes
£4.80
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews