Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (86)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roy tells you how it was.
I remember Roy joining Southend United in the early 80's and he quickly became one of those players who the North Bank either loved or hated.I loved him for his sheer will to win and get stuck in and not be afraid to get hurt and of course dish it out too! This book is an honest account of his career of the up's and the down's and is a great read,so if you want a frank...
Published 24 months ago by Professor Chaos

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm
It was ok. Very repetitive at times and to be honest once you read one chapter you pretty much read them all
Published 10 months ago by Bdt1978


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roy tells you how it was., 2 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Card Roy (Hardcover)
I remember Roy joining Southend United in the early 80's and he quickly became one of those players who the North Bank either loved or hated.I loved him for his sheer will to win and get stuck in and not be afraid to get hurt and of course dish it out too! This book is an honest account of his career of the up's and the down's and is a great read,so if you want a frank and sometimes brutal book then check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Red Card Roy packs a punch, 2 Aug 2012
By 
This review is from: Red Card Roy (Hardcover)
Normally I can take or leave footballers autobiographies most of them are bland recitals of existing careers sanitised by publishing houses and football clubs keen not to have anything too derogatory or controversial in print.

Then you get "Red Card Roy" the story of Roy McDonough, a player whose 20 plus year career spanned top flight spells with Birmingham and Chelsea down to the lower divisions with the likes of Southend United, Colchester and Exeter ending up in the non-league game with Heybridge Swifts. What sets Roy McDonough apart from an average footballer with a tale to tell is that his tale is worth telling, from the heartbreak of release from Birmingham as a youngster to a desperately lonely spell at Chelsea, Roy's story is heart warming and evocative of an era where all night benders, untold female conquests and practical jokes were part and parcel of every football club in the land. Some of the tales recounted include the theft of Perry Groves' pyjamas, a lass called "Fishy Mary" and drunken coach trips home from away games.

Then there is the red cards, 22 of them, 13 in the Football League both still a record in English football. You thought Cantona was the first exponent of a kung fu kick at a British Football Ground then you would be wrong, ask Tony Pulis, scythed in two by Super Roy just 7 minutes into an FA Cup tie. Why? Just for being Tony Pulis.

The great thing about this book is that Roy, like in his playing career, shies away from nothing and you get the lot, from his playing career, drink and disciplinary problems to personal and relationship break downs. Bernie Friend has done a truly outstanding job piecing together Roy's rollercoaster career into one of the best footballer autobiographies of modern times. Highly recommended, however, please avoid if you are easily shocked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary, candid and though-provoking, 5 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Card Roy (Hardcover)
Roy McDonough was always the thinking man with a wild child lifestyle, leading from the front in the adolescent world of boozy footballers. Driven by career frustration, poor decisions, lust, competitiveness and boundless energy, the message between the lines is that alcohol was the escape.

On and off the pitch, Roy rarely read the script, or preferred his own, and this intense volume lends some sense to the chaotic lifestyle and over-familiarity with violence.

It's years since I read Eamonn Dunphy's acclaimed masterpiece, but my impression is that McDonough's tale hits harder, is more candid, and leaves more of an impression.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There's only one Big Roy, 28 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Card Roy (Hardcover)
Roy's book is a must read for any football fan. His tales from his boy hood football in Solihull and onto a career which saw tread the hallowed turf at Wembley is brilliant brilliant story. I could not put this book down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some great stories, 27 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Card Roy (Hardcover)
I really enjoyed this book, I am a Col U fan and was looking forward to the Colchester related chapters, however I enjoyed all of it. It is easy to read and it appears Roy is honest about what drives him to be the way he is, a real insight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Aug 2012
This review is from: Red Card Roy (Hardcover)
This isn't a, 'I respected XYZ for throwing the boot at my head' type of bland, agent driven, rose filled world of football, style of autobiography....this is a truly revealing insight in to the world of football during an age when footballing hardmen needed to be as tough as nails....during an age when if a player went down and stayed down, they were really hurt. In an age before divers and wimps, Roy McDonough stood out as footballing hardman.

This should be Sports Book of the Year - its the best sports book I have read this year and finally a football related autobiography where the author has told the real story....warts and all.

If you only buy one sports book this year, buy this one. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Legend, 5 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Card Roy (Hardcover)
I'm about halfway through Roy's book and having been a supporter of Colchester since 1976 am all to familiar with the tales Roy has to tell - the 4-3 defeat to Newcastle in the League Cup, the long trips to N kahzis (Roy's words not mine - but I agree with him) and the all to familiar fan abuse (still goes on now and yes, Cantona was right to steam in). Also, hailing from Colchester originally I know all the haunts he discusses. That said, even if you are not Colchester fan or from Colchester this book lays bare the sordid details of life as a lower league professional footballer of the 80's/90's - top notch read. Many thanks Roy/Bernie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Card Roy (Hardcover)
great entertaining read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best football autobiography I've ever read, 3 July 2014
This review is from: Red Card Roy (Hardcover)
Incredibly honest, Roy McDonough says it as it was, no holds barred. Possibly the best football autobiography I have ever read (and I've read a few). One of those you find hard to put down once you get started. The story of his 'love' for Tony Pulis is brilliant and the theft of Perry Groves's pyjamas had me in stitches particularly as I don't like Groves. All in all, highly recommended. Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 25 Aug 2013
By 
Mr. Jonathan Baker (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Red Card Roy (Kindle Edition)
Starting to go to games around the time Roy started out it was interesting to read his impressions on some if the managers and players of the time. However the book tells a much deeper story than just a footballer drinking and getting sent off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Red Card Roy
Red Card Roy by Roy McDonough
4.32
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews