Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very worthwhile comeback
Cynics might claim that Deacon Blue have reformed to get some retirement cash. When listening to the title track, I at first got the same impression; it starts with a piano that could have been lifted from 'Let It Be' or 'Imagine', then rolls out into something less inspiring. It's not bad, it just lacks a little stimulus (perhaps because if being 'Homesick' affected...
Published on 23 May 2001 by M. Bowers

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Well below the standard of previous albums
Published 14 days ago by Ga Davidson-merritt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very worthwhile comeback, 23 May 2001
By 
M. Bowers (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Homesick (Audio CD)
Cynics might claim that Deacon Blue have reformed to get some retirement cash. When listening to the title track, I at first got the same impression; it starts with a piano that could have been lifted from 'Let It Be' or 'Imagine', then rolls out into something less inspiring. It's not bad, it just lacks a little stimulus (perhaps because if being 'Homesick' affected the ears, it wouldn't sound like this!).
Don't be fooled, however, as this is a superb album, with enough hook-lines and subtleties to keep you singing (and listening) for a long time. 'Every Time You Sleep' is as good a love song as I have ever heard, and tunes such as 'Out There', 'Now That You're Here' and 'A is for Astronaut' are infuriatingly catchy. DB already have an extensive repertoire of classy pop music, but this album seems to hang together even better than anything they have done before - and that's no mean praise.
Watching these guys live in Manchester last weekend showed their class, and it's only a matter of time before this album is received as well by audiences as the old favourites such as 'Dignity' or 'Twist and Shout'. A very worthwhile contribution to Scotland's finest musical canon - give this disc a couple of spins and it won't be out of your CD player for a while, trust me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've been homesick, 2 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Homesick (Audio CD)
I've been homesick without my favourite all time band and this new album is quite simply a classic - they are home. If you haven't bought this album yet then you simply have to. I guarantee you will not be disappointed. The highlights are Homesick, Every Time You Sleep, Out There, Now That You're Here, You Lie So Beautifully Still and I Am Born. Deacon Blue never seem to get the global acclaim they deserve, but I'm sure they'll get it with this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's different but enchanting., 9 Dec 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Homesick (Audio CD)
It would be very easy for the band to return to the poptastic 80's sound that gave us 'Real Gone Kid' and 'Wages Day' but it appears that their love of music has allowed them to rise above that and produce a different yet enchanting album. It's definitely a grower but you'll find yourself knowing the words to most of the songs without realising it!! Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JUST WONDERFUL, 2 Nov 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Homesick (Audio CD)
This is the type of album that may not sell very well because of bad marketing and the way radio stations work these days. But the quality of Ricky Ross songwriting is excellent as usual. To me, this is one of the very best albums by the band, and I just hope I don't have to wait such a long time to listen to a new album after that. Songs like Homesick, Rae or This Train Will Take You Anywhere are good examples of how good this record is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Grows on you..., 21 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Homesick (Audio CD)
After listening to the first track, I was wondering whether the band had perhaps left it too long. Since I am now a good deal older since their last release, I also wondered whether my tastes had changed too much. But after 'This Train', 'Homesick' and 'Beautifully Still', my mind was changing.
This isn't as good as When the World...and Raintown in my view, but after a couple of listens it definately grows on you.
One critisism is the fact that Lorraine's voice is too often just faintly heard in the background, whereas I think her voice merits more than that.
After seeing the band live in London this month however, they performed some of these tracks brilliantly and gave life to them. I cannot take the CD out of the player!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They do it again - great album, 15 May 2001
This review is from: Homesick (Audio CD)
This long awaited album shows what a great band Deacon Blue are, starting of with 'Rae' and quickly gathering pace with 'this train'. The new single 'everytime you sleep' is very catchy and the title track 'Homesick' is is another DB classic. All in all, a well finished album which meets their high standards of Raintown, When the whole world...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a happy uplifting recording of quality songs, 5 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Homesick (Audio CD)
This recording has not been a commercial success
that it deserved to be.There are quality feel good
songs from the beautiful "rae"through to the title
track "homesick" with only a slight tailing off with the last two tracks.The best tracks,a great
singalong "silverlake" and a spirtual feeling "out
there" were not singles but deserved to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scotlands fave band are back on form!!, 29 April 2001
This review is from: Homesick (Audio CD)
At last Scotlands number one band is back and they have an album to rival the likes of Travis. Its been a long time coming but now Deacon Blue are back with hits such as EVERY TIME YOU SLEEP and HOMESICK, if you havent got this cd yet and you love Scottish bands then get out there and get it, NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE comeback of comeback albums, 29 Aug 2007
By 
Mr. John Morris "Chip63" (County Durham - FPT Champions 2007) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Homesick (Audio CD)
I've just rebought HOMESICK cos my original one is played out!!!

This is truly the comeback album of all time. From the upbeat "This train" to the haunting "Now that your here" this is classic DB
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Back to the things they do best - no disappointment, 1 May 2001
This review is from: Homesick (Audio CD)
If you've loved the Deacon Blue output over the last decade and a half this will fit nicely into your collection. Time stands still, sending you back to the pre-"Hooligans" melodies and simple lyrics. The employment of a drummer would have been an improvement on some tracks where the vocals of Ricky and Lorraine seem unsopported by an emotionless backdrop but its picking hairs. Sit back and love it as the chords jump you back to you bedroom in the eighties, please guys, don't leave it so long next time I simply can't wait another six years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Homesick...Plus
Homesick...Plus by Deacon Blue (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews