Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beard is not essential...
I would consider myself to be a folk fan although my music taste is very eclectic. I seem to have been born at the wrong time as my large music collection seems to be predominantly made up of 60's and 70's music from Zeppelin to Zappa and a large chunk of both my vinyl and cd collection would come under the heading of "folk". Folk music is often wrongly categorised online...
Published 11 months ago by Spiritwood

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Curate's Egg
For the price this is OK but as with all samplers, there's a compromise in terms of balancing well-known artists with those who are less well known.
Published 13 months ago by GuitarKev


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars great, 15 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to English Folk (Audio CD)
I found it A very good compilation. My wife also thoroughly enjoyed it. I can thoroughly recommend the CD. *
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to English Folk (Audio CD)
If you like folk but are confused by the sheer volume of music available, this album is an excellent place to start
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars english folk, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to English Folk (Audio CD)
Excellent collection of 3 cd's really good value for money.Superb choice of tracks will appeal to just about almost anybody
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars eclectic mix, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to English Folk (Audio CD)
just what the doctor ordered a good mix of music of varied age . good value for the money very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It really is a beginners guide!, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to English Folk (Audio CD)
A real mix of folk music which at first listening seems to wide and diverse. But after a few plays it really begins to grow on you. Lots of unfamiliar artist and quirky songs but all really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More hits than misses, 6 Feb 2013
By 
L. J. Roberts (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to English Folk (Audio CD)
As with any compilation, there are going to be tracks that you don't enjoy as much as others. This cd is no different but, as an introductory compilation, it's. difficult to beat. A wide range of artists and styles are on show from which you can explore the genre in more depth if you so choose ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rounded selection of classics, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to English Folk (Audio CD)
All of this, some very well known, others a pleasant surprise give a grand tour of what was/is and will be in the folk scene for sometime. Modern day classics rub shoulders with archive tracks and if you have any inkling towards this genre it's a great buy at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Folk album, 16 May 2009
Excellent album with lots of nostalia value.
Wide variety of artists and styles.
Great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Peculiarly English, 15 May 2013
By 
Ms. S. Rooney - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to English Folk (Audio CD)
If you like your folk music in the style of the Watersons then you will love this CD because there are lots of tracks and artists in this tradition, and with 3 CDs it is very good value. The songs and singing are peculiarly English and very distinct from the rest of the British Isles. There are other styles included in this compilation but they are in the minority (Jim Moray, Show of Hands).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Folk, 17 Feb 2013
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to English Folk (Audio CD)
As a folk fan I am wary of compilations as they can be obvious and twee, but this is an exception. Although I have 6 or 7 of the tracks already, this is well worth the money with an eclectic and well balanced selection. Nothing but the highest praise from me. A folk rendition of 'Anarchy in the UK' is something I never thought I would hear! It's as interesting as 'The Electric Muse' was back in the distant past and I really didn't think that could ever be equalled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb3cc5738)

This product

Beginner's Guide to English Folk
Beginner's Guide to English Folk by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews