Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beard is not essential...
I would consider myself to be a folk fan although my music taste is very eclectic. I seem to have been born at the wrong time as my large music collection seems to be predominantly made up of 60's and 70's music from Zeppelin to Zappa and a large chunk of both my vinyl and cd collection would come under the heading of "folk". Folk music is often wrongly categorised online...
Published 15 months ago by Spiritwood

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Curate's Egg
For the price this is OK but as with all samplers, there's a compromise in terms of balancing well-known artists with those who are less well known.
Published 17 months ago by GuitarKev


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good All Rounder, 4 Sep 2009
By 
E. Carruthers "mature teenager" (Durban, South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a good compilation of both old and new English folk music. From the Fairports through to Katie Rusby, one of my favourite newer artists. I enjoyed this album thoroughly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars scot to b, 26 Nov 2012
By 
Mr. Donald Forbes (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to English Folk (Audio CD)
Just like its scottish "cousin" this album is well worth the cash i spent on it. Good variety of music and songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a lovely compilation, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to English Folk (Audio CD)
well worth it, just for June Tabors cover of 'Love will tear us apart' alone. many many more stand out tracks too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best folk compilation, 13 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to English Folk (Audio CD)
Never bought English folk music before, and this is a really excellent introduction to the genre. Would highly recommend.

Notes are very interesting too (and not too long-winded!), Giving a potted history of the folk revival(s) related to the tracks on the CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars English Folk Music, 10 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to English Folk (Audio CD)
Bought for my wife as a present for a new workshop I have just built for her where she spend hours doing something called 'pergamano' and card making for the local animal charities and dog sanctuaries. So I fitted a surround music centre and needed CD's for her new music centre and she is happy, so I am happy. What more can I say? Its a CD and does what it says on the label.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recommend this, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to English Folk (Audio CD)
This is my first proper folk music cd. I like a huge variety of music and thought it was time I listened to Folk. After looking through what was available I decided to try this particular cd. I was not disappointed as I love it. It is a good mixture with different sounds throughout the 3 cd's, If, like me, you haven't bought before I would recommend this for your introduction to Folk music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Folk Album, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to English Folk (Audio CD)
This was bought as a Christmas present and we have had no feed back yet from the recipient. It seemed to be just right however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars English Folk Guide, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to English Folk (Audio CD)
What a varied collection of modern and old English folk.3 Cds and over 3 hours of pure joy. My family thinks I am going mad but in time they will drawn into to the haunting melodies and stories no doubt, if not now but in years to come. I would recommend this to anyone wanting a taste of folk be it English or whatever. Very good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great intro to variety of folk music, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted a variety of known and unknown artists at a good price and that's exactly what I got. I am listening to it regularly while I work on the computer. Relaxing and a great sing-a- long in parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 15 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beginner's Guide to English Folk (Audio CD)
I found it A very good compilation. My wife also thoroughly enjoyed it. I can thoroughly recommend the CD. *
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beginner's Guide to English Folk
Beginner's Guide to English Folk by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews