Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power without responsibility.
Fantastic yet gloomy and dark but a new twist to the superhero genre. This is the tale of a man (well a grown up loser with a huge chip on his shoulder and psychopathic tendancies) who finds himself in the position of power - who abuses it in all the wrong ways! Plenty of dark humour (a scene with a bear) or outright overkill (his use of a chainsaw) from a thoroughly...
Published on 30 May 2012 by godzilla78

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Certainly a reverse Superman!
It was a clever inversion of Superman.
I have got to admit I took a thorough dislike to the main character. I thought that he was just a despicable waster who made no effort to better himself and bore a grudge against anyone he knew who did. Even when he gets the power of flight, rather than making something of it, all that he can do is to murder his ex-girlfriend...
Published 19 months ago by Mr. Gary M. Stocker


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power without responsibility., 30 May 2012
By 
godzilla78 (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Cape (Hardcover)
Fantastic yet gloomy and dark but a new twist to the superhero genre. This is the tale of a man (well a grown up loser with a huge chip on his shoulder and psychopathic tendancies) who finds himself in the position of power - who abuses it in all the wrong ways! Plenty of dark humour (a scene with a bear) or outright overkill (his use of a chainsaw) from a thoroughly unpleasnt main character.

Whilst Spiderman learnt that with power comes responsibility, its not the case here as its power and no responsibility. During to a childhood accident, the main character stumbled upon a cape which looks like an old disused rag which enables him the power of flight. Rather than use it for doing good in the world, he uses his newfound ability to get back at those he feels have wronged him in his miserable life. This is one damaged individual who lashes out at those around him and closest to him but with little remorse.

Certainly one of the hidden gems from the last few years (with a prequal out later this year) especially the creative team, well written and some fantastic art from Zach Howard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you liked Horns, 2 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cape (Hardcover)
Joe Hill quite obviously likes a character who isn't all pink and fluffy at the edges. Most often, people who suddenly gain superpowers seem to be the good guys who come through bad things to realise the error of their ways. Not so in this story. No holds barred and the graphics are great too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Real world graphic novel, 13 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joe Hill's The Cape (Kindle Edition)
A none traditional tale of what your average not so nice guy would do if he had a super power. There is no world domination here, just a well written and well drawn graphic novel. It looks great on my tablet and smart phone and I've read it several times already. A great find for any dark humoured or adult themed comic book fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mayhap a mirror that shows too much, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joe Hill's The Cape (Kindle Edition)
The concept is quite different... Superpowers, (well the ability to fly) loser, no future, no prospects, what do you do? Well not quite streak off to save the known multiverse or any grandiosely futile gesture like that, more a petty small mans petty small revenge wish fulfillment. In a way the antagonist is just lashing out at his own in securities... I liked the short story by Joe Hill, the graphic rendition is by far more visceral and raw. Joe Hill is one to definitely watch out for, the mans on a hot streak
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dark and rotten, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cape (Hardcover)
I wondered how many books Joe Hill will have to write before people stop mentioning that he is Stephen King's son. And I have just done it again.

The Cape is a comic based on his short story. As a boy Eric plays with a cape and one day a terrible accident occurs that changes his life. As an adult he is a waster; no job, no money, no hope. But he still has that cape and one night he pulls it over himself and drifts off to sleep...only to find himself having drifted towards the ceiling.

What does a person do when they suddenly have a super-power? Do they become the people's hero - flying around the world correcting wrongs and performing daring rescues? Or do they take revenge on everyone who has hurt them? Let them down? Opposed them?

It is not a new question but it is an interesting side to the superhero question. This is a gripping read and suitably dark with artwork to match. It's as if Superman's cape has been trampled in dirt and left to rot. It's twisted and grimy and drawn boldly. It's a virtual punch to the stomach and I enjoyed it immensely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it !!, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Cape (Hardcover)
The art work in this is great, Zach Howard does an amazing job here.

The story line is really good and i found myself thinking all the way through what a great film this would make.

I really don't want to give any of the story away but it is pretty original. Print quality is on glossy papper and the binding is good.

Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ... you do if you could fly would you be good or, 10 Sep 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (portsmouth, hampshire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joe Hill's The Cape (Kindle Edition)
Very interesting premise of antihero what would you do if you could fly would you be good or evil
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Certainly a reverse Superman!, 12 May 2013
By 
Mr. Gary M. Stocker "G of Warwickshire" (Radford Semele, Warks, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Joe Hill's The Cape (Kindle Edition)
It was a clever inversion of Superman.
I have got to admit I took a thorough dislike to the main character. I thought that he was just a despicable waster who made no effort to better himself and bore a grudge against anyone he knew who did. Even when he gets the power of flight, rather than making something of it, all that he can do is to murder his ex-girlfriend for walking out on him (I do not blame her) and plot to do his brother in because of a few childhood scraps (which most siblings have).
Another moral of the story is that Fortune does not always favour the most deserving (or in this case the at all deserving). Hopefully he eventually gets his just deserts (something violent and fatal!).
The fact that it had this effect on me shows that the author is good at his job-he provokes strong emotion in his readers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the money but worth a borrow, 24 Jan 2013
This review is from: Joe Hill's The Cape (Kindle Edition)
I've recently got back into graphic novels and when I noticed this in my local library I had to grab it as I absolutely loved Heart Shaped Box. I might as well start of by saying if I hadn't borrowed it this would probably get less stars.

While I found the storline okay and enjoyed the artwork it felt like something was missing all the way through. It felt very clieched and I was suprised at that considering it was taken from one of Joe Hill's short stories. It all felt very rushed and there was just not enough reasoning for the main charactor to do the things he did. If he had been painted as an outright psycho with a mental defect I might have excepted it but they tried to slip in a kind of reasoning that just wasn't fleshed out enough to be believable.

I enjoyed the artwork in this graphic novel but my other complaint is that it takes you ten of fifteen minutes to read. Now while I enjoyed it in spite of it's flaws and I'm rating it three stars if I had paid the purchase price for it I know it would be getting rated 1 or 2 stars.

In short if you can borrow this book it's worth a read. If you're thinking about buying it I think you might end up feeling a little ripped off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I really like Joe Hill too, 30 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Joe Hill's The Cape (Kindle Edition)
I didn't realise it was a comic book !!!!!!!!
I really like Joe Hill too........ but not comics !!!
His novels are superb though and I bought this sight unseen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Joe Hill's The Cape
Joe Hill's The Cape by Nelson Daniel
£4.73
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews