Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect travel companion
Compact but still containing sufficient detail, this guide is suitable for lone traveller, shoppers, couples and families; just like NYC itself the book offers something for everyone. I just stopped off in New York on my way back from working at a summer camp in The States, my friend and I only had a few days but wanted to squeeze in as much as possible. The top 10 list...
Published 22 months ago by Rachel

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but far too brief
What there is of the travel guide is good but it is far too short to be worthwhile - "free" copy of The Age of Innocence is an interesting gimmick .
Published 5 months ago by Andrew N F Russell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect travel companion, 5 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Instant Guide To New York (With A Free Copy of Edith Wharton's The Age of Innocence) (Kindle Edition)
Compact but still containing sufficient detail, this guide is suitable for lone traveller, shoppers, couples and families; just like NYC itself the book offers something for everyone. I just stopped off in New York on my way back from working at a summer camp in The States, my friend and I only had a few days but wanted to squeeze in as much as possible. The top 10 list and helpful hints as well as a clear transport guide were invaluable in helping us get around and making the most of it. The free novel is a fantastic idea (all guides should now do it), perfect for long plane journeys or passing time whilst grabbing a coffee in the city. I would say that guide is perhaps more suited to first-time travellers to New York - rather than seasoned visitors - but by all means try out and judge for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New York, New York, 21 Aug 2012
This review is from: The Instant Guide To New York (With A Free Copy of Edith Wharton's The Age of Innocence) (Kindle Edition)
The likes of Time Out and Lonely Planet Guides can prove overpriced and undewhelming on kindle. Can recommend this instant guide though for anyone travelling to New York for a few days or a week. Book is up-to-date and includes Greatest Hits of The Statue of Liberty and The Empire State building etc as well as more quirky options that you might not have thought of. Giving away Age of Innocence is very clever idea and makes this guide even more worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin, 20 Aug 2012
This review is from: The Instant Guide To New York (With A Free Copy of Edith Wharton's The Age of Innocence) (Kindle Edition)
Used this over weekend. I can't see why a guide book like this hasn't been thought of before - the short ebook is perfect for flicking through on a Kindle while on-the-go. The writer has done a good job of condensing all the main sights of New York, with a well thought out structure which makes it very easy to use. I particularly enjoyed the `hidden gems' section, definitely some out of the way and interesting suggestions not included in the mainstream tourist guides. Whilst there are more comprehensive guides on the market, this instant guide provides everything you want to know when travelling around one of the most famous cities in the world, as well as suggesting further reading. Would have perhaps preferered a different New York novel attached, but that's just a quibble. Excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Instantly Useful, 7 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Instant Guide To New York (With A Free Copy of Edith Wharton's The Age of Innocence) (Kindle Edition)
By no means the most exhaustive guide on the market, but certainly one of the better priced and most useful I've come across. As a regular traveller I was glad that with this guide I didn't have to skip past pages and pages of hotel recommendations etc - like most people I book my accommodation before I go. I was expecting a summary of all the 'big hits' but found the practical advice and hidden gems section particularly useful. The author has kept it up-to-date with all the new attractions in NYC and I was glad to see The Highline park included. The added bonus of a free classic novel is a fantastic idea- I'll be looking out for more city guides in this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Instant Guide to New York, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Instant Guide To New York (With A Free Copy of Edith Wharton's The Age of Innocence) (Kindle Edition)
Useful short guide for a short break.Easy to use and helpful. I liked the map and the lay out of the book as it was easy to find what I was looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tells me all I need to know, 7 Jan 2013
By 
Christine Holley (Todmorden, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Instant Guide To New York (With A Free Copy of Edith Wharton's The Age of Innocence) (Kindle Edition)
It is so easy and covers all New York. I chose this book because I have used these Guides before and always find them very comprehensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good but far too brief, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Instant Guide To New York (With A Free Copy of Edith Wharton's The Age of Innocence) (Kindle Edition)
What there is of the travel guide is good but it is far too short to be worthwhile - "free" copy of The Age of Innocence is an interesting gimmick .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Lacking any real information, 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Instant Guide To New York (With A Free Copy of Edith Wharton's The Age of Innocence) (Kindle Edition)
Bought this as first visit to NY. From previous reviews I didn't expect detail but thought it would give a list of what's to see & do. I read the micro book in about 10 minutes and didn't get any useful ideas. Other short guides are far better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just ok, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Instant Guide To New York (With A Free Copy of Edith Wharton's The Age of Innocence) (Kindle Edition)
Thought it would have been more indepth but pretty basic. Havent read the free book that came with it so can't comment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews