Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the good ones
Any fan of Robert Ludlum knows he wrote good ones and, shall we say, not so good ones (especially after he died). This is one of the good ones. The usual formula - exciting plot, great hero, excellent writing.
Published on 30 Oct 2007 by discerningreader

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Rip roaring adventure
Typical Ludlum book, well written full of action and adventure with a hero to boot. Robert Ludlum one of the best action & adventure authors of our time.
Published 11 months ago by JF Pearce


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the good ones, 30 Oct 2007
This review is from: The Scorpio Illusion (Paperback)
Any fan of Robert Ludlum knows he wrote good ones and, shall we say, not so good ones (especially after he died). This is one of the good ones. The usual formula - exciting plot, great hero, excellent writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Puerile nonsense., 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have enjoyed most Ludlum books, particularly the Bourne series. However, this story is nonsensical, the dialogue is so trite and puerile it was a labour to read it. I had to skip pages of a badly written conversation, invariably with military ranks in every sentence, to keep going to the longed for end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rip roaring adventure, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Typical Ludlum book, well written full of action and adventure with a hero to boot. Robert Ludlum one of the best action & adventure authors of our time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very interesting unable to put the book down
always enjoy Robert Ludlum books
they keep you on the edge wow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Robert Ludlum: The Scorpio Illusion, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scorpio Illusion (Hardcover)
Purchased for my brother who has a liking for fictional history and modern day thrillers. Enjoyed this book and would not hesitate in recommending it to others of a similar persuasion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Robert Ludlum again, 4 April 2011
By 
H. Jones (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scorpio Illusion (Paperback)
Typical Ludlam, rather a lot of characters with names difficult to remember. Otherwise a good book. Written in English presumeably for an English speaking market, so why include so many foreign names and sayings?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Hollywood type rubbish, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
cliché, far fetched
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor effort, 28 May 2009
By 
Mr. B. Gray "downhill-ray" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Scorpio Illusion (Paperback)
This is standard fare for Ludlum with the usual shady criminal organisation and global conspiracy background. He often gets these types of plot lines spot on but this is a poor effort by his standards. As I've noticed with a number of his novels, it is littered with inexplicable and unnecessary dialogue which drags on the plot like a lead weight. It is inexcusable to make the reader re-read whole sections due to unfathomable conversations. And why does he use a bewildering number of different names for the same character - eg. Amaya, The Baj, Little Girl Blood....It makes for an immensely turgid read, particularly galling if you have enjoyed his earlier work (I exclude the Bourne books as they suffer excactly the same problems).
This was essentially a simple plot which for the sake of a 100 pages fewer could have rattled along at a more exciting pace.
The additional star is because I finished it as I am usually a fan of Ludlums's work.
NB - get a better proof reader. This was littered with errors, spelling mistakes and the use of incorrect words (The work for crazy is spelt barmy, not balmy (twice!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews