Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Happy!
Very happy with this DVD.

For less that 5 you get over 2 hours of Thomas & his fiends. That's 26 episodes to keep you and your kids happy. Also very pleased that the DVD has subtitles too.

Also what I loved about series 1 is some story lines follow on. Like when Henry is bricked up inside the tunnel and we even see him bricked up for a good few eps...
Published 8 months ago by Newt Beaumont

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great original theme music but doesn't stand up well
I bought this not realising it was the original old Thomas I used to watch as a kid in the 80s. I was as horrified as the next eighties child when I saw they had made Thomas CGI and ditched the fab theme tune, so it was great to see the original stop motion and infinitely superior theme music.

However, my son got used to watching the CG version on TV so when he...
Published 10 months ago by C Jones


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Happy!, 30 Nov 2013
By 
Newt Beaumont - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas & Friends - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Very happy with this DVD.

For less that 5 you get over 2 hours of Thomas & his fiends. That's 26 episodes to keep you and your kids happy. Also very pleased that the DVD has subtitles too.

Also what I loved about series 1 is some story lines follow on. Like when Henry is bricked up inside the tunnel and we even see him bricked up for a good few eps before they take the wall down & let him out again. You don't get much of that with kids shows these days :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original and best, 15 Sep 2013
By 
H. Allen (Wolverhampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas & Friends - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
We all love it, no more arguments about who wants what on t.v. it's agreed. Narrated by Ringo Star all the stories from the beginning - awesome. Some people may think it's a little old fashioned but my kids love it and would watch it from beginning to end if I let them! I would recommend this dvd to all Thomas fans young and old. It arrived in perfect condition and quickly too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Christmas Present This Year, 24 Oct 2012
By 
Thomas (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas & Friends - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Another great release by HIT Entertainment. The first three seasons of 'Thomas the Tank Engine & Friends' are the ones to get as they're all remastered from 2004. The remastered episodes were rare in the UK, US and Australia before, as they've been released on separate DVDs, promotional ones etc. Japan is really the one with all the remastered episodes on their home releases, but not as a series compilation. Aside from the wonderful and crystal clear footage, these episodes are wonderfully written by a vicar named Rev.W.Awdry, creator of the Railway Series, along with son Christopher Awdry and are much more better then the recent series' writings. The narration is nostalgic with the likes of Ringo Starr, who is a big nostalgia factor for kids who grew up with the model animation from 1984-2008. There has been other narrators at the time like Michael Angelis and Pierce Brosnan, but when you ask a question whether its trivia or asking one in general, Ringo's the first thing that comes to mind, like he was during The Beatles. A new age fan will enjoy these episodes, it has good morals and entertaining story lines and if CGI isn't your cup of tea, these DVDs will be your entertainment. These are a great idea for a Christmas gift this year. The episodes are all remastered, with great story lines, memorable music, morals and stunning model animation. You can also buy the S4-7 as well to show your kids the old Thomas and share the joy you had when you were a child with your child, along with 'Blue Mountain Mystery'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas & Friends - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
My grandson adores Thomas the Tank engine and his enjoyment of this DVD is obvious to all watching him. It is great to have the originals which I think are better than the more modern versions. My son adored Thomas and my grandson follows in his footsteps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. S. E. Gordon (Newcastle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thomas & Friends - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Brings back old memories and keeps my 22 month old son entertained!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas & Friends - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
My two year old grandson loves Thomas the tank and this DVD did not disappoint. Will be ordering series 2,received 3 days after ordering,impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bought for my grandson, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas & Friends - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Keeps the grandson happy for hours Brings back memories even from my childhood.
Arrived well packaged, and as stated,.not much else to say, but need to put in more review words!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas & Friends - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this as a present for my two nephews as i didn't think that the new CGI Thomas was any good. Both of the boys love it and always want to watch them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift, 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas & Friends - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This was a gift for my fiends little boy and he loves it, it's always on the TV and he loves to watch it.
The DVD was well packaged and it is standing up very well to be on all the time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Original and Best, 21 April 2014
By 
P. Cheetham (Lancs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas & Friends - The Complete Series 1 [DVD] (DVD)
These are based on Rev W Awdrys' original stories, and are much better than the later ones. Stories follow on from each other, and will often reference something that has happened in a previous episode.
With 26 episodes on the disc, all narrated by Ringo Star (much better than later series) it is excellent value for money and will keep the little ones entertained for ages - especially if they like their trains!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thomas & Friends - The Complete Series 1 [DVD]
5.38
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews