Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Thomas with Ringo
Another classic series of Thomas by Rev. W. Awdry, brilliantly narrated by Ringo Star.
The quality of these is every bit as good as the first series, and is sure to be a hit.
It was after series 2 that things started to go a little awry - firstly they are not narrated by Ringo Star, but you soon get used to that - the main problem is they start to deviate from...
Published 6 months ago by P. Cheetham

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Train derails
This DVD is not yet available on the USA Amazon.com ... but it is currently available at the UK Amazon. It requires a different format (to be played) which, fortunately, the DVD player on my laptop was capable of changing to. And, surprisingly, all 26 episodes are on a single DVD.

"Thomas & Friends - The Complete Series 2" picks up right where the first...
Published 7 months ago by Jim O'Brien


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More Thomas with Ringo, 8 May 2014
By 
P. Cheetham (Lancs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas & Friends - The Complete Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Another classic series of Thomas by Rev. W. Awdry, brilliantly narrated by Ringo Star.
The quality of these is every bit as good as the first series, and is sure to be a hit.
It was after series 2 that things started to go a little awry - firstly they are not narrated by Ringo Star, but you soon get used to that - the main problem is they start to deviate from the stories of Rev. Awdry and bring in other writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good old Thomas and friends, 25 July 2013
By 
I. Hayden "Aviator" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas & Friends - The Complete Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The two original Ringo Star narrated series, made before corporate politically correct influences took over the production, In the days when it was OK to say FAT controller, great stuff, also suitable for children!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 29 Jun 2014
This review is from: Thomas & Friends - The Complete Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This was for my grandson who was delighted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas & Friends - The Complete Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this as a present for my two nephews as i didn't think that the new CGI Thomas was any good. Both of the boys love it and always want to watch them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Over 2 hours & 30mins of Thomas!, 14 April 2014
By 
Mr. Beaumont - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Thomas & Friends - The Complete Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
In series 2 of Thomas & Friends we get another 26 episodes, that's just under 2 hours and 30mins of Thomas from 1986. In episode 4 we see Trevor, the Traction Engine, In episode 8 we see Duck & in Episode 9 we meet Percy all for the very first time.

In episode 13 we meet Diesel, a nasty engine who is mean to the other engines, but luckily he does not stay and in episode 14 he gets sent away. It's amazing how little things like this is teaching our children right & wrong without them even knowing!

We also meet the twins, Donald & Douglas, while in episode 19 we Daisy for the first time, and just to make sure we know she is a girl she is covered in make-up haha

All episodes also have full subtitles.

Disk 1:
Episode 1 – Thomas, Percy and the Coal, 2 September 1986
Episode 2 – Cows, 5 September 1986
Episode 3 – Bertie's Chase, 7 September 1986
Episode 4 – Saved from Scrap, 9 September 1986
Episode 5 – Old Iron, 11 September 1986
Episode 6 – Thomas and Trevor, 14 September 1986
Episode 7 – Percy and the Signal, 17 September 1986
Episode 8 – Duck Takes Charge, 18 September 1986
Episode 9 – Percy and Harold, 20 September 1986
Episode 10 – The Runaway, 22 September 1986
Episode 12 – Percy Takes the Plunge, 24 September 1986
Episode 13 – Pop Goes the Diesel, 26 September 1986
Episode 14 – Dirty Work, 1 October 1986
Episode 15 – Better Late Than Never, 4 October 1986
Episode 16 – Break Van, 7 October 1986
Episode 17 – The Deputation, 9 October 1986
Episode 18 – Thomas Comes to Breakfast, 11 October 1986
Episode 19 – Daisy, 14 October 1986
Episode 20 – Percy's Predicament, 19 October 1986
Episode 21 – The Diseasel, 24 October 1986
Episode 22 – Wrong Road, 1 November 1986
Episode 23 – Edward's Exploit, 8 November 1986
Episode 24 – Ghost Train, 10 November 1986
Episode 25 – Woolly Bear, 16 November 1986
Episode 26 – Thomas and the Missing Christmas Tree, 23 December 1986
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas & Friends - The Complete Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Ringo Starr as the storyteller. Fantastic wonderful moments, lover music and wonderful model trains. A must have for classic thomas fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Investment !, 14 Mar 2014
By 
T. Laurie (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas & Friends - The Complete Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I cannot add much more to the reviews already submitted for this excellent video. Purchased for grandson (2yrs 7mths) and can keep him enthralled for an hour. A much needed rest respite for Gran & Granddad particularly on days when the weather prevents outdoor activities taking place. A great extension to series No.1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Thomas!, 12 Mar 2014
By 
A. Gascoigne (Taunton, Somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas & Friends - The Complete Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Classic Thomas with Ringo's voiceovers. Each episode having a nice little morale ending to it... My 2-year old loves it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for Toddlers, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Thomas & Friends - The Complete Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Our Grandson Loves it! Enough said!
The early Series with Ringo Starr are preferable. .
The later series have different music and narrator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Useful Engines, 6 Feb 2014
This review is from: Thomas & Friends - The Complete Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Series 2 of Thomas picks up straight from where Series 1 finished, continuing the tales of the Really Useful Engines on the Fat Controller's Island of Sodor Railway.

Like Series 1 before it, this series offers 26 episodes lifted directly from the Rev. W. Awdry's `The Railway Series' books, all sumptuously narrated by Ringo Starr (who ended his stint on the show after this series).

Again like Series 1, the stories follow a continuous plot that develops as the run progresses, as opposed to stand-alone episodes that just tell a quick story.

What is very different from Series 1 however is that Series 2 introduces many new characters - almost a new face every episode, in fact. Fortunately though, they're some of the best Engines in the whole show; Duck (The Great Western Engine!); Bill and Ben (not the Flower Pot Men); the loveable Donald and Douglas; Boco; Daisy (the first female engine of the show) and of course the infamous Diesel et al.

Some of my favourite stories are from this series (remember when Duck crashed into the Barbers?), and again it provides both great entertainment and ironclad lessons for young children (and not so young children!).

The first two series of Thomas the Tank Engine and Friends are the `purest', based entirely on the books with no external influence and, despite the show still running to this day, the first two series should be viewed by all.

Timeless classic(s).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Thomas & Friends - The Complete Series 2 [DVD]
£6.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews