Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent Miles
This set of three CDs and one DVD of live performances from 1969 neatly complements Volume 1 of the Bootleg Series with its performances from 1967. The formal clothes of the 1967 quintet have been replaced but, as usual, Miles continues to out-dress the other band members and asserts himself as the leader. There is some overlap with the 1967 repertoire, but from the...
Published 20 months ago by John M Wilson

versus
3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Dreadful
I am an ardent fan of Miles Davis and, including Box Sets, I must own at least 70 of his CDs!! To me, this is just a noisy, disjointed, unstructured, cacophonous din that is totally irritating and unlistenable! A sublimely talented group of musicians producing awful sounds! Live in Europe 1967 is far, far better than this! Stick to Bitches Brew, Silent Way, Jack...
Published 17 months ago by Mr. A. Lanfranchi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Miles, 21 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miles Davis Quintet: Live In Europe 1969 The Bootleg Series Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
the recordings have been available on bootlegs for many years but it's nice to get what must be first generation recordings, quality shines through and this is shear quality music by an amazing band. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential and quintessential!, 9 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miles Davis Quintet: Live In Europe 1969 The Bootleg Series Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
A must have for anyone who likes this period of Miles prodigious output. Two complaints - why has the Stockholm concert only got the 1st set. They did a storming second set which should surely have been included and why no audio of the Berlin DVD? Still, this is wonderful stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goodbye the 50s & 60s , Hello electricity, 7 Feb 2013
By 
Neil Mawer (Lincoln, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miles Davis Quintet: Live In Europe 1969 The Bootleg Series Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
Its funny how the "lost" 3rd quintet now has 2 seperate Cd sets comprising of 5 cds & a DVD. Not quite so lost anymore! But unlike a lot of the alternate takes on the studio boxes, they were actually worth finding.

Disc one is the July 69 Juan Pins concert that appeared on LP in France in 1971, and subsequently on Cd in Japan. To these ears it sounds a rawer presentation than the original, non of Teo Maceros fairy dust on it, but on disc two you do get the complete second set as well now. There isn't too much duplication and its the last time the 50s classics appeared at all, so its like saying goodbye to old friends.

Disc 3 is a stormer from Denmark in November 1969. Coreas electronics breakdown almost immediately on the opener Bitches Brew, so they continue for the last time ever in full acoustic mode - Paraphenalia, Nerfititi, Masquelero. They really go for it as if trying to make up for the lost electrics. There is a bonus track from the 2nd set ( electronics fixed) of their sole version of Coreas This, just about as free jazz as Miles ever got.

The DVD is the first Miles one in colour. Its Berlin November 69 and is out and out electronic Silent Way/Bitches Brew material. Out and out electric from this point, as evidenced by their other CD set "About This Time - Fillmore East March 70." That was shorters final gig and the end of the Miles Davis Quintet.Its an absolute stormer as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but not great., 17 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. IAN MCCORRY (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miles Davis Quintet: Live In Europe 1969 The Bootleg Series Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
The internal voice said – no don’t buy it, you’ve got more than enough Miles. But reviews in Jazzwise and the Guardian convinced me otherwise. It is one of Miles’ great bands, playing with ferocious energy – but is it as groundbreaking as the reviewers insist? I just don’t feel it is. Perhaps It’s importance has been dulled by the passage of time, and if heard when it was played, it’s innovation would have been distinct.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Electrifying music from Miles 'Lost Quintet' in 1969, 17 April 2013
By 
Moontrane - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miles Davis Quintet: Live In Europe 1969 The Bootleg Series Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
This momentous and exciting release comprises 3 CDs and a DVD of 'The Lost Quintet' with Miles Davis(trumpet); Wayne Shorter(tenor sax & soprano sax); Chick Corea(piano & electric piano); Dave Holland(bass) & Jack DeJohnette(drums).
CDs 1 & 2 were recorded at the Antibes Jazz Festival on July 25 & 26, 1969 shortly before the 'Bitches Brew' sessions during August.
CD 3 was recorded in Stockholm on November 5, 1969.
The DVD shows high quality colour footage of the quintet at an electrifying concert in Berlin on November 7, 1969.
'Live in Europe 1969' captures Miles' transitional quintet at a creative peak and this magnificent release will undoubtedly feature highly in jazz album of the year polls for 2013.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic stuff., 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miles Davis Quintet: Live In Europe 1969 The Bootleg Series Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
I have been looking forward to this release since I first heard about it a long time ago. The CDs are great, sound quality is quite good, CD1 is a bit bass light and sounds (to my ears) a bit distant, but it is called a bootleg series for a reason. The performances are great, I love CD 1 as it seems to have one foot in the Bitch's Brew sound and one foot in the previous Quintet's sound. You can hear the band changing over the CDs. One criticism I have of the release is the packaging, I don't see it lasting too long. The cardboard isn't too thick, and there are a lot of leaves/panels to it for the central spine to hold onto, with the 4 discs and the silly poster that includes the notes. But, aside from that, great stuff. Looking forward to Volume 3 already/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miles Davis Quintet: Live In Europe 1969 The Bootleg Series Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
Really pleased with this C.D. EXCELLENT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Aug 2014
By 
PAUL NEEDHAM (DERBY, DERBYSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miles Davis Quintet: Live In Europe 1969 The Bootleg Series Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Dreadful, 20 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. A. Lanfranchi "alanfranchi" (Taunton, Somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miles Davis Quintet: Live In Europe 1969 The Bootleg Series Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
I am an ardent fan of Miles Davis and, including Box Sets, I must own at least 70 of his CDs!! To me, this is just a noisy, disjointed, unstructured, cacophonous din that is totally irritating and unlistenable! A sublimely talented group of musicians producing awful sounds! Live in Europe 1967 is far, far better than this! Stick to Bitches Brew, Silent Way, Jack Johnson and Bitches Brew Live! Avoid this acoustic mess!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars noisy miles, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Miles Davis Quintet: Live In Europe 1969 The Bootleg Series Vol. 2 (Audio CD)
too much noise and not enough music. beguiled by the line-up and not by the content.miles and miles of sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews