Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars17
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 September 2012
Obviously this is of interest to fans of independent music and, in particular, those who like to buy vinyl records. However, the film is also of broader appeal as it deals with some of the issues of modern consumerism - the difficulties of anyone striding out on their own in the face of corporate and technological competition. With so many independent retailers struggling it's good to see some record shops fighting back and typically doing so with a technology that's decidedly old fashioned. The film is also well made and pleasantly succinct.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2012
this film conveys the passion, the excitement of the record shop. You can also smell them, and it conveys the atmosphere that you'll only get in these palaces of entertainment and vinyl! it's made for those who reluctantly now buy their music from the majors and hark back to a time when local was king - loved it!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2012
a really great film exploring the history of independent record shops across the UK: thoughtful and engaging with very enjoyable interviews with shop owners and music celebs: a celebration with bite: a must have for anyone whose really into their music Last Shop Standing: The Rise, Fall And Rebirth Of The Independent Record Shop [DVD]
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 September 2012
Overall I really enjoyed Last Shop Standing a documentary covering the rise; fall and rebirth of the independent Record Shop (remember them?). The DVD shares some of the characteristics of the shops it describes, i.e. slightly rough around the edges (the jerky camera work for instance), but done with obvious love. The makers should be praised for not only having produced a very good documentary but for also documenting - perhaps just in time - some of the truly great shops that still remain. What shines out is that these `final few' are far more than places than just sell music, they are important to their local community, somewhere where people can still talk face to face and share their passion. The DVD is quite short at 50 minutes, but considering what this documentary was made for this can be more than forgiven. Buy it now or catch it in your local record shop - and if you haven't been in there for years do yourself a favour and pop along today, you might just rediscover the true magic of music.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2012
This is a good documentary about the independent music stores. And their will to survive. AND the survival of Vinyl Records.

A pure joy to watch, since i grew up with vinyl, the local records store and went on to run my own record store.
Sadly we were one of the stores that fell on the "battlefield". But i'm happy to see that some of us came through on the other side
And to inspire others open up new stores.

VINYL RULES!!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
I bought this just as my two oldest sons were 'discovering' vinyl. Lots of nostalgia but the characters featured make good viewing and there's a positive 'twist': Small independent record shops may well still have a vibrant future! Let's hope so. Prompted me to get back out there and start buying all the stuff that I should have listened to when I was a teenager! Really worth buying and watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2012
if you ever wondered why record shops were so intrinsic to the music industry and where they had all gone and why, then this is a real must see for all true music fans
full of great insights, powerful sad and funny interviews / beautiful imagery of record shops with some great archive and proper real storytelling: well done a great film
Last Shop Standing: The Rise, Fall And Rebirth Of The Independent Record Shop [DVD]
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2013
Vinyl is experiencing a revival and I think alot of this phenomenon is down to the culture of the shops that sell the records. This is a lovely film discussing why and how record shops have been so important to music and collecting for years and why we should patronise them and keep them in business. Very cute film, highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2013
A fantastic and interesting film, exploring the history of record shops. The film is 50 minutes long but full of amazing amount of interesting interviews, with great archives and story telling. If you we're bought up in the vinyl years this is a real must for you to buy. A real beautifully made film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2015
supported this film when the idea first was being developed, but they are self-obsessed and opinionated - don't bother with this, a complete waste of time who think they are the only people who know anything about music. totally arrogant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse