Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does The Job
Having just used this guide to travel around Israel, I can say it is useful and fairly accurate. I have used lonely planet guide for years, although still not sure if I prefer the new layouts of them. I do feel that the guide provides a fair relection of both Israel and the Palestinian Territories which are both easy to get around with using public transport. My main tip...
Published on 30 Sept. 2012 by Mezzie

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for Jerusalem and the West Bank not for Tel Aviv
The information provided in the book is mostly helpful, useful and pertinent. There is a good deal of political commentary throughout, which takes on the bias of the writers. I have no problem with other people's political angles but have to question that whether it should belong in a travel guide.

The hotel sections are sorely lacking information, and it feels...
Published on 5 Dec. 2012 by Griggs


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for Jerusalem and the West Bank not for Tel Aviv, 5 Dec. 2012
By 
Griggs (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The information provided in the book is mostly helpful, useful and pertinent. There is a good deal of political commentary throughout, which takes on the bias of the writers. I have no problem with other people's political angles but have to question that whether it should belong in a travel guide.

The hotel sections are sorely lacking information, and it feels that Tel Aviv is neglected in favour of Jerusalem.

Sections on the West Bank are fully thorough and better than other guidebooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Passable, but ommits important info in some areas., 19 July 2014
By 
Is it too much to expect even a basic map of Nablus, Jenin and Kiryat Shmona (a big city) in a guidebook, when elsewhere in the guidebook an author wil gobble up two pages or more waffling on about their favourite pet interest and 'factoids' that may be interesting in themselves but at the great expense of nuts and bolts practical logistical info that travellers need.

I mean, even LP guides going back decades at least gave you a basic schematic map of a place, especially if such a place has multiple departure points for transport (as is the case in Nablus). I see this as just one example of where LP is slipping.

It has improved in other ways, but silly ommisions like that just slow travellers down. Secondly, when I buy a hardcopy paper guidebook I don't expect to read - "For more information on things to do and see, go to www.nablusguide.com" on a page. Owning a hard copy guide book should afford me the luxury of not having to carry a smartphone / netbook / laptop or tracking down an internet cafe. Authors outsourcing work by referring me to a website because they couldn't be bothered to research a place enough, makes me wonder why I bought the paper book in the first place. Clearly I have a few grievances with this book, several of which I'll spare you. On the credit side, it does cover some other areas well enough. Its information on areas in the Dead Sea was pretty good, as were pages on Jerusalem. On Golan it is quite light on coverage and if you are a budget traveller you probably wouldn't be using this guidebook for Golan because they keep listing zimmers and such accomodation which is extremely expensive for most travellers to consider. Camping and hiking is the way to explore Golan, unless you are wealthy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does The Job, 30 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having just used this guide to travel around Israel, I can say it is useful and fairly accurate. I have used lonely planet guide for years, although still not sure if I prefer the new layouts of them. I do feel that the guide provides a fair relection of both Israel and the Palestinian Territories which are both easy to get around with using public transport. My main tip if your going, there are much better places to eat hummus than at Abu Gosh as highlighted in this guide. I went and did not rate the hummus and prices gone up from what is highlighted in the guide. No locals spotted at the places either. Try the old city of Jerusalem, or the market area where you will get the real thing and eat with the locals................
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well researched, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Maybe it's because I';m used to Rough Guides but I found this a bit more difficult to use - for example, there's not much on the history especially on the kibbutz/moshav movement. Good though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, invaluable, 4 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Incredibly useful, dont think I could have lived without it.Such a wealth of information, would definitely recommend for a budget traveler going to the region.,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative and up to date, 10 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good book. Very informative, non biased, with some interesting snippets of history and background. I would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful read before your trip to Israel., 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A must read before any trip to the holy land. Provides all the useful info, sights, transport, eateries and bars you may need for the holiday. Also good advice on how not to get into trouble.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ideal companion to a visit to Israel, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent guide. Very helpful, so good that the person we visited who had been living in Israel for a year asked us to leave it with him . There were places he didn't know about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful information, 18 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As always useful information, Lonely Planet. Although more maps would have been helpful but otherwise very informative a good purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lonely Planet Israel, 9 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yes this was a very useful guide on my recent trip to Israel. Would recommend it. to anyone going there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews