Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars70
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£24.83+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 May 2015
Yeah, right, I'm going to render an opinion on this. It's a timeless masterpiece.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
Classic Film DVD. very prompt delivery from seller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2002
then you might be intrigued by the different scenarios that Kurusawa has presented in his Oscar winning masterpiece. Set in 12th century Japan, the movie depicts the human emotions and the accompanied lust, desire and deceit in the human actions. Four participants of a rape and a murder present their accounts in their own ways and none of them is trustworthy. The viewer needs to wade through the confusion and contradiction presented in the description of all the witnesses of the event. The movie depicts today's world in some sense and till the end the viewer never gets an absolute account of what really happened. Rashomon was the largest gate in Kyoto contructed in 789. The decline of West Kyoto was accompanied by the damage of the gate turning the entire place into a hideout for bandits, robberers.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2010
I love the one-star review here ("One rubbish sword fight"!). The reviewer is right, of course. 'Rashoman' (even in this well-mounted package) is still marketed as if it was a seminal Samurai slasher. This would be legitimate for 'The Seven Samurai' but is completely inappropriate for what is an essentially theatrical tale calculated to impress a self-regarding audience.

I was disappointed that so little in the film reflected Akutagawa's compelling writing; but an artist of Kurosowa's stature could hardly be faulted for disappointing either me or the aforementioned martial arts fan. Most of the good things said here about 'Rashoman' are deserved and I'd add praise for Machiko Kyo, who gives a first-time outing for one of Kurosawa's mad-bat women characters (the ones whose unabated use of their sex-appeal in a repressed society calls to mind someone killing moths in telephone booth with a flame-thrower).

Still: 'Rashoman', like early Hitchcock films, is these days arguably best left to movie buffs and Kurosawa completists.

Not that there isn't every reason to become one of the latter...
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
I have to say that as good as Kurosawa is, and it does not get much better than that, the story and acting seemed slightly amiss for me and I have had a fair exposure to japanese cinema across the years and not just Kurosawa-san. Still worth watching mind.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2015
Simply has to be seen. A work of genius.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2015
Excellent product and service. 10/10.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2016
A classic art house cinema.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
Fast and perfect trade. :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2001
This film set the cinema on a new course due to the inventiveness of its narrative, and is a masterpiece of story-telling. Very rarely shown on television, it is a surprise and a delight to see it has been released on DVD.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.