Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag
I thought this anthology was a mixed bag of brilliance mixed up with some pretentious clap-trap. Here's the thing: most readers want to just get on with reading a well-written story.
The winning story: Naked as Eve was a worthy winner. The other stories that stayed with me were: Going Grapefruit and I Once Knew Salman Rushdie. The anthology was worth buying for these...
Published 23 months ago by Gypsy

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A few stand-outs
A bit hit-and-miss and a similar 'feel' to many of the stories - as though the writers had been on the same writing course. Bit too slick and middle-class. The only two that stood out for me were 'Going Grapefruit' by Ian Richards and 'People Like Her' by Kerry Hood for their original language and characters.
Published on 4 Dec 2012 by a reader


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Mixed Bag, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bristol Short Story Prize Anthology Volume 5 (Kindle Edition)
I thought this anthology was a mixed bag of brilliance mixed up with some pretentious clap-trap. Here's the thing: most readers want to just get on with reading a well-written story.
The winning story: Naked as Eve was a worthy winner. The other stories that stayed with me were: Going Grapefruit and I Once Knew Salman Rushdie. The anthology was worth buying for these stories alone.
My final comment is that these stories are supposed to be fiction and Running to Nuthin' is essentially Hank Skinner's story, lifted from the Channel 4 documentary series: death-row. Obviously none of the judges watched that series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A few stand-outs, 4 Dec 2012
This review is from: Bristol Short Story Prize Anthology Volume 5 (Kindle Edition)
A bit hit-and-miss and a similar 'feel' to many of the stories - as though the writers had been on the same writing course. Bit too slick and middle-class. The only two that stood out for me were 'Going Grapefruit' by Ian Richards and 'People Like Her' by Kerry Hood for their original language and characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Too much emphasis on style, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bristol Short Story Prize Anthology Volume 5 (Kindle Edition)
I found most of the short stories in this anthology to be strong on style and creative writing skill but rather short on meaningful content and not engaging. It's all a matter of personal taste, I suppose.

Chris Allen is a Technical Author and writer with the following books available on Amazon:
The Beam of Interest: Taken by Storm
Hypnotic Tales 2013: Some Light Some Dark
Call of the Void: The Strange Life and Times of a Confused Person: 1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Short stories lacking in humanity, 24 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bristol Short Story Prize Anthology Volume 5 (Kindle Edition)
I wasn't keen on the type of short story contained in this anthology. I get the distinct impression that they are written by academics, for academics, to be judged by academics. Most of the entries for this competition lacked in warmth, positive direction and often too wordy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 1 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bristol Short Story Prize Anthology Volume 5 (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed reading this collection, even if I found some of the stories a little depressing. The Bristol Short Story Prize is a great concept which I am sure will go from strength to strength.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Depends on you, 2 Mar 2013
By 
Graham Rippon (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bristol Short Story Prize Anthology Volume 5 (Kindle Edition)
All of the stories are well-written. Whether you'll like them, though,depends on just how "literary" or academic your tastes are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews