Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as other reviews suggest.
It was with great trepidation that I bought this item after reading the reviews for REC3. This is not really a film I would classify in the REC series as it bears little resemblance to the first two which are both 5 star films, hence the 4 star review. However, as a stand alone film this movie is good fun. Yes, it gets farcical at times but I actually found this to be a...
Published on 16 July 2013 by tallan24

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why did they make this?
I loved REC1 and 2, but REC 3 shouldn't have been made for the following reasons:
- The incredibly long (and boring) lead-up before you even reach the movie title screen seems to take half the movie length
- Removing the hand-held camera footage (which was the whole point of "REC" i.e. RECord) and making it a standard movie was incredibly stupid. They...
Published 14 months ago by Michael Dooley


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why did they make this?, 17 May 2014
This review is from: [Rec] Genesis [DVD] (DVD)
I loved REC1 and 2, but REC 3 shouldn't have been made for the following reasons:
- The incredibly long (and boring) lead-up before you even reach the movie title screen seems to take half the movie length
- Removing the hand-held camera footage (which was the whole point of "REC" i.e. RECord) and making it a standard movie was incredibly stupid. They may as well have just called it another title and not used "REC" at all.
- Making the movie into an almost Evil Dead style (and not in a good way) stupid horror/comedy again lost the suspense of the two previous movies.
They couldn't even decide if the zombies/demons should shamble or be running super-zombies so they had them do both for no reason whatsoever!
Congratulations on screwing up the series :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why? Why do you change the style, REC?, 21 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: [Rec] Genesis [DVD] (DVD)
Well, I am a fan of the REC series. I absolutely love the first of the series and the second one. This one just disappointed me in some ways. I was expecting the old style of handheld cams in the first and second one but this one just lasts for like 20 minutes then it change to cinematic style. The other downside thing is they made some of the scenes look funny. Please! I want the old handheld camera style back please! However, I am still giving three stars for the cinematic style. Not bad but please don't put any comedy scenes in between. That will spoil the mood. Love it but would like to hate it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars WHY? PLEASE TELL ME WHY?, 31 Oct. 2012
By 
This review is from: [Rec] Genesis [DVD] (DVD)
How can one film destroy a fantastic couple of films? I'm not stupid, we've seen it happen with Hellraisers, Elm STreets, etc, but that is usually due to a new team of producers or whatever. This time it's the fault of one of the duo who created the first two classics. And they are classics. It's rare to find films of such power in the last decade or so. They were fast paced, took themselves seriously and actaully used handheld wobblecams to a good effect.
Part 3 whether it's a prequel or whatever is none of the above. The zombie/demons have slowed down to be stumbling almost pitiful creatures who actually stand and stare at you for half an hour before shambling over, the film is almost a comedy in parts even introducing comedy characters to the cast, and the handheld is ditched within the first quarter.
The whole concept of rampaging fast demons from the first two are now undone beceause you won't believe how simple it is for a priest to stop the mass of killings!!!!
The acting is wooden and it seems as if the main characters are not taking it seriously, simply planning what to buy with their wages afterwards. The effects are so-so if you're in a forgiving mood.

What almost saves the film is the final six or so minutes. Is it worth watching for a few minutes of salvage? Ummm.

Had the first two not existed this would still be a ruined opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ST. GEORGE THE ZOMBIE SLAYER, 18 May 2013
This review is from: [Rec] Genesis [DVD] (DVD)
The film opens with a wedding and the hand held camera genre. One of the film makers is a professional photographer who has a device to steady his camera. Without this device the camera jerks around making the film "unwatchable." During the reception an unexplained zombie infestation breaks out as uncle swan dives from the balcony. This localized zombie infestation spreads to the wedding party and soon the bride (Leticia Dolera) and groom (Diego Martín) have memories for a lifetime.

These zombies are semi-intelligent, semi-foot dragging, and respond to scripture spoken. Their faces are cover with indelible blood that stays on in a heavy down pour. The film genre has moved from a suspenseful hand held film to a campy bloody zombie slasher complete with the bride toting a chainsaw. Oh the things we do for love. I guess it is what you are into. "Rec" fans will surly hate it while fans of campy zombie films have another one for the marathon.

Parental Guide: F-bombs, implied sex scene, a distant nude scene plus some weird mirror horror nudity. And of course blood, and dismembered body parts approaching Troma style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 3 Nov. 2014
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Rec 3 is a departure from the first two film in the series. Carrying on with the zombie type infection but ditching the handheld camera view was a brave move. But was it a move that paid off? Not really. The shaky cam genre is all but worn out and to find new ground within its confined walls is and will always be difficult. So the trick is to use it in a masterful way and create something truly special.

Rec 1 + 2 did this perfectly. They took a style that was starting to become the norm and injected it with some real energy making two of the scariest most adrenaline pumped films in the last decade. Genesis (rec3) loses this style in favour of the traditional fixed camera and in doing so loses the majority of its personality.

The fear factor has dropped dramatically and the film even seems to be making a joke of itself adding in comedic beats to flesh out the quieter moments. The zombies are shamblers and when they do leg it they don’t have the same outright scariness without the handheld nature of the filming. The urgency and claustrophobic feel is lost which and the true horror elements have gone too.

It is enjoyable but not if you are expecting a traditional Rec film. On its own merits it would happily pass an hour or so. The gore count is high, the setting it quite interesting but it needed more than that. The characters are really quite annoying and there is no one to truly root for. Even the main crux of the story wont entice you to egg these people on.

A deflated and strange departure for what was once a classic series of films. Hopefully the next instalment can put it right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as other reviews suggest., 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was with great trepidation that I bought this item after reading the reviews for REC3. This is not really a film I would classify in the REC series as it bears little resemblance to the first two which are both 5 star films, hence the 4 star review. However, as a stand alone film this movie is good fun. Yes, it gets farcical at times but I actually found this to be a refreshing change. I can understand why some die hard REC fans find this film insulting but if you go in with the mindset that it's going to be really bad you just might be surprised. All in all a little gem of a film for under a tenner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A real let down and ruined a top horror franchise., 16 Mar. 2015
This review is from: [Rec] Genesis [DVD] (DVD)
After two barnstorming horror films especially the classic first i couldn't wait to see the next installment of this awesome horror franchise but i have to say this third film is a major disappointment and has let the fans down.
Nearly everything about this second sequel to Rec is a let down whether its losing the found footage element of the first two which makes it more like a true film instead of the documentary feel of the other two,making it more comical which completely changes the serious tone of the first two films,making the infected fast moving then slow moving the next which is stupid as they can't be both and the worst is the terrible acting which annoys me as the brilliant acting was one of the best things about the other films but here its like they are not taking a virus outbreak seriously and it never really feels scary because of it.
I knew before hand the story was set away from the apartment block but in the same time frame as we hear briefly about the other outbreak of the virus.This story is set at a wedding where after a happy start we get a outbreak of the demonic virus.
As i said before this is treated more like a comedy with horror thrown into it but the real problem is its not funny at all just daft and its nowhere near as scary as the first two which chilled me to the core and even though there was blood and gore in the other films there was too much for me in this third one.
The acting was hopeless as i already said with no one seeming to be that scared or worried that people have turned into raging lunatics and the film because of this is not scary like it should be.
There are few things in this stopping it being a 1 star film for example i like the location even if they could of used it better,the action scenes are very good and the lead actress does try her best at least.
But it doesn't make up for a silly(too much religious mentions,slow and fast zombies),unfunny and downright stupid follow up to two incredible horror movies.
At least it ends decent and sets up the last film Apocalypse which i havn't watched yet but it goes back to serious tone i think which if great then we will imagine this one never happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun, but not in the same league, and a very different tone, 7 Mar. 2015
I was a big fan of the first 2 films, so wanted to see what all the fuss was about and why Rec 3 got such mixed reviews. Having seen it, I can understand.
There are several things the film-makers get right: the central couple are lovely, and both good actors. The build-up, to introduce us to the scene and set a tone of normality is lengthy (probably too lengthy for some viewers), and lets you become fond of the supporting cast. The religious element is strongly present again, to differentiate it from being just another 'zombie-esque plague' film, and the gore is severe.
What they got wrong (for me at least): the absurdist humour which is dealt out in heavy-handed doses was completely at odds with the visceral terror of the first 2 films (and the first quarter of this one) where you feel like you're genuinely being sucked into found footage of a terrifying zombie-style apocalypse. The daft moments of silliness, and far more frequently used sick humour don't work as well against the visceral terror of found-footage living-dead attacks as they would in a more conventional 'studio'-style film, and break you out of the suspension of disbelief.
I also hated the transition from 'found footage' handheld filming to traditional 'third person' movie filming where everything is suddenly nicely framed and lit with accompanying soundtrack music. I felt it was a terrible wrench, and it not only diminished the film but made the acting seem les convincing, as a different style is normally used in found-footage 'imitation reality' than is used in traditional movie style, so for about ten minutes the actors just seemed quite bad, until I adjusted and got sucked back into the plot.
The plot itself is less secretive and conspiratorial than Rec 2, simply being 'what's going on?' and 'how do we escape it'?
So, with so many flaws that I actively disliked, why have I rated this a '3' out of '5'? Because even with all those flaws, it still rises above many run of the mill Hollywood apocalypse direct-to-video money-spinners and manages to be intermittently terrifying, tense and exciting.
It isn't a great film, but at least it tried to be something different.
It just had such a high bar to live up to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Emotional Rec, 19 Sept. 2013
By 
This review is from: [Rec] Genesis [DVD] (DVD)
`Rec' and `Rec 2' are a couple of excellent low budget horror films that came out of Spain and put the heebie-jeebies into me. They masked their low budgets by creating a zombie like film in the handheld style. They also stayed true to the rules of using found footage; you believed that the cameras would be there. `Rec 3: Genesis' should have been more of the same, more great found footage horror, but this time at a wedding. This is a perfect scenario for HDD camcorders to be used as people film the happy couple; why then jettison the whole concept in favour of making a straight zombie/occult film?

The opening scenes of `Rec 3' are the best. You are introduced to the happy couple and their guests via camcorder footage and you can feel their impending doom. However, director Paco Plaza is playing a joke on us, the film is actually going to be shot using conventional film techniques. The unique selling point of the franchise is now gone. You are left with a cheapo zombie film than can no longer hide its low budget origins, it all looks a bit rubbish. The tone shifts as the film makers must have realised that horror does not work if it looks naff. All of a sudden you are trapped in a subpar `Shaun of the Dead' rip-off that is not funny or impressive looking.

It is not helped that with conventional cameras comes the need for conventional actors. The cast in `Rec 3' are universally poor, in particular the bride and groom. They gurn around the screen taking ridiculous risks for one another; not caring that they doom another member of their family almost every five minutes. They could all have just met in the car park or something like sensible people. `Rec 3' is awful; made worse by the fact it destroys a legacy of two very good films. By stripping away the found footage `gimmick' Plaza is trying to say, "look, the Rec series has evolved". Unfortunately, they have evolved into making rubbish zombie films that will be direct to DVD from now on.

The film is pretty cheap, so the BluRay does little else but highlight some of the poorer special effects. The version I saw had no extras on the disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as expected - but far from great, 9 Nov. 2012
By 
Sam Woodward (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: [Rec] Genesis [DVD] (DVD)
I really liked the first 2 Rec films but couldn't help but notice that most of the reviews for this one are less than flattering. So I was pleasantly surprised that it actually started quite well. It began as camcorder footage of a wedding, where we discover that one of the guests has been recently bitten by a dog... But the problem is, once it all hits the fan & the reception rapidly disintegrates into an impromptu all-you-can-eat buffet for zombies, something truly horrifying happens - the film switches to conventional cinematic camerawork & mood music *gasp*. I must grudgingly admit this was a necessary move because events happen in the film which couldn't really be caught on camcorder but it also shatters the atmosphere which was crucial in making the first two films work. Because let's face it, they weren't perfect but their flaws were easily forgiven by the sheer creepiness & tension. Duringthe first 2 outings, I was far too scared to worry much about plot details; this time round, I was too busy shaking my head at the lame attempts at comedy to be scared.

Anyway, I kept watching & thought 'okay, this isn't a patch on the first two but still isn't as bad as I thought it would be'. But then it just kept getting sillier. And sillier. In a bad way. Halfway through this film, I felt 'it isn't great but is still worth watching for anyone who's seen the first two'. But by the end, even this was a stretch. And I didn't find the message behind it particularly interesting or convincing either - characters act in a way we are supposed to admire but instead I felt they were naive, idealistic & not very bright. Plus stuff that happens in dark, creepy buildings tend to look a bit daft when wandering around in daylight.

The team behind Rec clearly got their hands on a much bigger budget & used it to steer the series in a bold new direction - one which was always going to be a hard sell. But it tries too hard to be funny & cool - and fails miserably at being both. There's a few story elements which diehard fans will like but overall I'm hoping that this will be a Freddy 2 movie - that the makers will put it behind them & make a fourth film which is much more faithful. It was brave of them to try something different but sadly they didn't pull it off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews