Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A terrific evening and a fantastic souvenir.
Having been present at the BT London Live Closing Ceremony in Hyde Park, I was curious to see if Blur really were as good as I remembered on that August evening. I am happy to report that this CD and DVD surpassed my expectations. Having seen four bands that day including both the Specials and New Order, Blur still managed to put on the best performance (and that is...
Published 19 months ago by Mr. Oliver D. L. Barton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Unpolished,,genuine live sound
Well, certainly a live album for the purist, not a lot of overdubs here! In fairness, more live albums should be less polished like this and u really get to appreciate just how good a guitarist graham coxen is.
Published 23 days ago by Darren


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A terrific evening and a fantastic souvenir., 7 Dec 2012
Having been present at the BT London Live Closing Ceremony in Hyde Park, I was curious to see if Blur really were as good as I remembered on that August evening. I am happy to report that this CD and DVD surpassed my expectations. Having seen four bands that day including both the Specials and New Order, Blur still managed to put on the best performance (and that is saying something!).
Playing a set that included something for everybody including all the hits as well as some deeper cuts from albums 13 and Modern Life Is Rubbish, this is a truly stunning comeback from a band that has been away for far too long.
Tracks such as "Trimm Trabb" and "Caramel" sift seamlessly into the big hits "Parklife", "Country House" and "Song 2". And this is where the real treasure of this collection lies in that Blur are able to be unanimous crowd pleasers as well as artistic geniuses.
Anyone worried about the state of Damon Albarn's vocal cords after the Brit Awards performance need not be as he is able with ease to work his way through songs such as "This Is A Low" and "The Universal" with ease and show delicacy in such songs as "No Distance Left To Run" without any strain. Graham Coxon, Alex James and Dave Rowntree are also all on top form and seem to have real fun bouncing off of each other with even Coxon enjoying the joyful knees-up of "Country House". And for those interested, "Under The Westway" fits perfectly into the set and is one of the major highlights.
The songs from the "100 Club" performance are of equal quality and I must say how great it is to see "Young And Lovely", "Bugman" and "Oily Water" being performed again. Whether listening to this in the car and shouting along to the lyrics or trying to spot yourself in the audience on the DVD, this is a great purchase even if the price label for the deluxe edition is a little too steep for most fans.
The book features high quality photographs of the performances but little else for the die-hard fan. It is great though for fans who ordered off of the Blur website to have your name printed in the book which is a brilliant idea and just adds to the value for someone like myself. Still if you are only interested in the Hyde Park performance, it is probably best to go for the album and DVD seperately which currently is much cheaper.
So in conclusion, a great little memory piece for one of the finest gigs I have had the pleasure of seeing. However, as stated previously, I would imagine the deluxe ediion to have less value for someone who wasn't actually there and for those people I recommend the far cheaper standard editions. Long live Blur and let's hope that a new studio album is one the way soon! 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Unpolished,,genuine live sound, 19 Jun 2014
Well, certainly a live album for the purist, not a lot of overdubs here! In fairness, more live albums should be less polished like this and u really get to appreciate just how good a guitarist graham coxen is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 5 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parklive (Live) (MP3 Download)
I was at this gig and it was the perfect way to end the Olympic fortnight. Blur were amazing and this is a great memento of a wonderful night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All the hits (again), 25 Jan 2013
By 
P. Drinkwater "albarn321" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Don't get me wrong I am a huge blur fan, owning a huge collection of their work. I think they are one of the best live bands around, with an amazing sound that replicates and also adds a twist to their studio recordings, which I think is important in a live show. No-one wants to hear a carbon copy of a studio recording when you see a live band. Having seen them live (and in Hyde Park)about 7 times over the last 15 years my biggest problem with this live show (and their others) comes down to the setlist. As a band that has a huge back catalog and a solid fan base, they shouldn't be affraid to mix it up a bit more. Its a great success when they do as Caramel sounds amazing in this set. Parklife - Check, For Tomorrow - Check, This is a Low - Check. And you could take any version of these from live sources and find they tend to sound exactly the same (although full of energy).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very cool!
Absolutely great concert in a perfect package.
object absolutely to have for any old or new KASABIAN fan.
Recommended.
The sound is very clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good value, 2 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was Christmas present. I thought it was good value and cheaper than retail shops. It was the real deal. Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why another live set?, 4 Jan 2013
What a surprise: The Indie flagship of the 1990s is back on track with ...yes, with another comprehensive live recording. After the VHS tapes "Starshaped" and "Showtime", the audio releases "Live at the Budokan" and "All the people" (being released just two years ago), concert films "Live at Glastonbury" and "No distance left to run", numerous special editions with additional live tracks (eg. the best of 10 track, the Universal live EP), not to mention dozens of live bootlegs (have I left anything out?) - they come up with just another live set. And despite being a loyal supporter, this is getting a bit out of hand here, isn't it? Personally I don't want to own the hundredth live version of "Country house" or "Parklife", nor is it an uplifting feeling to buy a souvenir recording like this, even if the seductive cover nearly made me click the "buy it now" button. Apparantly my insipid soul has grown stronger over the years ... I'm going to save my money for the next studio album of Albarn and Co.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Parklive (Live)
Buy MP3 Album10.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews