Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OOZING POTENTIAL
My first introduction to The Vaccines from West London and labelled 'Indie' or 'Alternative' which covers a wide range of modern genres but for a tighter classification on the strength of this album I would say 'melodic pop rock' with a teaspoonful of 'Ramone Punk' stirred in. For a band that has been going for only 2 years their progression and maturity as a cohesive...
Published on 26 Sept. 2012 by DOPPLEGANGER

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not up to expectations
Don't get me wrong, I loved The Vaccines 1st album and I was really looking forward to listening to this. After listening to it several times I just didn't 'get it' I can't say any of the tracks are memorable. Think the cd may end up gathering dust in the cd cabinet.
Published on 23 Dec. 2012 by Fairbs


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not up to expectations, 23 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come Of Age (Audio CD)
Don't get me wrong, I loved The Vaccines 1st album and I was really looking forward to listening to this. After listening to it several times I just didn't 'get it' I can't say any of the tracks are memorable. Think the cd may end up gathering dust in the cd cabinet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OOZING POTENTIAL, 26 Sept. 2012
By 
DOPPLEGANGER (TEDDY B) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Come Of Age (Audio CD)
My first introduction to The Vaccines from West London and labelled 'Indie' or 'Alternative' which covers a wide range of modern genres but for a tighter classification on the strength of this album I would say 'melodic pop rock' with a teaspoonful of 'Ramone Punk' stirred in. For a band that has been going for only 2 years their progression and maturity as a cohesive musical force is, indeed impressive with extensive tours with the likes of The Stone Roses, Arctic Monkeys, and The Walkmen together with the release of 2 albums, "Come Of Age" being the second.

The general theme of their work does not exude too much happiness or optimism in the lyrics but is scored, vocalised and played with a lightness of touch and an always present 'chug-a-long' rhythmic drive.

Stand-outs? Not an inferior track in sight but mainly good, strong offerings such as "No Hope", "Teenage Icons", "I Always Knew", "Aftershave Ocean", and "Change Of Heart" with joint personal favorites "Wierdo", and "Lonely World".

A really good second album and if their progression over the next few years is as outstanding as their first two years then The Vaccines will be a force to be reckoned with on the global music stage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good second album, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come Of Age (Audio CD)
Not as strong as the first but if you like a good rift then you'll find a few you'll love here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Age of style, 28 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come Of Age (MP3 Download)
A great little album that rocks as well as it pops. These guys seem to get better and better and very quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 23 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come Of Age (Audio CD)
Such a great album by The Vaccines and at such a cheap price, you can't afford to have a sunny day without this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If, like me, you're new to The Vaccines then this album is an excellent place to start. Not only do you have the extended version of Come of Age (which is a fantastic piece of songwriting), you also have a live show featuring a lot of songs of What Did You Expect from The Vaccines - so all in all this is a great introduction to this exciting band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it now!!, 29 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come Of Age (Audio CD)
From the anthemic Bad Mood to the brilliant I Always Knew this album is a must own especially if you already own What did you Expect from The Vaccines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Come Of Age - The Vaccines, 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A mate said to me "download Come Of Age, there isn't a bad song on it" A simple instruction, so I did. He wasn't wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not in a Bad Mood., 4 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come Of Age (MP3 Download)
Good, uplifting and up tempo album. Lots of singles of the album add that air of familiarity from radio play. Nice to have some good guitar music produced in the UK and quality indie anthems that can be sung at many a festival.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 1 Jun. 2013
By 
T. Heigh "petal lamb" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Come Of Age (Audio CD)
love this album, punky, rocky and witty....what can i say....... these are the best vaccines since the polio one was invented
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Come Of Age
Come Of Age by The Vaccines
Buy MP3 Album£5.89
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews