Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short and sweet - just like the album.
8 tracks, 7 of which are wonderful. Beautiful harmonies, a simple acoustic sound which charms you from the first listen. For the price, there shouldn't even be a hesitation. Buy it.
Published on 1 May 2010 by Amazon Customer

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great debut
From girls so young when this a great record was produced this is a great EP. Whilst still a little unrefined, you can hear their potential, and in contrast with their subsequent albums you can really see the effort, love, and craftsmanship that they have developed over a very short period of time.
Published 16 months ago by C2


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Short and sweet - just like the album., 1 May 2010
By 
Amazon Customer (West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Drunken Trees EP (Audio CD)
8 tracks, 7 of which are wonderful. Beautiful harmonies, a simple acoustic sound which charms you from the first listen. For the price, there shouldn't even be a hesitation. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A refreshing beautiful old world type of sound from young talents, 19 Feb 2010
This review is from: Drunken Trees EP (MP3 Download)
I came across First Aid Kit from a recommendation in a newspaper - which is a very unusual way of finding new music, especially for me. However, I like the short bio I read and decided to check out their myspace. I was not disappointed. Their music was poignant, haunting and varied maintaining a distinct and pleasing sound. I knew immediately after listening to all the tracks there that I had to download something of theirs. I thought this was the perfect place and start and their debut EP hasn't disappointed. They seem very charming people, with gripping songs and a rare old type of sound that isn't hear much these days - especially by young musicians. I can't wait and look forward to hearing more from them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely stunning!, 4 Aug 2009
This review is from: Drunken Trees EP (Audio CD)
I've had this album for a few months and still play it nearly every day and I have a hell of a lot of CD's lol and have music on almost constantly. I stumbled upon them on youtube and got goosebumps the first time I heard them sing then came straight to amazon and bought the cd :-) They have a new album out this year and I can't wait for it's release. I won't go through every song on the album because it's easy to go off and have a listen to them for yourself before buying but be aware if you do go searching for them, there are another music group called First Aid Kit lol, to avoid any confusion! Buy it, you won't regret it! Seriously, I know enough to enough about music (through most genres and away from mainstream mostly cr*p chart stuff) to know that this is flawless from start to finish. The only down side is that is quite short, 8 songs long but then a lot of albums have 'fillers', this doesn't, there are no obvious 'best' songs, this album is a real gem and I'm so glad to have found it. The album was produced by their Father, there's no commercial cr*p, just two talented youngsters communicating with purity and beauty like it should be, it's really refreshing. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What A Way To Make A Living, 4 Mar 2009
By 
Gannon (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drunken Trees EP (Audio CD)
`Drunken Trees' is an 8-track mini-album full of sweet, lady-voiced folk. First Aid Kit comprise of Swedish teenage sisters and they peddle a fine line in swoonsome acoustica. Currently, they are most famous for covering the Fleet Foxes `Tiger Mountain Peasant Song' and, faithful and pleasing rendition as it is, one can't but get the feeling they are about to become famous in their own right, no matter the beardy shadow cast across their peer group.

`You're Not Coming Home Tonight' has a toe-tapping country feel to it, daring to talk of hallowed `9 to 5' routines. `Jagadamba, You Might' has a little vocal menace to the strumming and `Our Own Pretty Way' comes close to recalling Neko Case.

These are melodic, melancholic tales of love and loss and entirely suitable for discerning-campfire listening. A little keyboard and a driving bass line (Cross Oceans) lifts later tracks out of acoustic dependence but the whole is still comfortably lazy listening.

`Drunken Trees' has an aching beauty at its heart, much like the Fleet Foxes do, but they perhaps lack the depth the latter muster. What they do possess is resonance and First Aid Kit seem perfect for mending many a broken heart. This is music to fall in love to rather than with, a perfect accompaniment to that walk along the beach when you first took a special someone's hand. Entirely satisfying but frustratingly ephemeral, `Drunken Trees' 8 tracks are over before they began, and as such practically demand an extended stay in the player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great debut, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drunken Trees EP (Audio CD)
From girls so young when this a great record was produced this is a great EP. Whilst still a little unrefined, you can hear their potential, and in contrast with their subsequent albums you can really see the effort, love, and craftsmanship that they have developed over a very short period of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STUNNING !, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drunken Trees EP (MP3 Download)
FIRST AID KIT AT THEIR BEST IN MY OPINION. YOU WONT REGRET BUYING IT.BEST LISTENED TO IN THE WOODS,NICE AND LOUD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First example of First Aid Kits music when they were ..., 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drunken Trees (Audio CD)
First example of First Aid Kits music when they were still in high school, you can hear their potential even on these early songs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Recently Discovered First Aid Kit, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drunken Trees EP (MP3 Download)
Surprised that it has taken me so long to discover the brilliant song writing and singing of these two talented sisters, every track is a gem, definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth a listen, 26 July 2014
By 
Fionn Stafford "Bouncer the dog" (Castlebridge, Wexford, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drunken Trees EP (Audio CD)
Early First Aid Kit, nice songs but not as polished as the later albums. Nice innocence and freshness in the lyrics and singing. Definitley not a bad buy if you like the swedish duo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK but not brilliant., 1 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drunken Trees EP (Audio CD)
Not their best. Stay Gold is a much better album, Drunken trees is not worth bothering with unless you are really into First Aid Kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Drunken Trees
Drunken Trees by First Aid Kit (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews