Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Odd chivalry
This is a slight film but it's quirky and delightful. It deals with that awkward period of life we all go through and asks: What do we do in adolescence when the hormones are raging and the mood swings are in full swing? Don't answer because the question is rhetorical and we know what we do — or did.

Alma, aged 15, is in full thrall. Her urges are running...
Published 3 months ago by J. L. Sievert

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting & unique drama
Well written & interesting story & more realistic than American Pie. A little slow in places but also had a few good laughs at the dark humour.
Published 10 months ago by B. Perham


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Odd chivalry, 4 April 2015
By 
J. L. Sievert (Nara, Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turn Me On, Goddammit [DVD] (DVD)
This is a slight film but it's quirky and delightful. It deals with that awkward period of life we all go through and asks: What do we do in adolescence when the hormones are raging and the mood swings are in full swing? Don't answer because the question is rhetorical and we know what we do — or did.

Alma, aged 15, is in full thrall. Her urges are running riot through her brain and body and she's at their mercy, which is non-existent. Tortured by pleasure, she is learning to become adult.

She lives in a place she hates, a nowhere berg in the Norwegian north where nothing exciting ever happens. On the school bus each day she flips off the highway sign to the town (Skoddeheimen, pop.: close to zero) as she passes it, the raised middle finger part of the choreography of irreverence that sustains her. Rebellion is good, she intuits, when nothing else is going on.

She has heard of love but doesn't have a boyfriend to develop it with and practice on. Instead, she runs up massive phone bills with calls to a sex chat room in Oslo, paying to have a young man with vivid vocabulary talk dirty to her. Flat on her back on her bedroom floor she holds the handy phone in one hand and keeps the other hand trembling between her legs. She also collects porn magazines and naughty pictures on the net. Thanks to these delights she gets quite carried away with life while her single-mum mother sits in the kitchen and pretends not to hear what she's hearing and hopes the neighbours are the same or gone for the day.

But luckily for all concerned some odd chivalry still exists in the world. There's a party after school one evening at the youth club which Alma reluctantly goes to, the reluctance related to a complete lack of interesting boys her age or older who go to these parties. They're provincial boys with no experience and imagination in the fine art of loving, unlike her Oslo phone partner who routinely sticks his tongue into every crevice, crease and opening of her body with verbal ease and dexterity. But she goes, she's at the party, and we're glad she is because something out of the ordinary happens there.

Alma is bored, as always, trapped as she is in her town, school, age, body, life. She leaves the party and goes outside for a smoke or beer. Artur, a clumsy, self-conscious, tongue-tied boy follows her. She stands next to a wall and he sidles over to her.

Conversation for Artur, or what little there is of it, is actually a cover for what he has uncovered — his willie. It's there in his hand now and is pointing at Alma. And, we are made to notice, it isn't soft. And furthermore, since it's already there instead of in his underpants, he decides to do the sensible thing with it. Wordlessly, he pokes her with it. Right there in her thigh a few times. But that's it, the extent of his romancing. Having reached the limit of his courtship powers, he zips his fly up and goes back inside.

Now the drama turns and scandal ensues. Alma tells her girlfriends what Artur did with his willie to her but nobody believes her and Artur, no longer so chivalrous, cowardly denies it.

How will she, if she can, survive the scandal? With a great deal of grace, I think. In the end even Artur thinks so as well.

The beauty of the world is that we can laugh at these things. More tenderness and forgiveness, less judgement and morality, and the world becomes a better place for all, including randy teenagers.

The film gets five stars because it made me feel good and let me laugh at myself and at my own adolescence, distant in time now though it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 10 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turn Me On, Goddammit [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the funniest [teen] movies I've ever seen - it is so 'to the point' - you wouldn't see something like this coming out of Hollywood or the UK. I'm not a watcher of teen movies at all - in fact I hate them - but this is brilliant. The foreign film makers definitely 'do it' better!!

Poor old Alma is your normal, everyday horny teenager growing up in a small town and desperate to get some satisfaction, but she can't get no satisfaction! The poor girl ends up going to a party and gets more than she bargains for when one of her classmates takes out his willy and shoves it against her leg - a little shocked, she tells her friend and from then on in she is given the awful nickname of 'dickAlma' and things just go from bad to worse. But, she weathers it all with tremendous fortitude for a teenager and .... well, watch it ....you'll be so glad you did.

Truly hilarious stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars norwegian wood, 5 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turn Me On, Goddammit [DVD] (DVD)
very quirky dark comedy about a teenage girl discovering her sexuality . Its so refreshing to see this from a girls point of view and with out the usual American cheesy misfit [ Juno overhype ] . The Norwegian countryside looks magnificent , yet the teenagers are just as bored and mean to each other as any where else. Not since Rita Sue and Bob too has a film captured sexual needs to be no longer treated as a child but as a young woman .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Film, 16 Jan. 2013
This is a wonderful film which really captures what it means to be a teenager. It illustrates a young person surrounded by people who scorn and disown her. The setting is a symbol for her isolation. Wonderful acting by Helene Bergsholm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good subtitles!, 15 April 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turn Me On, Goddammit [DVD] (DVD)
I'd seen this film in a list of interesting films, and it really caught my eye. I like the way that it focuses on a female protagonist rather than a male one. It is important to note that it isn't in english, but the subtitling is great. The only downside is that it takes itself a bit too seriously, and with all the fantasy scenarios, it might be better if it was a little more lighthearted. It tries to follow the serious path of bullying with the weird fantasies, which doesn't quite work. Other than that, a really good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting & unique drama, 17 Aug. 2014
By 
B. Perham (Brisbane, QLD, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turn Me On, Goddammit [DVD] (DVD)
Well written & interesting story & more realistic than American Pie. A little slow in places but also had a few good laughs at the dark humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turn Me On, Dammit! Review, 26 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hey Dudes and Dudettes,

Great movie, bit like Easy A, but with that crazy European film sort of take on it. I liked the movie, I found it very real and could relate to it during my not so long ago high school years. I was also very happy with the time of delivery, and that they confirmed when they sent the package.

Thanks

Nathanael Semmler
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely delightful!, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turn Me On, Goddammit [DVD] (DVD)
Charming, quirky tale of teenage female friendship, beautifully acted and directed. (GUYS - if you are thinking that this might be titillating fap-material, IT ISN'T, so look elsewhere!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Quite Funny!, 14 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turn Me On, Goddammit [DVD] (DVD)
A charming coming of age comedy, with good leading actors & a decent script. Better than your average euro comedy drama.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 10 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Turn Me On, Goddammit [DVD] (DVD)
I love this film! Reading and watching at the same time... Easy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews