Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb prequel to Post-Human and Trans-Human
As soon as I started reading this book the story moved quickly and held me captivated. And as a prequel it really helps to underpin the Post-Human world that started this story. A.I. = Bad? Good? They way David weaves the story you not quite sure, the anticipation to find out drives you to read on and on... Seriously, I was looking for excuses to read so I could read...
Published on 31 Aug 2012 by Darren

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great pacing and world-building at the expense of deeper characterisation
I enjoyed the book for the most part -- it was somewhat reminiscent of the Deus Ex video game series, and I enjoyed the overall plot. One part in particular, however, which struck me as a bit distasteful, was [SPOILERS] the lead character's apprehension of and attack on a 9/11 hijacker. Aside from this, I found Dr. Aldous Gibson's name a little bit too of an on-the-nose...
Published 1 month ago by L S Parry


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb prequel to Post-Human and Trans-Human, 31 Aug 2012
By 
This review is from: Sub-Human (Book 1) (Post-Human Series) (Kindle Edition)
As soon as I started reading this book the story moved quickly and held me captivated. And as a prequel it really helps to underpin the Post-Human world that started this story. A.I. = Bad? Good? They way David weaves the story you not quite sure, the anticipation to find out drives you to read on and on... Seriously, I was looking for excuses to read so I could read the next chapter.

If you've read Post-Human/Trans-Human then this is a must. If you like William Gibson or Philip K Dick then I really believe you will enjoy David's books too.

Considering the prices of some lesser quality scifi ebooks, this set of books is a steal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great pacing and world-building at the expense of deeper characterisation, 6 Nov 2014
This review is from: Sub-Human (Book 1) (Post-Human Series) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the book for the most part -- it was somewhat reminiscent of the Deus Ex video game series, and I enjoyed the overall plot. One part in particular, however, which struck me as a bit distasteful, was [SPOILERS] the lead character's apprehension of and attack on a 9/11 hijacker. Aside from this, I found Dr. Aldous Gibson's name a little bit too of an on-the-nose reference to authors that have obviously inspired Mr. Simpson! The technology was enjoyable and well explained, the AI was a surprisingly benevolent character in a genre where AIs tend to be the bad guys, and I liked that Mr. Simpson was willing to place his characters in harm's way. I feel that the characterisation could use some work, however -- [SPOILERS] Aldous Gibson's transition from 'will take human life under no circumstances' to vengeful killer was a bit too fast for my liking.

I realise the above may seem overly critical, but it's a brisk, well paced book that kept me interested and kept me reading until the end. Will definitely continue with the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sub-Human (Book 1) (Post-Human Series) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed reading sub human once I got into it I was hooked. I found the ideas of AI really interesting and it was well implemented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inventive, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sub-Human (Book 1) (Post-Human Series) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed the novelty of the plot, although it was hard to suspend disbelief with most of the action, but not quite enough to look forward to the follow-ups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good starter book, 14 Jun 2014
By 
Colin Farrell "Fazfamily" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sub-Human (Book 1) (Post-Human Series) (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed it as a quick read, not the most technical of books, but enjoyable. A bit unbelievable at points, but well worth the money, will read the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sub-Human (Book 1) (Post-Human Series) (Kindle Edition)
This is the novel I've chosen to read first in this series.

I was impressed with the quick snap of the action, while still allowing time for relationships to blossom and for the reader to learn to care for the cast. The chapters are short, making the book seem to read faster. It made it easy to grab "just one more chapter" (ok, so maybe it was 5) before doing work.

At first I was slightly confused as to which side of the war wanted what, in hindsight I feel this was the intention. In a couple of places the author was also slow to clarify characters, especially when there was potential for more than one of the same person.

I would have liked a few more slow moments to really meet the cast, and for the author to have more care when it came to dialogue.

This was a very good book, I thoroughly enjoyed it and look forward to the rest of the series. It came close to getting 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars nice story, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sub-Human (Book 1) (Post-Human Series) (Kindle Edition)
interesting book, kept me involved for some days. well and smoothly written. These Titanic/ WTC epispdes were a little to bit cliche and naive, but finally ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sub-Human (Book 1) (Post-Human Series)
£3.05
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews