Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars common sense at last
I read this book in one sitting. Sensible discussion about myths and truths around dieting. Compelling reading and 'food for thought'
Published 21 months ago by P Oakley

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but lacks depth and has so much psuedo advertising
First the good points:
==============
It is an easy read explaining in terms that anyone can understand.

It is obviously written by someone who practices what he preaches.

It gives some advice that I am sure it correct and beneficial.

It is short enough not to get bogged down in detail.

Now the bad points:...
Published on 14 Mar. 2013 by Dan Goldfield


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but lacks depth and has so much psuedo advertising, 14 Mar. 2013
By 
Dan Goldfield (Cwmbran, Gwent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Health and Fitness Mistakes You Don't Know You're Making (The Build Muscle, Get Lean, and Stay Healthy Series) (Kindle Edition)
First the good points:
==============
It is an easy read explaining in terms that anyone can understand.

It is obviously written by someone who practices what he preaches.

It gives some advice that I am sure it correct and beneficial.

It is short enough not to get bogged down in detail.

Now the bad points:
=============
Page after page of advertisements for the author's other books - I'm quite capable of doing a search myself - then the author complains that other publications are just geared to selling you products!

The author states that he gives his advice in a "scientific and straightforward manner". But, no cross-referenced citations are provided just words along the lines of "Studies have shown..." What studies? A reference would be nice and actually give me confidence that they exist.

Some conclusions drawn I would doubt. But then, I suspect I have no more scientifically proven research to draw my conclusions than does the author for his counter opinion.

Conclusion:
=======
Whilst this book is a excellent place to start for those who want to have a basic grounding in the topic it covers, it gives just that: a basic grounding.

For those new to weight training, or indeed, any other forms of exercising, this book will hopefully make them think before they do any unintended damage to themselves. However, for those snippets of advice that go beyond the sphere of just good, old-fashioned, commonsense, I would not act on most of the information given without first seeking advice from an appropriately qualified person.

Unfortunately, much of the criticism that the author makes of other publications can quite easily be directed at this work itself - not really a good place to occupy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars common sense at last, 10 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Health and Fitness Mistakes You Don't Know You're Making (The Build Muscle, Get Lean, and Stay Healthy Series) (Kindle Edition)
I read this book in one sitting. Sensible discussion about myths and truths around dieting. Compelling reading and 'food for thought'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars finally a level headed look., 20 July 2013
By 
R. Askew (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Health and Fitness Mistakes You Don't Know You're Making (The Build Muscle, Get Lean, and Stay Healthy Series) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed this book greatly. It's nice to see someone using a level headed approach to the common myths that plague weight training and nutrition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Defintley worth a read !, 11 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Health and Fitness Mistakes You Don't Know You're Making (The Build Muscle, Get Lean, and Stay Healthy Series) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed reading this Kindle book. I don't consider myself a novice to a lot of the topics mentioned within this book. Having said that, it just clarified a few things that are stipulated on through the media, relating to diet and exercise. Don't do this, eat this, avoid that etc... Furthermore, it's easy to read (it only took me an hour and very insightful) it's easy to understand and no jargon is used. I would recommend this book to anyone who is interested in educating themselves within this area of health and fitness.

Thanks for sharing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Approved!!, 29 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Health and Fitness Mistakes You Don't Know You're Making (The Build Muscle, Get Lean, and Stay Healthy Series) (Kindle Edition)
This book was fascinating and had a lot of quality information that I'm sure has a lot of controversy. Some of the statements turned around my opinions. It was an interesting read that I'd recommend to more or less anyone. And it's free!!
On a negative note, it promotes fasting which is considerably risky considering the amount of people with eating disorders who would take the recommended fasting to the extreme. Also too much of the book is wasted on advertising. But apart from that, definitely, definitely worth the read!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 39% adverts, 30 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Health and Fitness Mistakes You Don't Know You're Making (The Build Muscle, Get Lean, and Stay Healthy Series) (Kindle Edition)
Some very basic information, not backed up by any facts whatsoever. Some of the points are certainly worth investigating further, but to be honest, all of the information in here will be found for free on the web. The last 39% of the book is purely adverts for other books and supplements. Based on this, I am doubtful his other books will be worth a read. Also, the link for the "free recipe book" doesn't work. It's a request for your email address which I'm sure will be spammed with excessive adverts for books and supplements.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting read, good to hear different points of views., 1 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Health and Fitness Mistakes You Don't Know You're Making (The Build Muscle, Get Lean, and Stay Healthy Series) (Kindle Edition)
I have long been involved in the fitness world.
As we all know there are never ending opinions out there about fitness and diet.
It was good to read something that doesn't go with the flow and state the same thing as all the others.
It's clear, concise and evidenced.

I actually wish it hadn't been so short.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sensible for a change!, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Health and Fitness Mistakes You Don't Know You're Making (The Build Muscle, Get Lean, and Stay Healthy Series) (Kindle Edition)
Refreshingly honest and idle for new comers! Only wish I had read a book as honest twenty years ago. That's how long it's taken a gym vet to realise how is own body works best!
Great job!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great, but not the greatest, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Health and Fitness Mistakes You Don't Know You're Making (The Build Muscle, Get Lean, and Stay Healthy Series) (Kindle Edition)
Keeping this short, although this has some good points in, all of this (in a lot more detail and with a lot more besides) is in Mike's books (Bigger/Thinner, Leaner, Stronger). I'd recommend you buy them off the bat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great read, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 12 Health and Fitness Mistakes You Don't Know You're Making (The Build Muscle, Get Lean, and Stay Healthy Series) (Kindle Edition)
This was such an awakening read as it clearly illustrates how the media is exploiting people who genuinely want to be fit and healthy. It has many useful tips to encourage people to eat the right foods and exercise the right way. For a long time I have believed that cardio workouts were suffice and seem to constantly be on some kind of diet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews