Customer Reviews


108 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you are 40 (or even 38) you'll probably get this...
A comedic tale of family life as husband and wife both turn 40 in the same week, dealing with the pressures of children, work and extended family. If you are around that age range then there is much to be recognised here!

This is 40 features a strong (if not a little incestous) cast and some very funny set-pieces.

The film would benefit from being...
Published 11 months ago by Chris

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars IT IMPROVES WITH AGE
In this film Pete (Paul Rudd) and Debbie (Leslie Mann)turn 40 and re-examine their lives. Debbie decides everyone must make changes while Pete hides the fact they are broke. It seems Pete invested his future in the resurgence of Graham Parker.

They are clearly a mixed couple as Pete likes classic rock while Debbie prefers Lady Gaga. They also have father...
Published 22 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 15 6 711 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great dvd, 18 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is 40 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
great watch - lots will relate to it, especially if you are of aroun 40 years old!
lots of serious undertones but overall very funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Can be hard going at times, 14 Sept. 2013
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: This Is 40 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
`This is 40' is the - sort of - sequel to the highly-watchable `Knocked Up.' Here some secondary characters get their own film about the perils and pitfalls of turning forty years old.

The first thing you need to know is that it's long - just over two hours. This might not be that special for a drama or big budget action film, but for a comedy, you have to have a lot of jokes in the script to keep up the momentum. Sadly, This is 40 doesn't have enough of them.

There are a few funny moments, but there are more than a few long periods of time where you don't so much as raise a smile. It's like the actors weren't given a script and told to just improvise and see where it goes - it has a real `hit and miss' kind of feel to it.

Plus there are simply some scenes which try too hard to be gross and outrageous, but simply end up being completely unfunny - I found it quite hard to continue watching after the scene which comes at around forty-five minutes where the wife walks in on her husband as he tries to take a photo of an `intimate rear body part' to check it's okay. It just wasn't funny, not even in a gross way.

I stuck with it to the end and there were a few jokes which I was glad I saw. The problem is the whole structure of the film. It's about the husband and wife deciding they need to change to survive together and ending up deciding that actually they don't need to. Um, interesting character arc.

Then you have the relationship. Basically, 9/10 times the woman is completely right and the husband is a dumb, insensitive butt of all the jokes. This `reverse sexism' does get a little old after a while.

It's a pity this film wasn't half an hour shorter as the jokes would have flowed into each other better, creating a much tighter comedy. It's not bad, but it's not that funny either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Crude and unfunny., 31 Aug. 2013
By 
Michael Hayes (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: This Is 40 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I've tried to watch this tasteless and vulgar film twice - once when I recorded it and a second time after accidentally buying it. Both times I have to give up after approximately 15 minutes. It is crude and truly unfunny. Save yourself the time and money by avoiding this film altogether.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This is 40, 15 July 2013
This review is from: This Is 40 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Pete and Debbie have been together a long time, each has their own business and they also have 2 daughters. The routine in their house is far from perfect, with Pete being pretty lazy and Debbie feeling like she has to do everything in the mornings. As she reaches her fortieth birthday, Debbie decides it is time for change and the whole family could benefit from doing things a bit differently. I really enjoyed seeing what family life was like for this couple and how much the kids became a part of the story.

Paul Rudd and Leslie Mann both do great in their roles as Pete and Debbie. Rudd gives Pete a laid back attitude and it soon becomes clear that he doesn't really think a lot of things through. Rudd has always been a great comedy actor for me and I'll pretty much watch anything he is in. He didn't disappoint in This is 40 either. Pete is a silly character who doesn't take life as seriously as maybe he should and this was a great contrast to his wife. Playing Debbie is Leslie Mann who also does a wonderful job. Unlike Pete though, Mann's character is quite over the top. She screeches, screams and is a bit pathetic when she doesn't get her own way but I still loved her in this film.

Even though the two main actors were great in their roles, the were outshined by Leslie Mann's own children who play Pete and Debbie's children in the film. Maude and Iris Apatow were utterly amazing as Sadie and Charlotte. It must obviously have helped that they are real siblings and that they also got to work with their mother. The scenes with each of the girls was great because their personalities shined through. As the elder sister, Sadie is a teenager with a hell of a lot of hormones and she was hilarious when it came to showing how she really felt. Younger sister Charlotte, bless her, didn't really know what the hell was going on with everyone and she just wanted everyone to be happy. How sweet!

Plot wise, This is 40 was pretty weak unfortunately. It was nice to see the life that Pete and Debbie had for a while, and to see the problems they had in their marriage. However, there were just too many problems going on and it was one thing after another all of the time. The plot doesn't really delve deeply into any of the couple's problems and instead, skims over them like they're not all that important. Even though there was quite a lot going on, I felt as though the film was a lot longer than it probably should have been. At just over 2 hours long, I think a good half an hour could have been chopped off the time. After an hour and a half, I was getting a bit bored and just wanted the film to end.

Overall, This is 40 was pretty good but not great. As a comedy film, there are plenty of laughs throughout although some parts really grossed me out quite a bit. I just wish the film had been a little shorter so I didn't get bored with it towards the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When it's good, it's very good, but..., 13 May 2013
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: This Is 40 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
I'm a big fan of Judd Apatow. But this quasi-sequel to "Knocked Up", following up on the Pete and Debbie characters
a few years later is a really frustrating movie. There are so many good moments, moments that are laugh out loud
funny, or touching and real, that you want to scream when it keeps sliding into over-cute, or pushing for laughs, or
cliché, or overly verbose, stopping to state literally what the audience has figured out long before.

I felt like Apatow's tendency to make comedies that last over 2 hours is starting to catch up with him. The film feels
needlessly padded. Every major storyline makes its point at least one more time than it needs to.

That said, this is still way better than most Hollywood films. There are a lot of strong performances and solid writing.
I appreciated how honest it is about how messy and hard life, marriage and families are. When it's good it's great. But
20 or 30 minutes shorter, with more focus and less falling into rim-shots, repeats and easy heart tugs and it could
have been a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gift for my mother in law she thought it was great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 Nov. 2014
This review is from: This Is 40 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Not as funny as I'd hoped, but ok. Easy watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality of dvd, 17 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is 40 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Quick delivery. Good quality of dvd. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is 40 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Excellent. Many real laugh out loud moments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VERY FUNNY, 11 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Is 40 [DVD] [2013] (DVD)
Great fun. Arrived on time - very funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 711 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This Is 40 [DVD] [2013]
This Is 40 [DVD] [2013] by Judd Apatow (DVD - 2013)
£3.83
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews