Customer Reviews


221 Reviews
5 star:
 (144)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (27)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


132 of 146 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars When We Were Young
There comes a time when you reach a certain age with music and realise that you're not going to jump up and down screaming anymore, asking what the hell was that I just heard on the radio... and where can I get it!? Gone are the days when the first riff of Smells like Teen Spirit turned you to jelly, the opening chords of Teenage Kicks left you feeling dizzy with...
Published 24 months ago by Mr. 880

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No longer Indie Rock n Roll
There were signs on Day and Age that the Killers were going to become a fully fledged commercial pop band and unfortunately this latest offering proves that's what they are today. Being a fan of Hot Fuss and Sams Town I was hoping that the last album was just a blip but Battle Born is more akin to its predecessor than the first two. The killer songs have long gone and...
Published 24 months ago by Grantona


‹ Previous | 1 2 323 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saw them at Wembley! They delivered! So did Amazon, 29 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Born (Audio CD)
I have to be honest, I am not really a Killers fan. My wife likes them more than I do and I promised to take her to Wembley to see them and bought her the latest CD as a gift. The album is great. Lyrically its very strong and Brandon has a powerful soulful voice but you know that! I hope you like it as much as I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KILLERS --- BATTLEBORN, 23 May 2013
By 
Mr. D. J. Long "writer" (cheltenham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Born (Audio CD)
This album is superb. The next level of commercial pop music, and I use the word pop reservedly. It has superbly written songs that positively drip with pure Americana, brilliantly recorded, and to my mind Brandon Flowers is a truly gifted songwriter and vocalist. Long may The Killers continue to make superlative music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic album brimming over with instant classics.

The Killers have really excelled and produced another brilliant album that you'll never tire of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 6 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Born (Audio CD)
Wonderful CD, I've liked the Killers since their early albums and in my opinion (not shared by all) they get better by the year. Track 3 (The Way it Was) is an absolute gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Born (Audio CD)
Lots of people don't like this album because they say it is samey - I say why change a winning formula!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 7 Mar 2013
This review is from: Battle Born (Audio CD)
It has quite simply taken the Killers until their 4th studio album to truly fulfil their promise.

After the early promise of Hot Fuss which let's face it was one brilliant EP's worth followed by the potential shown on Sam's Town which was again hit and miss the band retreated into the very patchy Day and Age. While Day and Age doubtless contains Killers classics (Human, Spaceman, Dustland Fairytale) it also contains what should have been singles' b sides at best.

Only now on album 4 do the band finally produce an album which has really great songs from start to finish and is, by a country mile, their best offering to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A welcome return, 12 Feb 2013
This review is from: Battle Born (Audio CD)
For those wishing for a return to the sound of early Killers this isn't it. For those who want to listen to some decent, first class music from one of the best bands in the world (in my opinion) this will do nicely.

In my opinion Hot Fuss was good but had a bit of filler, Sams Town was amazing all over and still is really under appreciated, Day & Age was half a good album but had too much filler while the less said about Sawdust the better...

This fits between the first two albums and while most of it may fall into the 'soft rock' category the tunes are amazing.

Flesh & Bone- really good opening song, sets the tone (8/10)
Runaways- Carries on the trend set by Flesh & Bone with some great vocals (8/10)
The Way it was- Similar to a Day & Age album track but still worth a listen (6/10)
Here with me- One of the best songs on the album (9/10)
A matter of time- Another highlight with an amazing intro and drums all the way through (9/10)
Deadlines ad Commitments- Starts a bit slow but some nice harmonies (6.5/10)
Miss atomic bomb- Very strong song-Will sound amazing live especially the ending (8.5/10)
The rising tide- Amazing harmonies and vocals again (8/10)
Heart of a girl- This will grow on you if you give it time. Didn't like at first but one of the better songs (8/10)
From here on out- Really good pop song with a cheeky little bass line (9/10)
Be still- Not a fan (5.5/ 10)
Battleborn- Goes into Meat Loaf territory at times (no bad thing) but not the strongest song. Good lyrics but feel that a bit more work could have been done to make this an amazing song as opposed to a very good song (8/10)

If you're a fan of the Killers and can appreciate that bands change sounds overtime then this is a very good album with some amazing songs which will be in their live sets for the next few years.

Cant wait to see them live at Wembley later this year!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the listen, 6 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Born (Audio CD)
I judge an album by the amount of time it spends in the car with me, and it is still going strong after 4 months. This group seem to get get better with each release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Killers album, 31 Jan 2013
This review is from: Battle Born (Audio CD)
This was purchased for my husband as a Xmas present and he was very pleased. He is a killers fan so was bound to like this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great album sucky cardboard cover, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Battle Born (Audio CD)
I love the Killers and loved the deluxe edition with the extra tunes but bought this for my brother in law for xmas and was disapointed by the trifold cardboard cheap looking cover
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 323 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Battle Born
Battle Born by The Killers (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews