Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not bad!
I bought this by mistake....was looking for Activity not Entity...! D'oh! In a way i am glad i did make the mistake! Yes the four "films" creak a bit and the third one is the worst of the four but on the whole they are quite entertaining with a fair few shocks along the way! The first is the most believable one here and the second and fourth have gone for the...
Published 14 months ago by Paul

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A case of mistaken id(Entity)
*SPOILERS AHEAD*

I too am among the somewhat puzzling number of people who mistakenly bought either this compilation, or indeed the individual instalments, believing that I was getting a 'Paramormal Activity' product. When this turned up I groaned loudly, and upon checking the mistake was indeed mine, but decided to view without prejudice - even with the...
Published 6 months ago by SportsBioFan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not bad!, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paranormal Entity 1-4 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this by mistake....was looking for Activity not Entity...! D'oh! In a way i am glad i did make the mistake! Yes the four "films" creak a bit and the third one is the worst of the four but on the whole they are quite entertaining with a fair few shocks along the way! The first is the most believable one here and the second and fourth have gone for the horror movie route rather than factual. For what the box set is going for and if you like b-movies then give them a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A case of mistaken id(Entity), 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paranormal Entity 1-4 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
*SPOILERS AHEAD*

I too am among the somewhat puzzling number of people who mistakenly bought either this compilation, or indeed the individual instalments, believing that I was getting a 'Paramormal Activity' product. When this turned up I groaned loudly, and upon checking the mistake was indeed mine, but decided to view without prejudice - even with the knowledge that the 'Paranormal Entity' films are mockbusters, i.e. shameless rip-offs of the more famous franchise and other films. And despite the constant bashing the genre receives, I really enjoy most hand-held/found footage horror, so... how bad could this collection really be?

Quite bad as it happens. Watching in sequential order, the first film of course heavily apes the infiltrated suburban home scenario of 'Paranormal Activity', but with a much more confined feel. Less intense, less plausible and generally inferior in every way to PA, the film does nevertheless retain some interest with some good set-piece frights and minor twists (2/5 rating). The second film combines elements of the PA films with 'The Inside' and 'Grave Encounters', which are both decent and enjoyable low-budget found-footage examples. This time, the setting is a ficticious abandoned home of serial killer John Wayne Gacy. It is definitely an improvement on the original; and although faults with poor scripting and acting remain, the atmosphere is there and thus the film is halfway decent (3/5 rating). So the franchise is steadily improving you may think?

Wrong. Very, very wrong. Paranormal Entity 3 ranks amongst the worst and most disjointed films I have ever had the misfortune to sit through. Taking the found footage setting to a series of state recordings in what can only be described as 'redneck Bavaria', the film tries to meld 'The Exorcist' and a bizarre depression-era feel of modern Germany... PE3 is interspersed with far, far too much meaningless filler - such as excruciatingly long recordings of a posessed girl communicating in Aramaic (no subtitles, against a black screen) pointless character interviews, and terribly executed passages of the camera following illegible journal hand-writing that is supposed to progress the plot. As far as action goes - which summates to around ten minutes - the film shamelessly borrows famous Exorcist moments and actually manages to make them dull. Really, this is a 0/5 rating without exaggeration.

So when the people behind this franchise hit rock bottom, the optimistic view is that the fouth installment can only be better - and it actually is a marked improvement. Clearly realising PE2 was the best offering to date, PE4 revisits the haunted house-type scenario and expands it to an institutional environment, being set in a ficticious medical dormitory where real-life murderer Richard Speck raped and killed eight female nurses. This film, like the second epsiode, continues to borrow from 'Grave Encounters' and adds a bit of 'Session 9' for good measure. This time, the writers did reasonably well, and subtly implement known facts from the Speck murders as similar fates befall the hapless ghosthunter slash-fodder. Definitely the best of the series, it also has relatively improved production values over its predecessors. The CGI-generated indeterminate killing entity is a disappointment, but this is the one film within the whole PE canon that I would actually purchase intentionally (3.5/5 rating).

As an overall summary, the series is poor - I give it 3 stars for trying but it is more like a 2.5. If you must sample PE, buy PE4; but even then, far better examples of low-budget horror exist (whether hand-held or not). The other films which I have cited in this review are recommended viewing and much more complete as films than anything to be found within this bunch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars scary and must see, 25 May 2013
This review is from: Paranormal Entity 1-4 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This box set is 1 of the best horrors out and if you like horrors well buy this box set. Paranormal enity 2 is poor but paranormal enity 1 3 and 4 are brilliant. If you like horrors where you jump in your chair absolutley buy it. It wont dissapoint you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Bought by Mistake..., 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paranormal Entity 1-4 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
.. thought this was Paranormal ACTIVITY, not ENTITY, much cheap. read carefully the title next time. Watched one, it was ok. Sister not as amused at her christmas present of the Paranoprmal Activity box set though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent service., 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paranormal Entity 1-4 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
S***e films but faultless service. I thought I was ordering a paranormal activity boxset but that's entirely my fault for being lazy and not reading the description.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Paranormal Entity Series of Films, 16 Jan 2014
This review is from: Paranormal Entity 1-4 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I just watched the first instalment of these films and I must advise anyone with any common-sense: DO NOT buy them. Bad acting, bad production and cheap effects. You have been warned!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Paranormal Crap, 24 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paranormal Entity 1-4 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
The biggest load of rubish I have ever watched.This is the total waste of a GOOD dvd DISC. It is now in the bin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paranormal Entity 1-4 Collection [DVD]
Paranormal Entity 1-4 Collection [DVD] by Danny Draven (DVD - 2012)
11.06
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews