Customer Reviews


604 Reviews
5 star:
 (543)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


86 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous
This review is for the Blu-ray. It's hard to say anything about this film that hasn't been said before. A gripping tale of humanity, hope and ultimately redemption in the most unlikely of circumstances. Well into my top dozen or so films- I must admit to being a sucker for happy endings! Suffice to say that if you haven't seen it then you need to. Morgan Freeman was...
Published on 6 Mar. 2010 by Mr. James West

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars same old....
thank goodness I rented this blueray, the transfer is no different to the dvd I already own. save your pennies and give this blueray a miss.
Published on 8 Oct. 2011 by smcil1


‹ Previous | 1 261 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

86 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 6 Mar. 2010
By 
Mr. James West "Nebulous" (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is for the Blu-ray. It's hard to say anything about this film that hasn't been said before. A gripping tale of humanity, hope and ultimately redemption in the most unlikely of circumstances. Well into my top dozen or so films- I must admit to being a sucker for happy endings! Suffice to say that if you haven't seen it then you need to. Morgan Freeman was absolutely amazing, in both his acting and his voiceover.

The Bluray comes packaged in a narrow bluray case, which doesn't bother me. In fact I could maybe be doing with more of them to save shelf space. For the record my one was sealed. Picture Quality was extremely good and certainly added to my enjoyment of the film. There was a little grain, but the picture was very clean, and if anything the grain added to the realism in many of the prison scenes. Colours were very good, with a lot of blues and dark scenes that worked very well. Watch out for a scene towards the end with Andy standing in the rain. HD definitely brought something new to what was already a great film,and definitely added to my enjoyment of it. Ratio is 1.78:1 so it fills the screen on a widescreen TV, without stretching the picture.

Sound is much more limited, in the UK version, with Dolby digital 5.1 being the top offering. I understand the US version has a True HD soundtrack, so if that is important to you then you might consider looking for an import on Amazon.

All-in-all it was a great viewing experience though, that held my family spellbound for its whole length of over two hours. Definitely 5 stars in my book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Without a doubt the finest prison drama ever made!!!, 2 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This is easily the best of the Steven King based films, even surpassing "The Green Mile", "The Shining" and "Carrie". That alone is merit enough to buy this brilliant film. The cast is topped by Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman, two of the best actors of their generations. This story revolves around Andy Dufresne (Robbins) and his wrongful conviction of murder and the following ordeal behind the walls of Shawshank Prison. This is a powerful emotionally charged piece of cinematic history and well deserves a place in any video collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 7 May 2006
By 
RM Brown "rachmarie1611" (Northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The Shawshank Redemption is one of my all time favourite films. Based on a Stephen King short story, it follows the story of one man who is convicted of murdering his wife and her lover. The film follows him through the many years he spends in prison and the people he meets.

A heart-warming story with a fantastic ending. A film everyone should watch at least once
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most upliftinf films you will ever see., 18 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
Frank Darabonts suberb prison drama adapted from a Stephen King story gets everything right. The story will keep you hooked right from the start with great moments of tension and a great twist at the end. Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman both give their best preformances ever. I defy anyone not to feel good after this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly excellent film, 24 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
The Shawshank Redemption is simply one of the best films ever made.It has everything-good plot,superb acting,perfect casting and a great ending.The film is never dull and keeps you riveted throughout-Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman are superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gripping tale of one mans struggle against adversity, 17 Sept. 2001
The Shawshank Redemption was originally a book written by Stephen King and like many other King books it was given the film treatment in 1994. The film depicts the prison term of "Andy" a well-to-do banker who was jailed for the murder of his wife and her Lover. Soon though Andy finds that in Shawshank "everybody is innocent". Andy also learns that life in a 1940's prison is brutal where inmates are accustomed to ritual beatings and homosexual gangs. Red is the main dealer in the prison and can get anything from the outside for money or even cigarettes. At first he sees Andy as a guy who won't be able to last long in prison but soon he learns that Andy is more than he seems.
Patience is the main theme to this film and shows how much is needed for anyone doing a long stretch in prison. But the film also shows how one man can get what he really wants and how after prisoners hove been released they are actually institutionalised and cannot live as normal civilians again. This film is a favourite everywhere especially with movie buffs and rightly it was nominated for 7 Acadamy Awards including best picture, actor and Screenplay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, 19 April 2014
This is a film that is heavy on character and dialogue and delivers on both.

The performances by Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman are outstanding, as are each of the supporting actors. This film was adapted from a short story, 'Rita Hayworth and The Shawshank Redemption,' written by Stephen King. Perhaps it is because it's adapted from a short story as to why this works so well as there are only minor changes and nothing essential is left out, leaving the film makers with the ability to strengthen and stretch out the main focus, which is the bond created by the two main characters.
In my personal opinion I would say this film is one of the most successful book to script adaptations in film history.

The direction is brilliant in the way it is almost not noticeable as it relies on the actors and their interactions with each other to keep the audience interested. Cinematography is worth a mention also as each shot is captured beautifully. In summary, Shawshank is a must see and a well deserved film classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best films, infact the best film I have EVER seen, 6 Mar. 2003
The Acting is faultless, the storyline is so well directed, you become captivated by this truly brilliant masterpiece. A good Hollywood film, with a tangible narrative, impressive acting, and finds its origins in a Stephen king novel is challenging to come across, however The Shawshank redemption indisputably wins the challenge. Once the film has began, you become totally involved emotionally and mentally to this work of genius. At times the film is so extraordinary shocking it takes your breathe away. The film deals with disdainful, corrupt, cruel prison offices and closeness and love of friendship. Although its over 2 hours long, you just cant move away from the Television screen, as if you have been super glued to youe seat regardless of what is going on around you. Shawshank is so well written, that only towards the end of the film do you fully understand it...
I am not going to give a review of the film in fear of spoiling it for you... just buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All Time Top 10 Film ever!, 14 Jan. 2014
By 
robert stirling (tarn,s.w.france) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I notice that even though this film is now approaching its 20th birthday it is still being bought and reviewed consistently which speaks volumes for its fame and sheer power.

I shall not try to explain the beauty of this production:there are so many articulate reviews and posts here that tell us everything we need to know.

Enjoy the experience from start to finish.

The only comment I can make is that in the Freeman/Nicholson film The Bucket List [DVD] [2008],which is about things you must do before you die,this film wasn't listed as a must see film before you die: perhaps it would have been seen as a vanity as Morgan is in both films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBB, 13 May 2008
By 
T. Martin "Cheops" (Burton-on-trent, UK) - See all my reviews
One of the bestest films I have ever seen!!!

Superb movie, superb story, ultimate acting... I even liked the villain in this movie!... hats off to the lovely people who created it... its a shame it didn't win the deserved oscar....

Must see atleast ten times in life!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 261 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Shawshank Redemption (Blu-ray + DVD Steelbook) [1994]
£47.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews