Customer Reviews


498 Reviews
5 star:
 (444)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


80 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous
This review is for the Blu-ray. It's hard to say anything about this film that hasn't been said before. A gripping tale of humanity, hope and ultimately redemption in the most unlikely of circumstances. Well into my top dozen or so films- I must admit to being a sucker for happy endings! Suffice to say that if you haven't seen it then you need to. Morgan Freeman was...
Published on 6 Mar 2010 by Mr. James West

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars same old....
thank goodness I rented this blueray, the transfer is no different to the dvd I already own. save your pennies and give this blueray a miss.
Published on 8 Oct 2011 by smcil1


‹ Previous | 1 250 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

80 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 6 Mar 2010
By 
Mr. James West "Nebulous" (Aberdeen, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is for the Blu-ray. It's hard to say anything about this film that hasn't been said before. A gripping tale of humanity, hope and ultimately redemption in the most unlikely of circumstances. Well into my top dozen or so films- I must admit to being a sucker for happy endings! Suffice to say that if you haven't seen it then you need to. Morgan Freeman was absolutely amazing, in both his acting and his voiceover.

The Bluray comes packaged in a narrow bluray case, which doesn't bother me. In fact I could maybe be doing with more of them to save shelf space. For the record my one was sealed. Picture Quality was extremely good and certainly added to my enjoyment of the film. There was a little grain, but the picture was very clean, and if anything the grain added to the realism in many of the prison scenes. Colours were very good, with a lot of blues and dark scenes that worked very well. Watch out for a scene towards the end with Andy standing in the rain. HD definitely brought something new to what was already a great film,and definitely added to my enjoyment of it. Ratio is 1.78:1 so it fills the screen on a widescreen TV, without stretching the picture.

Sound is much more limited, in the UK version, with Dolby digital 5.1 being the top offering. I understand the US version has a True HD soundtrack, so if that is important to you then you might consider looking for an import on Amazon.

All-in-all it was a great viewing experience though, that held my family spellbound for its whole length of over two hours. Definitely 5 stars in my book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I was., 14 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Shawshank Redemption. (DVD)
You can deconstruct every movie whatever way you please, give it whatever meaning you want and somebody somewhere will agree.
Ultimately however, regardless of whoever see's in a movie whatever it is they see, it's about how you feel just after the movie, the moment's before emotion subsides and reality returns.
In The Shawshank Redemption all I saw was a nice little film about a man trying to remain human in an inhuman place, and about a man trying to remember what it was like to be human, anywhere.
And I felt good after watching it for quite some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A truly excellent film, 24 Nov 2001
By A Customer
The Shawshank Redemption is simply one of the best films ever made.It has everything-good plot,superb acting,perfect casting and a great ending.The film is never dull and keeps you riveted throughout-Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman are superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely fantastic!!!, 20 Jun 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This movie is one of the best I have ever seen. It has absolutely everything that a prison movie has and so much more. Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman act their roles brilliantly and no one else could have done any better. This is a must see, time and again movie. It will become one of your all time faves!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most upliftinf films you will ever see., 18 Sep 2001
By A Customer
Frank Darabonts suberb prison drama adapted from a Stephen King story gets everything right. The story will keep you hooked right from the start with great moments of tension and a great twist at the end. Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman both give their best preformances ever. I defy anyone not to feel good after this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remember....hope is a good thing., 1 May 2005
In 1999, Channel 4 compiled the Top 100 movies of the last century, as voted by the British movie-going public. I'm sure a few eyebrows were raised when The Shawshank Redemption was a surprise entry at number 4. A decade on from its' release, it has grown in justification of its place amongst the likes of The Godfather, Gone With The Wind, Casablanca to name but a few. Director Frank Darabont's screen adaptation of Stephen King's novel, however, did not set the box-office alight, like those films mentioned, upon its' release in 1994. But it's also interesting to note that on its' 10th anniversary, critics and the public voted it the best film never to win an Academy Award. It just goes to show that however many accolades are bestowed upon a film, that doesn't make it what it is. Shawshank is a powerfully moving story that touches every human emotion, from tragedy, despair, fear to humour, friendship and perhaps the most prominent message of the film - hope.
When Banker Andy Dufresne is sent to Shawshank penitentiary, on a double life-sentence, for the brutal murder of his estranged wife and her lover, his own life could be deemed to be over. The first few years of his sentence are the toughest, but forming a friendship with Red, 'the man who knows how to get things on the inside', plus financially advising the prison warden and the guards on accumulating illegal funds, his life becomes bearable at the most.
I won't praise the film anymore than other reviewers have already done, but if anyone were to reward Shawshank anything less than 5-stars, then they haven't watched the film carefully. The DVD comes with a range of special features, most notably the interviews with cast and crew, which is a bonus. Thomas Newman's musical score only adds to the emotion of the film, in parts it is deeply touching. The ending, as many would agree, is nothing less than uplifting.
Supported by a fine cast of character actors, Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman exchange some excellent dialogue between themselves, both giving what maybe the performances of their careers. How Freeman was never awarded the Best Actor Oscar in 1995 is astounding, but since then both Robbins and himself, thankfully, have not gone overlooked by the Academy.
It is a film that deserves a classic status, and offers an important message to anyone who maybe in their darkest of hours, when there is nowhere to turn - that their is light at the end of the tunnel. Life without The Shawshank Redemption, would be meaningless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBB, 13 May 2008
By 
T. Martin "Cheops" (Burton-on-trent, UK) - See all my reviews
One of the bestest films I have ever seen!!!

Superb movie, superb story, ultimate acting... I even liked the villain in this movie!... hats off to the lovely people who created it... its a shame it didn't win the deserved oscar....

Must see atleast ten times in life!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Many Times better than Prison Break, 22 Nov 2007
One of the most popular modern TV series is Prison Break.Judging by the amount of positive reviews it has received, it can be considered as a critical success on the whole. Shawshank Redemption is many many times better.

The Shawshank Redemption has you hooked from the very first scene. Although Andy's innocence was obvious from the beginning, you just think how he's going to get out of it.

For me, the power and depth in this movie was it's ability to make prison life and friendships look better than that on the outside. Also when they were finally released they were so hesitant to live on the outside and wanted to go back in. I'm not sure why this affected me so much but i think it's just the fact that one mistake forced these people to live in a certain way where they don't want so much freedom and they're used to being workers with no rewards. They just couldn't adapt to the outside world. As if it were a different planet or something.

Although the men are supposed to be 'cold hearted killers', they seem so nice and are so easy to sympathize with. I know it sounds lame to feel sorry for a killer or thief but i think that the amazing story and acting, had me hoping that all of the prisoners were innocent... except for some obviously. Not to mention the guards were so mean and rude i just wished they would all get punished and tortured at the end of the movie.

If someone can feel that passionate and involved in a movie the first time they've seen it...i think it's a sign that if the person reading this still hasn't...they should. The Shawshank Redemption most definitely deserves its spot on the IMDb top #250.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 7 May 2006
By 
RM Brown "rachmarie1611" (Northampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The Shawshank Redemption is one of my all time favourite films. Based on a Stephen King short story, it follows the story of one man who is convicted of murdering his wife and her lover. The film follows him through the many years he spends in prison and the people he meets.

A heart-warming story with a fantastic ending. A film everyone should watch at least once
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Without a doubt the finest prison drama ever made!!!, 2 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This is easily the best of the Steven King based films, even surpassing "The Green Mile", "The Shining" and "Carrie". That alone is merit enough to buy this brilliant film. The cast is topped by Tim Robbins and Morgan Freeman, two of the best actors of their generations. This story revolves around Andy Dufresne (Robbins) and his wrongful conviction of murder and the following ordeal behind the walls of Shawshank Prison. This is a powerful emotionally charged piece of cinematic history and well deserves a place in any video collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 250 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Shawshank Redemption (Blu-ray + DVD Steelbook) [1994]
£29.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews