Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Halloween 1-5 (1978-1989)
This is a great little box set if you are new to the Halloween films, or if you need to collect them from scratch again. First of all, let me explain to the uninitiated how the Halloween franchise works, for there are two storylines and one stand-alone film. The stand-alone film, which has nothing to do with the Michael Myers story is Halloween 3: Season of the Witch...
Published 22 days ago by The Scribbler

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor quality
The Halloween II in my box set is very clearly a pirate copy. The sound is shocking and you have occasional shadows where people get up from their seats and sit back down. Incredibly disappointed. I'm an avid movie fan. Had I known I was purchasing a pirated copy.....I would have gone elsewhere!!!!!
Published 4 days ago by BoobzMcGee


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Halloween 1-5 (1978-1989), 8 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halloween 1-5 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great little box set if you are new to the Halloween films, or if you need to collect them from scratch again. First of all, let me explain to the uninitiated how the Halloween franchise works, for there are two storylines and one stand-alone film. The stand-alone film, which has nothing to do with the Michael Myers story is Halloween 3: Season of the Witch (1982). There are then two different storylines:

*Possible Spoilers*

Story One
Halloween (1978), Halloween 2 (1981), Halloween 4: The Return of Michael Myers (1988), Halloween 5: The Revenge of Michael Myers (1989), and Halloween 6: The Curse of Michael Myers (1995). In this run, Laurie Strode (Jamie Lee Curtis) has apparently died by Halloween 4, therefore she on features in the first two; Dr Sam Loomis (Donald Pleasance) features in all of these films

Story Two
Halloween (1978), Halloween 2 (1981), Halloween 7: H20 (1998), Halloween 8: Resurrection (2002). This run ignores Halloween 4-6 and Laurie Strode has not died; Dr Loomis is only in the first two (Pleasance passed away the year Halloween 6 was released)

Remake
Rob Zombie re-made Halloween (2007) and Halloween 2 (2009)

That's a very brief explanation of the franchise to date. Now, the box set? This offers you the first story run - although annoyingly, Halloween 6 is left out - and you get the stand-alone Halloween 3, which looks closely a the domestic roots of Halloween, covering sacrifice and witchcraft.

Halloween, Halloween 2, Halloween 4, and Halloween 5 contain the Michael Myers storyline, beginning with the John Carpenter slasher film that is heavily influenced by the Alfred Hitchcock - Robert Bloch film, Psycho (1960). Halloween in turn influenced a string of slasher films from the 1970s to today, including Friday 13th (1980), The Burning (1981), A Nightmare On Elm Street (1984), Scream (1996), and I Know What You Did Last Summer (1997). Halloween is the best of the bunch, granted, and will always remain the immortal classic. There are differing opinions as to which film influenced the slasher movement, some citing Black Christmas (1974), which was followed by The Hills Have Eyes (1977), both predating Halloween.

Halloween
Six year-old Michael Myers (Will Sandin) murders his sister Judith (Sandy Johnson) on Halloween 1963. She is baby-sitting him whilst their parents are out. Fifteen years later, Halloween 1978, an adult Myers returns to Haddonfield to stalk teenage babysitters, chiefly Laurie Strode and her friends Annie Brackett (Nancy Loomis) and Lynda van der Klok (P J Soles). Dr Sam Loomis tracks Myers to the small town and tries to stop the maniac with the help of Sheriff Leigh Brackett (Charles Cyphers).
Director: John Carpenter

Halloween 2
This film picks up where the first one ended. Myers continues to stalk Laurie and Loomis continues to stalk Myers. Charles Cyphers returns as Sheriff Brackett, and other cast members include Jeffrey Kramer, Lance Guest, and Leo Rossi.
Director: Rick Rosenthal

Halloween 4
Myers has survived the fire in Halloween 2 and has returned to Haddonfield to continue his carnage, his main victim this time being Jamie Lloyd (Danielle Harris), the daughter of Laurie Strode who has since died in a car accident. Loomis returns as usual to fight Myers. This film also features Beau Starr as Sheriff Ben Meeker, Ellie Cornell, Michael Pataki, and Kathleen Kinmont.
Directed By: Dwight H Little

Halloween 5
This film picks up where the previous film finished with Myers stalking the townsfolk, including Jamie, who he now displays a metaphysical connection with. Loomis and Meeker continue to hunt down Myers. Ellie Cornell returns along with Tamara Glynn and Wendy Foxworth.
Directed by: Dominique Othenin-Girard

Halloween 3
In this film a demented toy maker Conal Cochran (Dan O'Herlihy) creates three Halloween masks - witch, skeleton, jack o' lantern - each mask containg a chip that will kill all the children who watch the great giveaway at 9pm on Halloween night; a more modern and technical way to sacrifice children in 1982, although they still require pieces of the monument Stonehenge. The protagonists here are Dr Dan Challis (Tom Atkins) and Ellie Grimbridge (Stacey Nelkin), who try to shut down Cochran's Silver Shamrock factory and save the children.
Director: Tommy Lee Wallace

There are no extra features on this box set. It is a region 2 UK/PAL Europe Set, which requires a Region 2 or Multi-Region player. The playback quality is excellent, both in sound and vision. This is a great introduction to the popular Franchise, started by the amazing John Carpenter.

Chronology of Selected Slasher Films:
Psycho (1960)
Black Christmas (1974)
Texas Chainsaw Massacre (1974)
The Hills Have Eyes (1977)
Halloween (1978)
Friday 13th (1980)
The Fog (1980)
Prom Night (1980)
Halloween 2 (1981)
Friday 13th 2 (1981)
Friday 13th 3 (1982)
The Burning (1981)
Halloween 3: Season of the Witch (1982)
Friday 13th 4: The Final Chapter (1984)
A Nightmare on Elm Street (1984)
Friday 13th 5: A New Beginning (1985)
Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2 (1986)
Friday 13th 6: Jason Lives (1986)
Slaughter High (1986)
April Fool's Day (1986)
Friday 13th 7: The New Blood (1988)
Halloween 4: The Return of Michael Myers (1988)
Friday 13th 8: Jason Takes Manhattan (1989)
Halloween 5: The Revenge of Michael Myers (1989)
Texas Chainsaw Massacre 3: Leatherface (1990)
Friday 13th 9: Jason Goes to Hell (1994)
Texas Chainsaw Massacre 4: The Next Generation (1994)
Halloween 6: The Curse of Michael Myers (1995)
Scream (1996)
I Know What You Did Last Summer (1997)
Scream 2 (1997)
Halloween 7: H20 (1998)
I Still Know What You Did Last Summer (1998)
Urban Legend (1998)
Friday 13th 10: Jason X (2001)
Roadkill (2001)
Scream 3 (2000)
Urban Legends: Final Cut (2000)
Valentine (2001)
Halloween 8: Resurrection (2002)
Freddy Vs Jason (2003)
Texas Chainsaw Massacre (2003)
Wrong Turn (2003)
The Fog (2005)
Urban Legends: Bloody Mary (2005)
Texas Chainsaw Massacre: The Beginning (2006)
I'll Always Know What You Did Last Summer (2006)
Black Christmas (2006)
Wrong Turn 2: Dead End (2007)
Prom Night (2008)
April Fool's Day (2008)
Roadkill 2: Dead Ahead (2008)
Wrong Turn 3: Left for Dead (2009)
Scream 4 (2011)
Wrong Turn 4: Bloody Beginnings (2011)
Wrong Turn 5: Bloodlines (2012)
Texas Chainsaw Massacre 3D (2013)
Wrong Turn 6: Last Resort (2014)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I did not buy this from amazon.co.uk but I just wanted to share my thoughts. The 5 stars is for the first film., 26 Jun. 2014
This review is from: Halloween 1-5 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Essential viewing for any film fan. The halloween films are flawless. Okay so that's a lie. Parts 2 - 5 have flaws. The peerless original may now look dated but it's still supremely watchable and massively enjoyable. Jamie Lee Curtis is superb and so wonderful in her first major film role. All the cast follow her lead. Part 2 whilst lacking the purity of part 1 still has it's moments and entertains hugely. Plus it has a nice explosion. Part 3 is way dodgy but still immensely watchable. An unusual departure away from the plot of the first two. Beware tho the bbfc in their infinite wisdom have brutally, not unlike Michael Myers himself, butchered the neat gore effects. After the disappointment of a Myers less sequel, part 4 brought back the bogeyman and unleashed him on a cast of unknowns. Part 4 has some appeal. Part 5 has unusually muted killings. Beware tho Jamie Lee Curtis does not appear in 4 or 5 except for a photo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Films- but there are better editions out there now., 21 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Halloween 1-5 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
It depends if you're happy enough to have the first five Halloween films in one box set, if so then this is definetly for you. Problem is,the Halloween franchise became so huge that each individual film has been released to death, though Scream Factory have recently gone the whole hog and done wonders with Part 2 and Part 3. Here you'll get loads of extras, extra scenes, interviews, bios, cast commentaries the lot. So if you're a passing fan this set is great, however if you ARE a fan then this set is best avoided.

Also the original, which I consider no doubt to be the greatest horror film ever, has been done well by Anchor Bay- chase after the 25th anniversary edition, or the 35th or buy the 2001 edition for the only 99 min released footage in Europe. Again for a real fan this box set is pretty much redundent. Still cool to have 5 movies in one set though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Neat boxset.., 30 Oct. 2012
By 
Neil B ""HINRG BOY"" (Bury, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Halloween 1-5 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This is a good value boxset from Anchor Bay, containing the first five films in the successful franchise. My personal favourites are the classic original from 1978, the excellent and chilling sequel from 1981, and probably the most interesting and innovative third film "Season of the Witch". Halloween 4 is far better than part 5 which did very little at the box office when it came out in 1989. If this is your introduction to the fantastic horror series, this nifty boxset is a good place to start, and a bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halloween 1-5 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Chose the rating on how good the film is. Highly reccommend this to anyone if you are a Michael Myers fan or indeed just a horror fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Halloween 1-5 review., 29 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halloween 1-5 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
The Halloween movies are the best horror movies ever made, I will never tire of watching them over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quality review, 21 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halloween 1-5 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
good quality and played well with no problems. i had no issues of any kind when i used this product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor quality, 26 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halloween 1-5 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
The Halloween II in my box set is very clearly a pirate copy. The sound is shocking and you have occasional shadows where people get up from their seats and sit back down. Incredibly disappointed. I'm an avid movie fan. Had I known I was purchasing a pirated copy.....I would have gone elsewhere!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift, 13 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halloween 1-5 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I have left five stars for this box set. Although I would never dream of watching it not my cup of tea at all. It was a requested gift and I have had no complaints so I suppose that qualifies it for the five star treatment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movies, great service, great price, 14 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halloween 1-5 Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Great classic movies which arrived quicker than I thought they would. First class service which I'd highly recommend & all at a bargain price ... what's not to like!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halloween 1-5 Collection [DVD]
Halloween 1-5 Collection [DVD] by John Carpenter (DVD - 2012)
£11.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews