Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect desktop upgrade
If you wish to upgrade your desktop PC so it has 4 USB 3 ports, this product does that perfectly. Fitted easily into a spare PCI express slot, drivers installed correctly and hey presto, I could make full use of my Lexar JumpDrive S73 32GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive. This card will work fine for most tasks as is, but to make full use of it so it can fully support the power...
Published on 9 Dec 2012 by CKMAXX

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but flawed
Easy to install, attach power cable, slot in, put box back together, and hey presto. Alas on Windows 7, the drivers seem a bit flaky, the fall-back USB2.0 hub keeps crashing with an error 43 (even windows does not have a clue what went wrong). Updated drivers via the via website do not help. On Ubuntu it works flawlessly and very reliable.

Now updated to 4...
Published on 6 Dec 2012 by Neil


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect desktop upgrade, 9 Dec 2012
By 
CKMAXX (Surrey, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: eLifeStore® 4 Ports USB 3.0 PCIE PCI Express Card for PC with USB 3.0 Extension Cable (30CM), SuperSpeed 5.0Gbps, Support MS Microsoft Windows 98SE/ME/2000/XP/Server 2003/XP 64-bit/Vista /win 7 (Electronics)
If you wish to upgrade your desktop PC so it has 4 USB 3 ports, this product does that perfectly. Fitted easily into a spare PCI express slot, drivers installed correctly and hey presto, I could make full use of my Lexar JumpDrive S73 32GB USB 3.0 Flash Drive. This card will work fine for most tasks as is, but to make full use of it so it can fully support the power output levels as per the USB 3.0 specification (which no doubt some devices in the present and future will require), I recommend connecting the Molex power slot on the card to a spare connector from your desktop power supply. If like mine your desktop doesn't have any Molex connectors, I recommend purchasing Serial ATA SATA to 5.25 Molex Power Adapter Cable - Power a Molex Connector from a SATA PSU Cable, this did the job perfectly for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars eLifeStore® 4 Ports USB 3.0 PCI Express Card for PC with USB 3...., 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: eLifeStore® 4 Ports USB 3.0 PCIE PCI Express Card for PC with USB 3.0 Extension Cable (30CM), SuperSpeed 5.0Gbps, Support MS Microsoft Windows 98SE/ME/2000/XP/Server 2003/XP 64-bit/Vista /win 7 (Electronics)
Having purchased 2 external bay holders (USB 3) I needed a simple and cost effective way of upgrading to USB 3 without building a new system. This did the job. Easy to fit and install driver. Good competative price. I use this on Win 7 64 bit and had no problems installing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but flawed, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: eLifeStore® 4 Ports USB 3.0 PCIE PCI Express Card for PC with USB 3.0 Extension Cable (30CM), SuperSpeed 5.0Gbps, Support MS Microsoft Windows 98SE/ME/2000/XP/Server 2003/XP 64-bit/Vista /win 7 (Electronics)
Easy to install, attach power cable, slot in, put box back together, and hey presto. Alas on Windows 7, the drivers seem a bit flaky, the fall-back USB2.0 hub keeps crashing with an error 43 (even windows does not have a clue what went wrong). Updated drivers via the via website do not help. On Ubuntu it works flawlessly and very reliable.

Now updated to 4 stars, I removed all the drivers, and reinstalled the drivers from VIA. Using a USB 3 drive gives reliable results, shame it was a but temperamental at the start. Edit, back to three stars. the USB2 part of the thing crashes when writing to USB2 disks on windows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars USB 3 for a great price, 10 Nov 2012
By 
Mrs. K. A. Skipp (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: eLifeStore® 4 Ports USB 3.0 PCIE PCI Express Card for PC with USB 3.0 Extension Cable (30CM), SuperSpeed 5.0Gbps, Support MS Microsoft Windows 98SE/ME/2000/XP/Server 2003/XP 64-bit/Vista /win 7 (Electronics)
Plug in USB 3.0 Card, four ports easily fitted, eaily loaded software from supplied disk, up and running in under ten minutes, Does the job, Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says with latest drivers, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: eLifeStore® 4 Ports USB 3.0 PCIE PCI Express Card for PC with USB 3.0 Extension Cable (30CM), SuperSpeed 5.0Gbps, Support MS Microsoft Windows 98SE/ME/2000/XP/Server 2003/XP 64-bit/Vista /win 7 (Electronics)
Bought this day 1 with Amazon Prime delivered day 2 as usual--excellent..

Firstly I downloaded the latest drivers for the chipset from via (1.9 I think now) and then when windows found the hardware I pointed the wizard to the drivers.
No problem and fully working. I am using XP
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful piece of kit, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: eLifeStore® 4 Ports USB 3.0 PCIE PCI Express Card for PC with USB 3.0 Extension Cable (30CM), SuperSpeed 5.0Gbps, Support MS Microsoft Windows 98SE/ME/2000/XP/Server 2003/XP 64-bit/Vista /win 7 (Electronics)
Broke within minutes, second time writing a review as my last one for leaving a bad review got removed for no good reason apart from saying it was awful. Thrown it in the bin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Be careful, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: eLifeStore® 4 Ports USB 3.0 PCIE PCI Express Card for PC with USB 3.0 Extension Cable (30CM), SuperSpeed 5.0Gbps, Support MS Microsoft Windows 98SE/ME/2000/XP/Server 2003/XP 64-bit/Vista /win 7 (Electronics)
After using this USB 3.0 card with no problems for just under 3 months. The card suddenly stopped my computer. I opened the computer case and found this card had burnt out. I removed the card, my computer happily started to work again. Amazon now will not allow a return because this card is over ninety days old. What happened to consumers rights??? One year replacements???!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product for the price, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: eLifeStore® 4 Ports USB 3.0 PCIE PCI Express Card for PC with USB 3.0 Extension Cable (30CM), SuperSpeed 5.0Gbps, Support MS Microsoft Windows 98SE/ME/2000/XP/Server 2003/XP 64-bit/Vista /win 7 (Electronics)
I was worried about bying this as I wanted it to work with Windows 8 but the documentation only goes up to Windows 7.

However, it works no problem and I haven't need to install any drivers manually. My new external hard disk can copy files up to 100Mb per second so no complaints there.

The included USB3 extension cable is a nice little bonus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It does the job!, 6 July 2013
By 
C. M. Neary - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: eLifeStore® 4 Ports USB 3.0 PCIE PCI Express Card for PC with USB 3.0 Extension Cable (30CM), SuperSpeed 5.0Gbps, Support MS Microsoft Windows 98SE/ME/2000/XP/Server 2003/XP 64-bit/Vista /win 7 (Electronics)
I have this card running two terabyte external hard drive at the moment. It works perfectly.
Install was simple and with windows 7 x64 and windows 8 there are no drivers to worry about.
Just make sure you add the internal power lead to it or you may smoke your board as your devices try to draw current through the bus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars USB 3, 30 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: eLifeStore® 4 Ports USB 3.0 PCIE PCI Express Card for PC with USB 3.0 Extension Cable (30CM), SuperSpeed 5.0Gbps, Support MS Microsoft Windows 98SE/ME/2000/XP/Server 2003/XP 64-bit/Vista /win 7 (Electronics)
Very good quality product all you need in the box to get it insatalled and
working easily, a very good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews