Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected brilliance, 26 Dec 2012
By 
E. S. Lochhead "EmmaL" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Song - The Final Recordings (Audio CD)
I bought this for my stepfather and we all love it. Very moving, it brings a tear to the eye with most of the tracks reflecting on life, love, regret etc. with the unmistakable voice of Anthony Newley. Would thoroughly recommend,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hopefully NOT the last song., 27 Nov 2012
By 
Michael P. O'Hara "Miko" (Birchington,Kent.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Song - The Final Recordings (Audio CD)
In 1992 Tony Newley recorded an album entitled "Too Much Woman". Fine album though it was I thought his voice was showing some strain and that he was not comfortable or at ease in some parts. This current album consists of recordings made between 1993 and 1998( with a live recording from 1980 thrown in),and the difference is amazing. Newley has adjusted his voice to a deeper and more resonant pitch and the result is an album which will rank with the greatest of his recordings.Ten of the fifteen tracks were composed solely by the singer,with the other five being co-authored with Leslie Bricusse and Ian Fraser. Duets with Petula Clark and Marti Webb are excellent and one with Julia McKenzie is pure theatre. The live performance of "Beware The Night" is not only dramatic but incorporates a powerful soliloquy. Two tracks were recorded live in London and were witnessed by many of us who admire him.
One word of warning.........if you are not inclined to let your family and friends see the tears rolling down your cheeks , then only listen to "Love Has The Longest Memory" on your own !This track alone makes the album worth the money and may be the finest of Tony's recorded work.
Paul Goodhead and Stage Door Records are to be thanked for this fantastic CD,and Paul's last words in the liner notes are "There is STILL more Anthony Newley to come!"
I can only add..YAHOO!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars quality performances, 25 Nov 2012
By 
Mr. Cornelius L. Donovan (Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Song - The Final Recordings (Audio CD)
this disc demonstrates what a sad loss to entertainment was that of Anthony Newley The live performances are very evocative
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Newley Magic, 5 Nov 2012
This review is from: The Last Song - The Final Recordings (Audio CD)
Not in a very long time have I been so excited about a release of a CD. This one by the late ,great Anthony Newley I could not wait for. I have not been disapointed, it is wonderful as was he!
This is music the way it use to be, when a love song made you cry, and when you listened you thought he was singing to you. You cling on every word that is sung by this amazing singing storyteller!
The Man That Made You Laugh a gem, well ,in fact they all are!
My only regret is that this is called The Last Song; please don't let this be the case!!!
Thank you stagedoor for yet again another Newley masterpiece xxxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superstar no longer with us, 17 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. Ross Bullivant (Manchester, Angleterre) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Song - The Final Recordings (Audio CD)
Actor,singer, composer, all round performer. This is a chance to capture his magic on cd, with co-stars, with his last cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The last song - I hope not, 31 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. Alan Hardy (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Song - The Final Recordings (Audio CD)
Loved every minute of it. Please find some more live recordings. Somebody somewhere must be hoarding some of his live recordings. Perhaps the most under-rated artist of last century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I am a fan of Anthony Newley and this CD captures his later voice perfectly..., 7 Nov 2012
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Song - The Final Recordings (Audio CD)
I have always enjoyed Anthony Newley and saw him on stage in Scrooge several times (at least) and these songs remind me of the show and his definitive performance as Scrooge.
How marvellous to have these late career recordings and he and his guests are in superb voice. Loved "The People Tree" with Pet Clark. I am not sure if "No Such Thing as Love" came from a show but it is so well phrased and reminds me of the classic songbook songs he recorded in the late 1950s and early 1960s. Julia McKenzie always gives her all and I wondered how they would sound together and "Are we having Fun Yet" well the answer has to be "yes".
Martin Webb I have seen in concert and their epic performance on "Music of the Universe" is magical, perfect show material. Tony sings "Love has the Longest Memory" from "Quilp" and it is a powerful track. Thank you for "My Last Song" but your fans will still be playing your music a hundred years from now. The sound on these 1996 & 1997 recordings is superb and Matt Freeman is ace.
The bonus songs are an amazing mix and they will have you enthral led, amused and certainly entertained and with approx 61 minutes running time this has to be the Newley album of the year. Thanks to all involved in getting this material released.
Here is the proof that Anthony Newley was a brilliant song writer and performer...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant guy, 4 Oct 2013
By 
Ms. S. Darling "Sue Darling" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Song - The Final Recordings (Audio CD)
When I was young I loved Anthony Newley, and his music, this CD ...his last....is very good, very distinctive voice he has and its just sad he didnt make more before he died.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a Star!!, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Song - The Final Recordings (Audio CD)
Very sad to hear his Old Mans Voice,but at the same time,loved all of his work over the years.Hopefully he is crooning
his songs UPSTAIRS!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Song - The Final Recordings
The Last Song - The Final Recordings by Anthony Newley (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews