Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but bear some caveats in mind
I bought these to replace a pair of Ultimate Ears in-ear monitors whose cable had failed a second time, and my experience thus far has been good, but not wonderful. The strengths of these headphones can be summarised thus: they fit comfortably and isolate you quite effectively from outside noise; and the sound is clear, well-balanced and easy to listen to across a wide...
Published 22 months ago by William Burn

versus
23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware - these WILL BREAK after just a few months...
I loved everything about the older S4 model except for one very fundamental problem - they have a design flaw whereby, no matter how well you look after them, the internal wiring wears through at the point where the cable meets the jack, so after a few months one of the earphones cuts out and stops working.
This happened to no less than three pairs in a row so,...
Published 12 months ago by joe muers


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but bear some caveats in mind, 25 Feb 2013
By 
William Burn "gingerburn" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Klipsch Image S4 "II" In Ear Headphone - Black (Electronics)
I bought these to replace a pair of Ultimate Ears in-ear monitors whose cable had failed a second time, and my experience thus far has been good, but not wonderful. The strengths of these headphones can be summarised thus: they fit comfortably and isolate you quite effectively from outside noise; and the sound is clear, well-balanced and easy to listen to across a wide variety of styles of music. However, they are not without drawbacks: the sound is not the most exciting you'll find; and the cable is prone to snag on anything it can. If you're going to use these earphones at your desk, then they'll be hard to fault, but for use out and about, you may find (as I have done) that the cable causes more trouble than you're prepared to accept.

Let's start with the positives, though. Firstly, these headphones do sound good. I've had mine for a month or so now and have tried a wide range of music with them, from early renaissance choral music, where delicacy of texture and accurate reproduction of voices was crucial, to some nasty Ed Rush and Optical drum'n'bass. They've acquitted themselves very well, and I've had some good, long listening sessions where the sound has never grated or become hard work. They're comfortable, too, and isolate you well from external noises.

However, the drawbacks are sufficient to make my recommendation a guarded one. The sound is relaxed, not exciting, and these certainly aren't for listeners who love a hefty dollop of bass (they reproduce recordings faithfully, no more), and the cable is a real pain in the arse. It's made of a slightly sticky rubber, so it snags on clothing, bags, anything it can, and the connection to the earphones themselves doesn't look too sturdy. Moreover, my old Ultimate Ears headphones offered replaceable cables, whereas once these are gone, they're gone.

So, if you're looking for good in-ear headphones for the office or library, these would be excellent. For people on the move, I'd say look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware - these WILL BREAK after just a few months..., 17 Dec 2013
This review is from: Klipsch Image S4 "II" In Ear Headphone - Black (Electronics)
I loved everything about the older S4 model except for one very fundamental problem - they have a design flaw whereby, no matter how well you look after them, the internal wiring wears through at the point where the cable meets the jack, so after a few months one of the earphones cuts out and stops working.
This happened to no less than three pairs in a row so, obviously, I stopped buying them after that. Then, I saw this newer model with thicker cabling which, I hoped, meant that Klipsch had addressed the problem and I decided to take a punt.
What a shame then when I found that, after just four months of use, these very expensive headphones stopped working due to exactly the same design defect that the previous model had had.
Also, don't be reassured by the "2 year guarantee" either - it's a bit of a scam as, in the UK at least, Klipsch will not deal with you directly. This means that you have to go through your dealer. If you're lucky then your dealer (be it Amazon or whoever) may honour the guarantee but that is at their discretion, and thus very far from "guarantee'd".
Please don't buy these - the fact that Klipsch is selling these at a premium price but with exactly the same short lifespan is really not on; and when they break (and they will break, believe me) you will regret your purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Questionable build quality, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Klipsch Image S4 "II" In Ear Headphone - Black (Electronics)
They sound great and fit nicely as everyone else will tell you however my set stopped working after 6 weeks (something to do with the cable and where it comes out of the jack, i'm not sure if if got a bad pair or this is a common problem, I was fairly careful when removing the jack to not pull on the cable but i'm sure it happened a few times, still, not the sort of durability I would expect from earphones of this price. (Amazon did let me return them for a full refund though)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars broke, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The cable broke within days. Not what you expect from a premium product great sound but poor quality costing this much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Maybe my pair were indestructible?, 14 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Klipsch Image S4 "II" In Ear Headphone - Black (Electronics)
I lose earphones a lot. No matter how much they cost, they always seem to have a life cycle of about a year. My third pair of Shure SE535s that cost £350, nope, that's no deterrent for my erratic forgetful brain. Because of this I'm now punishing myself with not being able to purchase headphones that cost over £50.

Fortunately the Klipsch's make that punishment very bearable. They sound great, they fit well (though admittedly I did swap the silicon tips for my Shure foamies - they made for a better seal and were highly comfortable, you can purchase these separately if you wish).

A lot of the reviews here say these break quickly and frequently which just isn't the case. I'm not sure how these reviewers were using their earbuds, but in the nearly two years I owned my pair (before obviously losing them) I only ever had to wrap some tape around the 3.5mm jack plug to keep it stiff. Otherwise, wrapping them up, stuffing them in my jeans rear pocket, getting them sat on, they went through hell and still came out strong and ready to put up with another day.

So I can't recommend these enough, they're the best sounding earbuds for the price you're paying (some £100 pairs sound worse by comparison).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars improved S4, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Klipsch Image S4 "II" In Ear Headphone - Black (Electronics)
If you owned the S4 model then you'll find that this model merely has a new flat cable which feels more durable and a new soft case. at this price you get an overall quality product with decent sound specs (the result of a 8.5mm sound driver). The direct competitor is rather the Denon AH-C100 model. The Shure SE215 and the Phonak Audeo PFE 012 most probably deliver better sound but cost more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sound but ..., 5 May 2014
By 
K. Foster (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Klipsch Image S4 "II" In Ear Headphone - Black (Electronics)
These don't last so a waste of money. Four months after purchasing these, they have stopped working in one ear. Get these if you can afford to blow £50 every few months otherwise buy something else. It's a shame because these have amazing sound quality while they work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Great sound.. prone to failure, 4 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Klipsch Image S4 "II" In Ear Headphone - Black (Electronics)
If this were a review for sound quality- I would award 5 stars . However- owing to the fact they stop working within a year ( or just outside the window for return ) they are not a great buy . The sound that comes out of the , close fitting and comfortable ear buds , are superb . I've had 3 pairs in the past 2 years and always had the same issue . They fail around the connector point, losing the mid and treble ranges . A real shame because they offer a sound only found in earphones that cost twice, if not 3 times as much . If you view them as a 1 year purchase- great . If you are looking for more than this time scale.. buy something else like the Sound magics which are near on indestructible .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Excellent sound and noise isolation but broke very quickly, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Klipsch Image S4 "II" In Ear Headphone - Black (Electronics)
Unfortunately these earphones broke within 6 weeks of normal use without any occasions I can recall of 'abusing' them. I found that after a while there was a significant volume imbalance between the left and right buds. Hopefully I was just unlucky - Amazon issued a refund and I have now ordered the S4i as a replacement.

Pros:
- Excellent sound quality
- Good noise isolation
- Tangle free cords
- 1 year warranty
- Ability to wear the ear buds two different ways

Cons:
- Broke within 6 weeks
- Struggled to keep the earbuds in my ears when walking around
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 10 Oct 2014
By 
Flymo (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Klipsch Image S4 "II" In Ear Headphone - Black (Electronics)
Very disappointed with these. Found them to be the most uncomfortable in-ears I've ever owned and awkwardly weighted so kept falling out. Sound was only ok but cable does rub badly and one ear stopped working after 3 months. Replaced them with a pair of Beyerdynamic DTX101 which are far better in every department
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews