Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars10
3.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£1.42+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 September 2012
Lots of funny ideas are explored in the short film on this DVD, which imagines the Pirate Captain as presenter of an anarchic pirate TV show.
However, the film is only 17-18 mins long, and nearly half of it has already been made available on the internet. I would've preferred to see it, and the "making-of-the-film" videos that fill up the rest of this disc, included as part of a 2-disc special edition of the feature film DVD.
If you really liked the film then you'll probably want to get this as well, but I wouldn't describe it as particularly good value.
The 3 stars are because of it being poor value, I would give 4 stars to the short film itself.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2013
I knew this was a very short film when I bought it so have no complaints about the run time.
My daughter is 3 and loves it and is more than happy to just sit and watch it on repeat.
However it probably isn't something you'd buy by itself, you really need to have seen the Pirates! film to properly enjoy this one.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2013
An 18min spin off from the main film "The Pirates! In an Adventure with Scientists". The DVD is a lot of fun with the Pirate characters.
Actually for me, as a trombone player, the end credits music is a real gem with some guy playing his socks off; fantastic!
It's as good a reason as I know to love the DVD and I always know the best is at the end.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2012
Being a fan of films like Chicken Run, I thought this was going to be a little bit longer. True, there are some really cute moments, like when poor Charles Darwin is trying to explain different types of wind, but it seemed choppy and rushed.

All in all, this is a cute companion dvd for the movie and something to take along on a short ride in the car if you have a dvd player.
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2013
So much fun that I lost my copy to the grand children so had to buy another copy for myself
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2015
Again a popular item with the grandchildren.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2015
thought it would be longer
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2014
good little film
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
Fantastic movie
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2012
Shame on Aardman or whoever owns them these days for putting out a DVD of nonsense within weeks of putting out the DVD of the actual film Pirates in order to cash in on unsuspecting parents. Have got two under-6's in tears because they thought they were about to watch the film on holiday - we'd been saving the DVD up for a special treat. So much goodwill lost. And this is utter rubbish. Shame on you Aardman, Sony and Colombia.
11 comment3 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse